We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant

+ Add cuisine
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant
Directions
28 Coondoo Street, Kuranda, Queensland 4881, Australia
Get directions
28 Coondoo Street, Kuranda, Queensland 4881, Australia
(07) 4093 9939
Website
Add hours for Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Improve this listing

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 168 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 19
    Excellent
  • 14
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 35
    Poor
  • 78
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    2 of 5 stars
    Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Most recent review
keep on walking past this place

We usually check TripAdvisor for reviews of restaurants in a town/city we are visiting for the first time but didn’t in the case of Kuranda. My bad! The Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant fell short on all fronts (except for the view). The food and service were poor and you have to pay a fair penny... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed December 26, 2014
GregWpgMB
,
Winnipeg, MB Canada
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, MB Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014 NEW

We usually check TripAdvisor for reviews of restaurants in a town/city we are visiting for the first time but didn’t in the case of Kuranda. My bad! The Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant fell short on all fronts (except for the view). The food and service were poor and you have to pay a fair penny for this injustice. And management... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014 via mobile

Went in due to the promise of air conditioning, were left standing awkwardly waiting to be attended to after one (seemingly senior) staff member just said "2 for outside" then left us. Seated outside, decor was tacky, menu selections not great. We weren't offered water or any drinks, waited 10-15 minutes, no one came to see us, tables were seated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Espoo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We went to visit Kuranda "before" the city woke up by car. We wondered around the town and were unlucky to chose this place for our breakfast. The view and restaurant looked promising but the food was really disappointing. Also there was a mix-up in our orders even though there was two employees and we three were the only ones... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Went on a family trip to Kuranda. It was hot and humid, passed this resteraunt boasting airconditioned comfort. Went in, not allowed to sit inside. Shown to the outdoor deck area. The view was good and that was about it. Nacho's $16.00. It was a plate of corn chips with a small amount of cheese and some commercially made salsa.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Petersburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

The view Pretty attentive wait staff The food was pretty good, kangaroo pie was not bad but wouldn't eat it again. No real taste to the meat. Watch out for the Kookaburra birds, they will invite themselves to dine with you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

Dismayed at the experience I had here. Ended up with partially raw piece of chicken in salad, notified waitress and she said we could get 20% discount on way out...pretty poor compensation. Went to pay and mentioned raw chicken and manager responded with "oh yes, that tiny piece of chicken" and "you still ate most of it" - did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Worst Nachos EVER! Corn chips covered in melted cheese and a series of bottled dips ugh. Chips cold, in fact nothing to recommend this restaurant. We were encouraged to enter by manager/owner and my son warned my husband and I that the menu was too large and suspected it wasn't any good. Too late we ordered coffee. Expensive and as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I ordered steak pie they gave me mince which was horrible ! My husband ordered Croc and it was hardly edible, and when I asked the waitress for some water she showed me where it was and told me to get it myself!!!The worst part was the owner himself, when we went to pay for the food he didn't bother... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunnyvale, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

There are at least twenty places to eat in Kuranda. This place offers an incredible view of the rainforest, and moderately good service. The food was good standard fair for a tourist restaurant in a tourist area. I had the hamburger and it was very good. My wife ordered a ceasar salad with chicken that turned out to be mostly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

This place is the worst "Restaurant" I have ever experienced. The food was overpriced, service was terrible and although a pleasant setting we were so disappointed. Prices were exorbitant and when I mentioned this to the owner she responded in a very arrogant manner. It was obvious to us that this place is just a tourist trap, not having to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 28 Coondoo Street, Kuranda, Queensland 4881, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Kuranda
  • Phone Number: (07) 4093 9939

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?