We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Road, Brancaster Staithe, England
01485 210262
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 521 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 252
    Excellent
  • 169
    Very good
  • 60
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Fantastic standard as usual

I recently ate here with my wife for our anniversary and as usual the food and service was first class. Once sat down the service makes you feel like you're the only one there. Everyone clearly has their own roles which are carried out at the correct times and at a great standard. The food... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 31, 2015
LloydDouglas
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Local cuisine
  • Scenic view
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

I dined here with a friend mid-week in late August and had a wonderful time, although the restaurant is just missing that final 'edge' to make it something really special. When having drinks before lunch in a seating area just next to the main dining area, the staff were shouting to each other across the room and didn't seem totally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

I recently ate here with my wife for our anniversary and as usual the food and service was first class. Once sat down the service makes you feel like you're the only one there. Everyone clearly has their own roles which are carried out at the correct times and at a great standard. The food compliments the service and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

I decided to give this pub another try after being told to clear off because I hadn't booked a table a few years ago. We arrived just after noon and the place was about half full. Nevertheless, the inside tables next to the window with the lovely view were all booked apparently. They were empty when we arrived and stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 NEW

Two excellent lunches at a reasonable price. They offered gluten free bread for the sandwiches which was excellent as my wife has a wheat allergy. We ate outside overlooking the beach but even on a wet day the bar or conservatory area would be very welcoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your sandwiches on the terrace, and you are right even on a wet and windy day the marches does have that special something. I hope that we will see you at The White Horse again, Kind regards Christina More 

norfolk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

Excellent lunch, all round very good. Pleasant and knowledgeable staff, superb location and sunshine - what more could we ask for, Excellent pint and a half of Adnams, we shared three platters between us and a very good main course each. Desserts was really good. We will be back and will stay next next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am please that the lunch you had with us has prompted such a response - I hope that we will see you in the future for an overnight stay. Kindest regards Christina More 

Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

We hadnt booked so were happy to be seated in the bar, though it's actually hotel reception and a silly place to put diners as it's like a circus. The fish dish arrived and looked great with capers, butter, salad and potatoes. Unfortunately, and much too late we discoverd under the first side of the fish & on removing the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your meal with us a few months ago, however I am only sorry that you did not feel you could mention your disappointment when you actually visited The White Horse in June and have only now raised in on TripAdvisor. Our lounge, comprising of armchairs and sofas, is there as an extension of the... More 

Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

I have been coming to the White Horse for a number of years and have always given it 5 stars. However it looks as if they have a new chef who has a new menu. The food is tasty, but this is the first time I have been there when there wasn't anything on the main restaurant menu that I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our Head Chef has been with The White Horse for many years, with the last 12 months as Head Chef and together with her kitchen team, she aims to provide a selection of dishes that appeal to all our guests - I am sorry if the current menu is not to your taste. Our cod... More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

Second visit this year for lunch Staff all very welcoming, knowledgeable and efficient Three course meal absolutely first class. Local produce in first class condition, excellently prepared and presented. Enjoyed every morsel Good choice of wines Beautiful atmosphere overlooking the marshes and sea Plenty of opportunities for walking before and afterwards Good idea to book A gem - we would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am really glad you had an enjoyable time with us, and I hope that we will see you for a third visit in the not too distant future? Kind regards Christina More 

skegness
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

We were recommended to this restaurant by several friends and booked a night in Norfolk especially so we could try it! The restaurant was a lovely setting on a beautiful night and we could look over the salt marshes which was great. The menu for vegetarians didn't have much choice as obviously there are lots of fish dishes on it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your meals with us, I will pass on your comments regarding our vegetarian options to the kitchen team. With regards to the food winging its way to the terrace - we understand that this can be intrusive, and we are looking at options to minimise the impact it has on... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

After a long day chasing a horse around a beach we were starving. On driving along through Brancaster we checked out a very nice looking pub/restaurant that looked like it would be too busy to take us. We were lucky. Just a couple of free tables large enough to sit the 5 of us down for a meal. I'll keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina B, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - although I had to read the first sentence twice to make sure I'd read it right! You poor things - I am glad we were able to provide sustenance after what must have been an exhausting day! I hope that we will see you again, although hopefully not after a day of horse-wrangling... Kind... More 

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Restaurant also viewed

Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
 

Been to The White Horse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Main Road, Brancaster Staithe, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Brancaster Staithe
  • Phone Number: 01485 210262

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?