We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fresh Ground

Certificate of Excellence
Tapas, Vegan, Vegetarian, British
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
61 King Street, Belper, England
Website
Today
9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 75 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 36
    Excellent
  • 26
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Disappointing..

Went for dinner after a film, lured by the Tripadvisor 2014 sticker in the window. Staff very nice and having Belgian beers a nice change but the food was very disappointing. Had a burger with a bit of grated cheese dropped on the side of the plate. The bun was hard and dried out, with the whole... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed February 18, 2015
ShleeMargaret
,
Belper, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Went for dinner after a film, lured by the Tripadvisor 2014 sticker in the window. Staff very nice and having Belgian beers a nice change but the food was very disappointing. Had a burger with a bit of grated cheese dropped on the side of the plate. The bun was hard and dried out, with the whole meal uninspiring and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AbbyBailey, Owner at Fresh Ground, responded to this review

We have attempted to contact this reviewer to verify whether it is genuine. If customers are not happy with their visit, we ask that they tell us so that we can put things right. We have no recollection of this customer. We have also tried to contact via TripAdvisor but have received no response. It is often suspicious when a... More 

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

We visited this restaurant for the second time yesterday and will certainly not be returning or recommending it! The first occasion was a lunchtime bank holiday. We had planned on going somewhere else which was closed that day so were delighted to find Fresh Ground was open. However the staff were extremely unhelpful and miserable it seemed as it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AbbyBailey, Owner at Fresh Ground, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and acknowledging the gluten free items on our menu. You state that our menu was not brilliant, in which case it seems strange that you chose to return. Our food is home cooked and our daily specials change - well, as you would expect - daily. I have spoken to the staff on duty when... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Nice venue, staff ok nice atmosphere but not impressed by the food. I ordered salmon with pesto, new pots and green beans for £6.30. It came out as it said but was quite dire and terrible value for money. Flat slightly rubbery salmon, slightly over green beans and ok potatoes. No taste from the pesto I think it had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Four of us were here for the Twilight Menu on a slowish night - service was good, choice of food somewhat limited. They don't seem to do a very full list of main courses. However, what we did have was very nice and well presented - a good salad, soups, ciabatta, etc. An extensive list of Belgian beers too. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We were looking for a quick coffee and cake, and a warm seat for 20 minutes, before going up to a service at St Peters. Having parked in the free Coppice car park off the market place we spotted Fresh Ground and decided to give it a shot. What an excellent decision! We had a really good late, a fab... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

This is a lovely cozy and friendly place to visit. Excellent menu, staff can not do enough for you and are so welcoming. The court yard garden in summer is paradise......and the twilight menu just tops it off. I can't recommend this venue enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015 via mobile

there is nothing better than an Italian hot chocolate and a piece of millionaire's shortbread on a chilly afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I should have taken it as a sign to avoid this cafe after I was rudely asked to move to another table because I was only meeting one person (only two people sat at this table eventually anyway and they were not asked to move). I have to say I've been to a lot of cafes with only one other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AbbyBailey, Owner at Fresh Ground, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Fresh Ground. There are a few points that you raised that I would like to clarify. When we are busy we try to manage our tables so that we don’t have to turn customers away. If we have a table for two and four available, and two customers arrive... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

We visited for lunch and although it was very busy there was a table at the back of the cafe where we were able to sit. There was a chalkboard with a good selection of gluten free options, in addition to another general menu. The staff were very friendly and clearly understood the requirements of a Coeliac. The service was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We went to the Fresh Ground for lunch recently, and enjoyed a lovely meal there. What stood out though was the staff - very friendly and helpful. Would gladly go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Fresh Ground also viewed

 

Been to Fresh Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 61 King Street, Belper, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Belper

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Tapas, Vegan, Vegetarian, British
Open Hours
Monday
9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
9:30 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fresh Ground staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?