We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Main Road, Brancaster Staithe, England
01485 210262
Website
Today
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Good for:
Large groups
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Scenic view

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 405 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 182
    Excellent
  • 140
    Very good
  • 47
    Average
  • 20
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Perfect lunch venue

Enjoyed a delicious lunch time meal here. Great service and a good varied menu. Portions were a perfect size and well-presented. Liked the fact that all choices were itemised in terms of content to cover all dietary needs. Lovely views across the water.

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 28, 2015
Judith519
,
Horley, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Scenic view
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 NEW

Enjoyed a delicious lunch time meal here. Great service and a good varied menu. Portions were a perfect size and well-presented. Liked the fact that all choices were itemised in terms of content to cover all dietary needs. Lovely views across the water.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 NEW

Let me start by saying we have been going here for years. It is a favourite of my mother's (we make a trip from Norwich ever time she comes up to ours from London) and, ordinarily, is very good indeed. Unfortunately, during our last visit with our two small children, it was a disaster. This culminated in us leaving after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We booked lunch here earlier in the month, eating in the restaurant. Despite it being an overcast February day, views were wonderful, matched by the food and service levels. We enjoyed a fish pate, mussels, sea bass, cod....it was all top quality. A quiet time of year, but can imagine the White Horse gets booked up in season. By the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I'm so pleased you and an excellent meal with us and the quality of the food and service was high. We continuously work hard to keep these standards and I will pass your feedback to my team. Thanks again, Christina More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We visited the White Horse several times whilst staying in Brancaster for the weekend. With a very warm welcome and a stylish decor and lots of nice cosy seating this place delivered everything you could ask for. The staff are hardworking polite and helpful. The food is just delicious and the desserts are excellent and well presented. With amazing views... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your time in Brancaster and with us. We are very lucky with our location on the edge of the marshes, and I hope that we will see you again soon. Kind regards Christina More 

Sawbridgeworth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Top notch family meal last Monday. Great fish and chips for the kids, beautiful sea trout and smoked cod, with fantastic scallops to start. Great varied wine list for all wallets. Impeccable friendly down to earth service meant a healthy tip and guaranteed return at Easter with the rest of the family. It's not cheap, but you get what you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We pride ourselves on serving good quality wine and food, with friendly service and I am glad that you enjoyed your meal with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to The White Horse at Easter, Kind regards Christina More 

Norfolk UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We ordered a fish dish that just tasted disgusting. It was all dressed up to look pretty. Which it did but then the taste was horrible and none of us liked it. We left feeling very hungry

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us in August last year. I am sorry that you left feeling hungry, and have not been able to bring this to our attention until now. If we had known at the time we would of course had replaced your meal or... More 

UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We had lunch there on the way to a very well known hotel that is close by, the food was better at the White Horse, and I wish we had been staying there. The staff were efficient and friendly, the food was excellent and the location is wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal with us, and I hope that we will see you again soon. Kind regards Christina More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Lovely menu. Tempura oysters are a must and I dn't like natural oysters! Honeycomb and hot chocolate ice was amazing. Gr8 healthy kids menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Our local Brancaster oysters are some of the best around, and the hot chocolate and honeycomb ice cream has been pretty popular too. We take efforts with our children's menu to provide healthy options that children will want to eat. Hopefully we will see you again soon, Kind regards Christina More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We visited here for a Valentine's Day lunchtime treat. I was really looking forward to trying some of the seafood Brancaster is so good for, and I was not let down! My partner had the paella and I had three of the boards (like a mix and match tapas selection) the paella was cooked really well, especially the beautifully soft... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take pride in serving local produce and I am glad that you enjoyed your meal with us, Kind regards Christina More 

King's Lynn, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Everything was Excellent, from the cleanliness of the rooms, to the views, to the politeness and care shown by the staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. I look forward to seeing you back here soon, Kindest regards Christna More 

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Restaurant also viewed

Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
Burnham Market, Norfolk
 

Been to The White Horse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Main Road, Brancaster Staithe, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Brancaster Staithe
  • Phone Number: 01485 210262

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?