We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
2 South Green, Southwold, Suffolk | IP18 6ET, Southwold, England
Website
Add hours for red Lion and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 214 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 82
    Excellent
  • 82
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Really good value for money.

Me my partner and his parents ate here not so long ago. There was some construction work going on at the time, so didnt get to see the whole venue! .. I found the Red Lion, a lovely welcoming, homely pub, its not pretentious in anyway, its lovely pub food, the portion sizes are mega! .. But im sure... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 17, 2015
Lauren H
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 NEW

I like the Red Lion, it's a nice pub but since the refurbishment that was taking place on my last visit I think they've missed their brief. The refurb is pleasant enough but the pub has lost some of its old world charm by trying to go a bit too contempary for my tastes. The welcome remains as warm as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 NEW

We used this restaurant/pub frequently as a group as part of our regular walking route and the position is really great and good for dogs. We went there recently and ordered drinks but when we were ordering food the manager told us that if the weather became inclement we could not all eat inside as there was 12 of us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

Called into the Red Lion for a drnk and light lunch. Staff were very welcoming. The smoked fish platter was delicious and excellent value and the beer was beautiful

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Me my partner and his parents ate here not so long ago. There was some construction work going on at the time, so didnt get to see the whole venue! .. I found the Red Lion, a lovely welcoming, homely pub, its not pretentious in anyway, its lovely pub food, the portion sizes are mega! .. But im sure we'd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Four of us went to eat here last night after not being able to find a seat at our usual haunt, the Nelson. We won't be returning! The food was worse than the school meals I recall from over 50 years ago. The portions were indeed generous as another review stated, but the flavours were terrible, so much so I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TB1961, Owner at red Lion, responded to this review

I notice from your profile you do not accept messages, don't hide away like that its not very adult. Anyway lets get started with a response on here as you don't want to do it privately. I am so sorry you had to slum it here instead of The Nelson, we do have a lot more room than them as... More 

Seething, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

We recently visited Southwold and popped in here for a spot of lunch. They have a lunch menu on offer, 2 courses for £11. There is a lot to choose from, we opted for a starter and main. Usually with a meal deal the portions are considerably smaller NOT here!! I would say we have quite healthy appetites but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Had lunch here on Friday after a walk into Walberswick and back. They say the nearer you get to Southwold the better the Adnams tastes and its true. Well kept cellar and good food. We were in the annex at the back and we had cod, haddock and the fish trio. We had to wait about 10 minutes or so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

The food is great ( but be prepared to wait 20 minutes, as it is freshly cooked). No problem for us, I we like a pint, after a long walk on the beach with the dogs. Staff are super friendly and efficient. Beer and food normal Southwold prices (expensive. lol). Leave the car somewhere else...about a mile away. parking is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Very good, cheap meal. Good choice and quality drinks - all Adnams. Friendly staff and locals and much bigger than it looks from outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
South of England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We were only in Southwold for 2 nights, but ate at the red Lion on both days. The menu was varied, and the food really good. (and very hot) Unfortunately we didn't sample the sweet menu as the main courses were so generous we had no room. One really good feature is that they do a reduced price menu for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed red Lion also viewed

Southwold, Suffolk
 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 2 South Green, Southwold, Suffolk | IP18 6ET, Southwold, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Southwold

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of red Lion and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from red Lion staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?