We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Burnham Market Restaurants

The Hoste Restaurant

The Green | c/o The Hoste Hotel, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England
+44 1328 738777
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Burnham Market is on the Coast Hopper Bus route.
Description: Book a romantic dinner in the restaurant at The Hoste Hotel, where the Chefs create dishes that owe much to locally sourced produce, not least a great selection of local seafood from the nearby coast. We have a high quality, informal, relaxed atmosphere with very friendly and efficient staff. The imaginative menu is complimented by a 200-bin wine list that includes some keenly priced classics.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    87
    72
    76
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

We were exploring the area and had read various reviews on local pubs. Chose The Hoste as website claimed to serve food all day - great, suited our timing. It was the period between Christmas and New Year so we knew it would be busy - it was packed. We went through the bar to the eating area at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jojo43 Thank you very much for posting your review of the Hoste on trip advisor, I was so disappointed to see you didn’t have the best experience with us on this visit. The team here at the Hoste pride themselves on their friendly Hoste welcome so it’s a shame to see you didn’t receive this on your arrival at... More 

Little Chalfont, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Frankly disappointing stay over Christmas and sadly many fond memories of numerous previous stays tarnished. We were looking forward to our stay but Would be significantly less enthusiastic about the concept of a return visit. Still a fabulous location, accommodation and a vibrant bar, but the service standards in the dining rooms are 4 star tragedy; so much so that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas Thank you very much for leaving your feedback following your last visit to the Hoste, Its very disappointing to read that this stay has tarnished your view of the hotel after many great visits here. It’s good to read that the location, rooms and bar were all as expected and of course it’s disappointing to see that the... More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We stopped eating at the Hoste a few years ago. Prior to that it had been a firm favourite, but that was under the old owners and management. However, we made the mistake of going in for a morning coffee. The first cups were stone cold when they arrived, so we sent them back. Sadly, the second lot was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of the Hoste for us, it was of course very disappointing to see that you didn’t have the greatest experience with us on this occasion. I can assure you that we do not keep the coffee form the breakfast service to use again later for future... More 

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

we sat down at 7pm so it was a little quiet and we thought it desperately needed some background music. Generally the food was ok. The Oysters were the best we have ever had. Go for the natural Oysters, they are local and fantastic. However the main courses were average and below average for a restaurant of this calibre and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Vicki Y I have responded to your other review on the Hoste hotel page, if you would like to contact me to discuss the food quality and service standards please don’t hesitate, my email is ewen@thehost.com Kind Regards Ewen Thomson Director of Food and Beverage More 

Funchal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Having been to the Hoste on a few occasions before, I stopped off for coffee and a visit to the lovely facilities. The toilets are fabulous, beautifully decorated, stocked with all and more you could require and always with Elvis playing. However this time I missed the music, it was strangely silent in the little girls room....am hoping next time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Susan B Thank you for your great review of the Hoste, it’s great to see you use the hotel on a regular basis, I will make sure that the music is always playing in all areas so hopefully on your next visit it will be on and I will get to say hello. Kind Regards Ewen Thomson Director of... More 

Northants
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We booked a table for lunch in the very busy period between Christmas and New Year and it was fortunate that we had as when we arrived it was packed and people were being turned away. We were seated at a lovely round table in the window,good for people watching and for chatting amongst our large group. We were told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Hoteljunkienorthants Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your great feedback on trip advisor for us. It’s fantastic to read you enjoyed your visit to us and even though it was busy you had a great table and swift service. I will pass on your feed back to Thierry who looked after you, we regularly get... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We were revisiting the Hoste for an anniversary dinner and had booked the previous day. On arrival we ordered drinks at the bar and the waitress couldn't find our reservation but said not a problem, she would find us and bring us menus once we'd sat down in the bar. The bar area was filthy, there were glasses stacked on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Rooroo16 Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback on trip advisor regarding you last visit to the Hoste. It’s very disappointing to read that on this occasion you haven’t received out usual high standards of service, I would be more than happy to discuss your last visit and can be contacted on ewen@thehoste.com. Kind... More 

Ware herts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Having been to The Hoste on many occasions I thought it would be nice to take my friend for afternoon tea as a birthday treat. I've had tea there before and it was delicious, however on this occasion it was definitely disappointing. It wasn't very busy, a Tuesday afternoon in November but the service wasn't exactly swift, we had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Doodlemad Thank you very much for taking the time to comment after your birthday visit to the Hoste, it’s disappointing to see that on this occasion your afternoon tea was not up to the expected standards. We get a lot of great feedback from guest regarding the quality and selection of the afternoon tea so please accept my sincere... More 

Swaffham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

I visited The Hoste for Afternoon Tea this afternoon. It was really lovely, the atmosphere was so relaxing and the service was brilliant. The staff were very friendly and we were served as soon as we sat down. I will definitely return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewen T, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Michelle K Thank you for the review of the Hoste, it’s great to see that you enjoyed the afternoon tea here, we get lots of great comments regarding the selection and quality of the afternoon teas and its really good to see that the staff looked after you to a high standard. I hope we will be welcoming back... More 

Norwich, Norfolk
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Started our New Years Eve Break by treating ourselves to lunch at The Hoste on 30 Dec and was very disappointed. The service was appalling - we had to ask for kids menu 4 times and bottle of water 5 times and waiter missed people around the table when taking orders. We were never asked if food was ok, Goats... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5

Travelers who viewed The Hoste Restaurant also viewed

Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
 
Burnham Market, Norfolk
 

Been to The Hoste Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste Restaurant

Address: The Green | c/o The Hoste Hotel, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England
Phone Number: +44 1328 738777
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Burnham Market
Average Prices: USD 9 - 21
Cuisine: Seafood, International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hoste Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?