We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hoste Restaurant

$$
Seafood, International
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Green | c/o The Hoste Hotel, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England
Burnham Market is on the Coast Hopper Bus route.
+44 1328 738777
Website
Add hours for The Hoste Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Coffee & Tea, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Book a romantic dinner in the restaurant at The Hoste Hotel, where the...
Book a romantic dinner in the restaurant at The Hoste Hotel, where the Chefs create dishes that owe much to locally sourced produce, not least a great selection of local seafood from the nearby coast. We have a high quality, informal, relaxed atmosphere with very friendly and efficient staff. The imaginative menu is complimented by a 200-bin wine list that includes some keenly priced classics.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 447 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 134
    Excellent
  • 100
    Very good
  • 80
    Average
  • 83
    Poor
  • 50
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Good food, slow service

We visited for a pre-booked mid-week lunch. The restaurant was reasonably quiet - I would guess that we would have been OK without a booking. The restaurant is smart and comfortable. Dogs are made very welcome by the friendly staff. We ordered starters (olives, charcuterie board, three oysters... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 27, 2015
Urban_Winter
,
London
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Romantic
  • Entertaining clients
Add Photo Write a Review

447 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

We visited for a pre-booked mid-week lunch. The restaurant was reasonably quiet - I would guess that we would have been OK without a booking. The restaurant is smart and comfortable. Dogs are made very welcome by the friendly staff. We ordered starters (olives, charcuterie board, three oysters) which came quickly and were very good. Main courses took way, way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear urban_winter Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Hoste for us to read, it's disapointing to see that the service on this occasion was not up to the expected standard. I will take this up with the team looking after you on the day. I hope we will see you again soon Kind regards... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

We booked for lunch 25 May in the Garden Room. The restaurant exterior doors were open which meant that the interior was distinctly cool so we asked to be seated elsewhere. We were then seated in the conservatory where dogs are allowed - while we are well aware that there is a class of person that cannot be separated from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear segenszo Thank you for you review of the restaurant at the Hoste, it's disappointing to see you didn't enjoy your visit on this occasion. With regards to the fact we allow dogs into the bar, lounge and conservatory - we are a dog friendly hotel who have a lot of guests and diners who come to us for that... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

Myself and my Husband rented a house nearby a few months back and after an evening stroll decided to pop by The Hoste for some dinner. Firstly the customer service was amazing as we were greeted by James Sanders and he was extremely charming, lovely company and was amazingly informative and helpful. We shared a fish platter for starters and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Janet Anne Thank you so much for the review of the Hoste, its fantastic to see that you had such a great time with us and that James looked after you so well. I hope we will be seeing you back again soon Kind Regards Ewen More 

St. Neots, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

A girlie get-together is usually more about the company but the food should be good too. Price may not be an issue but when the food is this bad, it becomes key. Our asparagus was an inedible 'mush' with the spears hardly able to be picked by on a fork. Fishcakes were cold in the middle and mostly potato. Both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear susie Thank you for taking the time to review the restaurant at the Hoste, it's disappointing to read your lunch was not up to our usual high standards. I will look into your comments and take any actions required. Kind regards Ewen More 

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Dog friendly, staff pleasant and accommodating nice atmosphere we only stopped for a sandwich and a cup of tea and it was like a meal bit expensive though

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Phil h Thank you very much for reviewing the restaurant at the Hoste for us, it's great to read you enjoyed your visit and food, I hope you will be back to see us again soon. Kind regards Ewen More 

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

The Hoste Arms is a welcoming hotel and restaurant and well deserving of its stars. We have visited on several occasions and never been disappointed. They welcome children and also welcome dogs, a huge plus for us......sometimes dogs are better well behaved than humans 😀.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear kentres Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the restaurant at the Hoste, it's great to see you had a great time with us, I hope we see you back again soon. Kind regards Ewen More 

Hampshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We had an excellent lunch here with good food and wine. The service was good and friendly. The first bar you walk into is small but there is an airy restaurant down the passage, leading to further public rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Nannup11 Thank you for reviewing the restaurant at the Hoste, its fantastic to read you had a great time and enjoyed the food and service. I hope we will be seeing you back here soon. Kind Regards Ewen More 

norwich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

everthing first class staff friendly helpfull and polite ,menu varied , cannot fault the food, very relaxed

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear cook65 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hoste for us to see, its great to see you enjoyed the food and service on your latest visit. I hope we will be seeing you again soon. Kind regards Ewen More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

This afternoon myself and my husband popped into the Hoste Arms for a bite of lunch. We decided to eat in the bar as per the lounge was as per crammed with furniture and rushed stressed staff. Couldn't see anyone in charge. The young lady behind the bar was on her own rushed off her feet, trying to do at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Clare S Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us to read, its very disappointing to see that you found the service was not up to our normal high standards. I will of course look into all of you comments regarding both the service and the food quality. Kind Regards Ewen More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

we went for a coffee waited 25 minutes and was served up luke warm so sent it back and ordered another waited another 15 minutes and was luke warm then we paid £3.50 per cup and a service of 70 p, Cheaper in London where we come from

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mariev Thank you for your review of the Hoste restaurant, please accept my sincere apologies for your experience at the Hoste on this occasion. It is of course unacceptable to wait that length of time twice and receive luke warm coffee. I will take remedial action to stop this occurring in the future. Kind Regards Ewen More 

Travelers who viewed The Hoste Restaurant also viewed

Burnham Market, Norfolk
 
Docking, Burnham Market
 

Been to The Hoste Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Green | c/o The Hoste Hotel, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England
  • Public Transportation: Burnham Market is on the Coast Hopper Bus route.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Burnham Market
  • Phone Number: +44 1328 738777

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 9 - 22
  • Cuisine: Seafood, International

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Elegant
  • Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine, Romantic, Entertaining clients

Description

Book a romantic dinner in the restaurant at The Hoste Hotel, where the Chefs create dishes that owe much to locally sourced produce, not least a great selection of local seafood from the nearby coast. We have a high quality, informal, relaxed atmosphere with very friendly and efficient staff. The imaginative menu is complimented by a 200-bin wine list that includes some keenly priced classics.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Hoste Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Hoste Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?