We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 62 Belper Restaurants

Fresh Ground

61 King Street, Belper, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 62 Restaurants in Belper
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Mon - Sat 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: Tapas, Vegan, Vegetarian, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 NEW

We were looking for a quick coffee and cake, and a warm seat for 20 minutes, before going up to a service at St Peters. Having parked in the free Coppice car park off the market place we spotted Fresh Ground and decided to give it a shot. What an excellent decision! We had a really good late, a fab... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015 NEW

This is a lovely cozy and friendly place to visit. Excellent menu, staff can not do enough for you and are so welcoming. The court yard garden in summer is paradise......and the twilight menu just tops it off. I can't recommend this venue enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015 via mobile

there is nothing better than an Italian hot chocolate and a piece of millionaire's shortbread on a chilly afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I should have taken it as a sign to avoid this cafe after I was rudely asked to move to another table because I was only meeting one person (only two people sat at this table eventually anyway and they were not asked to move). I have to say I've been to a lot of cafes with only one other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AbbyBailey, Owner at Fresh Ground, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Fresh Ground. There are a few points that you raised that I would like to clarify. When we are busy we try to manage our tables so that we don’t have to turn customers away. If we have a table for two and four available, and two customers arrive... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

We visited for lunch and although it was very busy there was a table at the back of the cafe where we were able to sit. There was a chalkboard with a good selection of gluten free options, in addition to another general menu. The staff were very friendly and clearly understood the requirements of a Coeliac. The service was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We went to the Fresh Ground for lunch recently, and enjoyed a lovely meal there. What stood out though was the staff - very friendly and helpful. Would gladly go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

Visited here prior to watching a film at the Ritz. Most of the tables were busy when we arrived. Service was fair, four staff behind the counter looked bored, it was 4.30 ish perhaps been a long day. The drinks were served quickly, unfortunately the food could have been better. We had burgers with ciabatta roll, the roll turned out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bottesford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I enjoyed a veggie quiche plus salad, with nice crisps, and my partner had soup. He had filter coffee and a rather large flapjack or brownie, I had the carrot cake and a skinny cappacino. Took a cheese scone back home. We both enjoyed our food and coffee. Service was good, no criticism other than it felt a little cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Hard to get seated,staff seemed uninterested Slow service and bland food Used to be my fav cafe in Belper Dont know whats changed but its just not the same

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
510 reviews 510 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
399 helpful votes 399 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Cafe bar which is fully licensed serving a range of tea's, coffee, breakfast, panini's, baguette's, wraps, etc with a daily special's board and a selection of home made cakes. There is a small area of comfortable seating in the window area and outside seating to the rear of this cafe. Service for me was a little slow, the coffee was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Fresh Ground also viewed

 

Been to Fresh Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresh Ground

Address: 61 King Street, Belper, England
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Belper
Open Hours:
Monday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 9:30 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisine: Tapas, Vegan, Vegetarian, British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fresh Ground staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?