We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell

High Street, Ticehurst, England
01580-20-02-34
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 7 restaurants in Ticehurst
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
18 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    69
    49
    29
    31
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chislehurst, Kent
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

There were seven of us for lunch on the last sunday in June. Liked the interior decor - spacious, and "quirky" is exactly the right word. Friendly service and generally efficient - could have been a little quicker but no real complaints. Food was excellent - any pub that has turbot on the menu gets my vote but the roast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Hi KentishMole Thank you for taking the time to review your meal. We're delighted you and your party enjoyed your Sunday lunch. We hope we'll be able to welcome you back again soon! Best wishes More

Dallington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

A quirky interior, nicely done. Very noisy on a Saturday night so it wasn't easy to talk. Lunch could have been a better option. Very acceptable but not very memorable food, although my starter was very substandard, but the waiter who did the wine was very helpful when he let us sample all the different pudding wines; but that was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Dear Anna. We’re glad you liked our quirky pub and that, on the whole, your food and service were good. We aim to offer the very best in food and service; however, we didn’t meet with your expectations on this occasion and we can only apologise for your disappointment. As you visited in February, it is hard for us to... More

london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

When we first went to the renovated Bell, maybe three or four years ago, we found the decor really charming and well-thought out. Our first food experience there was the bar snacks which were absolutely delicious. We've since eaten there a number of times, and have noticed a gradual deterioration on all fronts - but especially food, value and service.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

We’re really sorry to hear of your recent experiences in our restaurant. I can only apologise for the inconsistencies in the meals you have had and have passed on your comments to the Chef and front of house staff. If you would like to discuss your visits further, please call on 01580 200234. More

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We moved to Ticehurst a year ago and during this time have heard lots of mixed things about The Bell, but decided to see for ourselves. Our first two visits for lunch were OK, the food nice enough, nothing special but the staff are so indifferent that it ruins the whole experience. Our last visit was on Friday 16th May... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

We are sorry your experience of our restaurant has not been good. We are proud of our restaurant offering and strive to give first-class service. I do have some knowledge from my staff of your visit and would like to discuss your experiences with you. Perhaps you would be kind enough to call me on 01580 200234 so that I... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was my second visit to the bell for dinner and I was yet again disappointed, especially with my main course. I ordered the chicken, £14.75, it came with sauté potatoes and broccoli. When my main course eventually arrived the chicken was severely under cooked (red and bloody to be precise), so I sent it back and was told it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Dear Rhys. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal. We are proud of our restaurant offering and maintain high standards, so I would like to investigate your complaint further. Perhaps you would be kind enough to call me on 01580 200234. Thank you. More

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a lovely weekend at the bell. The rooms are all very nicely decorated with excellent beds & bedding. Very nice toiletries too. The food was great although a little pricey. Ticehurst it's self is a little bit of a dull village with not much to do within walking distance, however if you jump in the car there is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Glad you had a nice weekend. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. More

Tunbridge Wells
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We chose a wet and miserable Bank holiday lunch time to try the Bell. Staff are pleasant enough but the service was rather disjointed and chaotic (asked 3 different waiters for a spoon to eat our dessert, waited 10 minutes). Chose the Bell burger with salad and the salmon fish cakes followed by Kent Rhubarb crumble and the Chocolate dessert,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post. We are forever striving to offer the best service we can but occasionally problems occur. We're glad that, on the whole, you enjoyed your visit and will be returning. More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had dinner here with friends a little time ago, having used it as a watering hole several times before. The food was fine, not gastronomic, the service ok but the bill way over the top. For all the fun of the surroundings, great decor and imaginative fittings, (the gents has brass instruments as urinals), the bill was a surprise,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Dear Eamonn Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We take on board your comments on price but we are comparable to other similar establishments who use local suppliers. It's a shame you won't be dining with us again but we're delighted you will still be dropping in for a drink. More

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our son and his partner were married here on 3 May. They had spent some time looking for a venue for c. 70 guests with some character . The Bell was refurbished and opened about 2 years ago with quiet a few quirky style choices that added to the experience and provided good opportunities for pictures. The menu choices for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Dear Mel Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. We love a bit of a do and are delighted you had a great day for your son's wedding. We will pass on your compliments to Alison at The Art Bunch across the road - she does do a great job :-) Best wishes More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We went with friends to the tice hurst last night. The food was average at best - steak so overdone we had to send it back. Service slow it took 30mins for the food to be replaced. When we ordered desert the wrong one arrived. Really shockingly bad service. Then at the end no apology but two bills bought!!! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at The Bell, responded to this review

Dear Gareth and Victoria I am so sorry your recent visit was a disappointment. Clearly, service was not up to our usual standard. In order to get a clearer picture and to be able to address the problems with my team, I would like to discuss your experience, so do please give me a call on 01580 200234. Thank you... More

Travelers who viewed The Bell also viewed

Ticehurst, East Sussex
Wadhurst, East Sussex
 

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing