We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 131 Brentwood Restaurants

Brentwood Toby Carvery - Artichoke

Shenfield Common, Brentwood CM15 8DZ, England
+44 1277 210401
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 131 Restaurants in Brentwood
Price range: $9 - $15
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Brentwood's favourite carvery restaurant.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    47
    34
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

A group of us spread about the county have met at the Toby Carvery – still known as 'The Artichoke' to some of us – for lunch at fairly regular for several years. It is centrally located, has a large car park and has always served us well. Today, the restaurant lost a lot of our goodwill. The car park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Brentwood Toby Carvery - Artichoke, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. We'll take note of your comments. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

I have recently had the breakfast for £3.99 which is a buffet style all you can eat. Great value but teas and coffees a little too pricey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Brentwood Toby Carvery - Artichoke, responded to this review

We appreciate your review & it's great to hear you enjoyed your breakfast visit recently. More 

Brentwood UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

All the meat is very tasty and tender. Fresh joints appear regularly. Enormous choice of veggies - great for those people who are fussy and only like certain ones. Delicious roast potatoes, always cooked very well. The gravy is very nice too - not too thin. We went over Christmas but felt £1.50 for one sausage in blanket was far... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Brentwood Toby Carvery - Artichoke, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. It's great to hear when we've done well. See you again soon! More 

brentwood
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014 via mobile

We have visited many times over the past few years for both breakfast and lunch. We stopped visiting for breakfast a few months ago once we noticed the quality of the bacon and sausages had deteriorated but decided to try lunch again. Wish we had not bothered. Staff not very attentive or helpful the meal itself was average nothing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Brentwood Toby Carvery - Artichoke, responded to this review

Thank you for your interesting and informative comments on Trip Advisor following your recent visit. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and have replied to you personally, as we are working hard at getting it right. More 

Herts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We were out with the children and thought it easier to pop in for an early supper. Service was poor. Sat down, by possibly a female manager?, no explanation of the service model or what we need to do to order drinks. left for twenty minutes ignored so went to find someone to take drinks order. Fifteen minutes later, had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Brentwood Toby Carvery - Artichoke, responded to this review

We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit. We have replied to you personally as all the feedback we receive helps us to improve our service and we assure you we will pay attention to your comments. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

The staff here always seem exceptionally friendly and helpful which is a nice change for a Toby. Waiting time at the weekends is long but that is expected. The food is of a good quality especially as the high demand with the amount of people being served.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Brentwood Toby Carvery - Artichoke, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent review. It's good to hear you enjoyed your visit. More 

Essex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

After waiting 20 minutes for someone to take our drinks order, our drinks came with one drink missing. After 15 minutes we ordered our starter all having a Prawn & Lobster Sensation Cocktail [A moreish treat, served with brown bread]. We were server this in an ice cream glass with white stale bread. We asked to see the manager and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Brentwood Toby Carvery - Artichoke, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We're sorry to hear your visit wasn't up to par & we will take note of the issues you raised. More 

Wickford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Met friends here for, a mid way Christmas, catch-up. You can't pre-book but there is a tried and tested hand held buzzer system which meant we were presented our table after a very relaxing 20 minutes, even though the restaurant was packed! I have to say, Toby handle big crowds in a way I haven't seen since being in Florida!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Brentwood Toby Carvery - Artichoke, responded to this review

Many thanks for the great review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. More 

Romford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Good choice of carvery - nice hot "comfort" food for these cold winter nights - good value for money, even better if you can get vouchers! Sign up to the Toby Carvery website and you will be emailed the ongoing deals - 2 people can have 2 courses for under a tenner! A little tired/dated on the interior, but not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Brentwood Toby Carvery - Artichoke, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. It's good to hear you enjoyed your visit and we would hope to see you again soon. More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

It's a popular place so it's busy and you can't always reserve especially on special occasions. As carveries go it's a little above average. It's really about piling the plate as high as it goes. The food is ok and there has always been all the trimmings so they don't really run out of stuff to pile up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Brentwood Toby Carvery - Artichoke, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review & we hope to see you again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Brentwood Toby Carvery - Artichoke also viewed

Woodford, Greater London
 
Coulsdon, Greater London
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Brentwood Toby Carvery - Artichoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Toby Carvery - Artichoke

Address: Shenfield Common, Brentwood CM15 8DZ, England
Phone Number: +44 1277 210401
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Brentwood
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 9 - 15
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brentwood Toby Carvery - Artichoke staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?