We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rose and Crown

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Fish & Chips, British, Contemporary, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Old Church Road, Snettisham PE31 7LX, England
01485541382
Improve this listing
This restaurant is at The Rose and Crown
Add hours for The Rose and Crown and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 225 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 121
    Excellent
  • 47
    Very good
  • 37
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good but not Great

We were in Norfolk at the weekend and decided to return to The Rose and Crown for supper on a Saturday evening. The place was buzzing as usual. We chose asparagus to start, the spears were cooked to perfection, the egg was cols as opposed to warm and the sauce was, for my taste, a little bland... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed April 26, 2015
harpendenscout
,
north london
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
north london
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 NEW

We were in Norfolk at the weekend and decided to return to The Rose and Crown for supper on a Saturday evening. The place was buzzing as usual. We chose asparagus to start, the spears were cooked to perfection, the egg was cols as opposed to warm and the sauce was, for my taste, a little bland. For the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 NEW

We took a friend of ours here for lunch on Wednesday. The restaurant was fairly quiet. We had made a booking anyway. We were shown to our table and ordered some drinks whilst we looked at the menu. A good range of choices available. My husband and I both ordered from the Specials Menu and had Sweet Chilli Chicken with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 NEW

Ate here mid week evening. We both ordered fish and chips. Good portion sizes. Batter was quite greasy. We could both taste burnt fat for the rest of the evening and into the night. Deserts good. Our waitress was friendly and efficient. Doubt we'd eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Great Bircham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 NEW

called in with workmates - 10 of us - and had a mixed selection of meals - we have some tree hugging vegetarians amongst us. All food was great,and the service was first class. Served in a reasonable time with good hot food, service was first class, Pub became busier during the evening, but service remained good. Deserves 5 stars... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northants
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Had a lovely stay helped by the great weather. Room was very nice and comfortable. Bar is wonderful and food great. Great atmosphere - we loved it. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

After liking the look of their menu in amongst all of the choices in the Sandringham Camping & Caravan Club local eateries book we decided to try it. We hadn't ordered & was hoping for a table, the restaurant was full but we were lucky to eat in the bar. The choices were very good, the staff very friendly &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Me and my partner went for a meal the other night and it was amazing!! The menu was good, nice selection. My partner had the BBQ chicken and pulled pork burger this was massive and very tasty. I had the pork fillet which was out of this world. Perfectly cooked. Dessert was fantastic!!! Good portion size. Very nice place, decor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Dear Aimmie We are always grateful to customers who take the time to write a review, but it is particularly rewarding to get a review like yours, which shares our enthusiasm for The Rose & Crown, its food, staff and very special atmosphere. Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Jeannette More 

Kings Lynn
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Have been before and has been friendly and good service. Today though was not friendly seemed more interested in their locals and service was poor , have had better service in a hungry horse. Order food at 17.00 had to sit in very nosy bar area with dogs, 1st choice of meal unavailable, which is surprising for the time of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to The Rose & Crown. We pride ourselves at The R&C on the quality of our food, the relaxed, enjoyable atmosphere and our friendly and efficient service. It seems that on this occasion we did not come up to our normal standards for which I apologise. I do hope you will... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Having heard such good reports of the Rose & Crown, we were expecting great things. But we thought the food and service were pretty average. Not the best North Norfolk has to offer by any means.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are always grateful to customers who take the time to send us ( and others) their thoughts. I am so sorry that you found the food did not match up to your expectations. We are very proud of the food we serve at The Rose & Crown, and work incredibly hard to ensure that... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Visited here last week for dinner whilst away in Norfolk. Was unsure about dining here having popped in earlier in the day to book... Had a 8pm table and on arrival was taken through to the back dining room which I had not seen earlier. Very good atmosphere, nice and chilled out not to dressy either however you couldn't be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Dear Will Thank you for your lovely review of your recent meal at the Rose & Crown. We are very proud of The Rose & Crown, its friendly staff, great food and unique, relaxed atmosphere; and it is very rewarding for us and our wonderful staff to hear back from customers who have enjoyed it so much. Thank you. We... More 

Travelers who viewed The Rose and Crown also viewed

Snettisham, Norfolk
 

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Old Church Road, Snettisham PE31 7LX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Snettisham
  • Phone Number: 01485541382

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 0 - 47
  • Cuisine: Fish & Chips, British, Contemporary, Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rose and Crown staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?