We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Street, Ticehurst, England
01580-20-02-34
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve a Table Online
Find a table
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Ticehurst
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    59
    33
    34
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 NEW

I've driven past The Bell many times and it has long intrigued me. Even the hoardings during its lengthy renovation were quirky! But this was our first visit: a family meal with an age range of 19 to 89! Walking in I was struck immediately that this remained a proper village pub with a big bar area and plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

What a wonderful place. Designed with the not normal as the norm ! Our 'room' was actually a seperate architecturally designed bespoke dwelling! No expense to detail spared. A favourite addition was the clever remote controlled Velux window, complete with remote blind... It could even be set to open and close at certain times of day. Our evening meal was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our new lodges. Do come and see us again! Best wishes More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visited The Bell for a weekend lunch. We drove from London to visit as we had seen pictures and read many positive reviews. The pub decor is great, filled with charming and querky objects. We had a 3 course lunch which was reasonably priced, including a yummy goats curd salad, pretty average burger but moorish chocolate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Hi Antonio Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Really glad you enjoyed your meal and liked our pub. With regard to the music, we have had complaints in the past that it's too loud, so we try to strike a happy medium. I'm sorry it wasn't loud enough for you but hope you appreciate our position.... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

I called into the Bell for a few hours to celebrate a birthday with some lifelong friends. Great atmosphere, food, wine, service and imaginative, quirky décor. Very original (in a good way!). Well worth the journey.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Hi Benedict Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Really pleased you made the journey and enjoyed the party! Hope to see you again. Best wishes More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

We stayed in at The Bell this weekend and had such a cosy time. The weather was awful so we spent most of the time inside by the fire. The rooms were clean and snug and cute. The food was fantastic and we worked our way down a wonderful wine list. The highlight has to be the staff though, everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We're really pleased you had a great stay and will certainly pass on your 'hi-five' to Daniel, our head chef, for feeding you when you arrived. We work hard to make sure your Bell experience is a good one, so it's great to be able to pass on... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

I had one of the worst lunches I have had in a long time at The Bell. It was quite simply a chapter of disasters... I ordered the chicken liver parfait which arrived raw and sloppy in the middle and I sent it back....we then ordered a salad of feta, mixed beats and pomegranates... There was no dressing on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Hi We're really sorry you were disappointed with your recent lunch at The Bell. To address a couple of the points: The salad in question has a pomegranate dressing which just coats the leaves so you would not see pomegranate as such but we cannot understand why there was no dressing at all. As a restaurant specialising in British fare,... More 

UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Lovely atmosphere and great food. Sunday roast can be recommended as can the smoked fish and prawns which are locally sourced. Better than your average pub food. Have returned several times now and not had a bad or even just average meal. Love the décor as well and ladies do try and get a sneaky peak in the gents to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Glad you have enjoyed our hospitality on several occasions - hope to see you again soon! More 

Kent
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

A quirky but cosy atmosphere, attentive kindly staff, and the best burgers we've ever eaten served quickly and with love. Piping hot nibbles to kick off with too. The surroundings are charming and overall it was a really great autumn evening out. The roaring fire in the ancient grate hit the spot too. Sp many details in the decor, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

We're delighted you enjoyed your recent visit to The Bell. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Hope to see again soon! More 

Valencia, Spain
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
430 helpful votes 430 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014 via mobile

Good atmosphere, log fire, interesting and slightly eccentric decor. Men's urinals are brass instruments, walls covered with sheet music. Good range of beers and sensible well balanced menu. Food well presented and professionally prepared, probably a bit more expensive for a pub but worth it. Staff pleasant, service excellent. Obviously popular with locals. Can recommend this pub for good food,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. We appreciate the recommendation. Hope to see you again! More 

Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I certainly would not return to this 'hotel'. For the price I expected a little bit of luxury. With no shower in all the rooms, it is too hot, too noisy, and a lot of money for a nicely decorated room in a pub. Unless you can sleep through anything, or are too drunk to care...then this is not the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Hi I'm sorry The Bell did not live up to your expectations but glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We are a pub with rooms so there will always be some element of noise during opening hours for accommodation in the main building. Best wishes More 

Travelers who viewed The Bell also viewed

Ticehurst, East Sussex
Wadhurst, East Sussex
 

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell

Address: High Street, Ticehurst, England
Phone Number: 01580-20-02-34
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Ticehurst
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Things to do Nearby