We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sutherland House

55 High Street, Southwold IP18 6DN, England
01502 724 544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Sutherland House is not just Southwolds only seafood restaurant, it is also a neighbourhood restaurant which serves local food for local people.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    453
    86
    21
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

Pretty food at high prices. Soup came as not the one ordered. Waited far too long between courses. Staff seemed disinterested except for mine host who realised things were not going well. The starters were totally inadequate, the mains so disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this review

I was so sorry to read you did not enjoy your meal with us, I do remember that our waitress got your soup order wrong and I was also aware that the food took longer than usual to reach you. Being the bank holiday weekend we were so busy and for these mistakes I profusely apologise, I would hope that... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

The service jarred somewhat - over familiar - ok in many settings but not in a serious restaurant. My skate wing was lovely, but the steak dish my wife had was very unimaginative, and not as nice as I'd expect in a pub.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am sorry that you found your experience less than satisfactory, if you ever decide to visit us again I would hope you would be able to mention at the time if things were not to your liking. More

London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

My husband and I made a last minute booking for dinner and I am so glad that we managed to get a table as it is a very popular restaurant. We had a starter and main each, mussels followed by sea bass and both were excellent. We shared a dessert as we were really full and that was also excellent.... More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
Upminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

Lovely meal - a little pricey but nice for a holiday treat! Staff very polite and food was excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fareham
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

Really great food, great wine selection and fantastic service. The owner was very welcoming and a great host. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 NEW

Hadn't been to Sutherland House in few years, but we're persuaded by family and friends who'd had good meals there recently. We weren't disappointed. Food was very good, as was the service. Felt like a grown-up night out, in what is normally a family orientated restaurant scene in Southwold.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chipstead
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 NEW

The Sutherland House just gets better every time we come. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The staff are friendly and attentive. We can't wait until our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruthin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Thank you to Andy and his team, we had a lovely meal here on Friday night. Not only was the food delicious, but the service was excellent. It was on par with a meal we had at the legendary 'Witchery' in Edinburgh a few years ago! We will definitely be back again at some stage and stay over if they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidenhead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Visited Southwold for the weekend and chose to eat here on our 1st night. Ambience was lovely, intimate and perfect for romantic meal. Food was very high quality but reasonably priced too. Partner & I had Lobster Tagliatelle & Pork Belly for main both very tasty & good portion size. Wine and service also excellent, couldn't ask for more. Would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grantham
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The food was very tasty although the menu was limited. We found the staff were friendly especially the restaurant manager but all in all unprofessional and in attentive when considering the prices we were paying.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 5

Travelers who viewed Sutherland House also viewed

Southwold, Suffolk
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to Sutherland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutherland House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing