We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms

Hale Village, Milnthorpe, England
01539 563203
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 14 Restaurants in Milnthorpe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
6 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    0
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Most disappointing. The time between ordering food and having it served was 70 minutes. At the best of times this is really bad, and when you have two children (6 year old and 19-month old) it is very, very, very bad. We were not told at the time of booking (yes, we did telephone to reserve a table for 6:30pm)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you feel your visit was most disappointing. You have caught is in a bad week with temporary chef issues. And whilst we did offer and provide both free puddings and coffees and a refund on the bottle of wine we also offered 10% off your next visit and another free bottle of wine in order... More

Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Being local and having eaten here many, many times before we booked a table and were looking forward to a wonderful meal as we had always received previously. Unbeknown to us the pub had changed hands and the food was just disgusting!! We managed to eat our starter, under duress, mine was cold and my partners looked as if someone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Whilst I can only apologise for the food not meeting your standards, I am left wondering why you didn't mention this to myself, as I would of endeavoured to happily 'right our wrongs'. We have been having some Cheffing issues with temporary chefs, and whilst I am not making excuses, I am simply asking that you give us another go. More

Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

To be honest the restaurant was fairly empty and the car park was also empty on our arrival , but the service was friendly and the food was not great but okay we both had the fish and chips with mushy peas but it did arrive with the tartar sauce and could have been presented better, but not as small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate your comments on the food and have taken this on board. I would also like to thank you for your time and effort in writing this review, and would hope you would be willing to visit us again at out "beautiful and very friendly restaurant". More

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Had a Sunday lunch for 2 adults and 2 young children. Arrived around 2pm on a warm Sunday afternoon and parked in an empty car park, always a bad sign. Entered via the "empty" dining room entrance and was again worried by the lack of customers. Decor and atmosphere seemed to lack "something" but I couldn't put my finger on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I can't help but presume your visit was on a particular Sunday of local events, in which case we suffer a 'lul' being that of a passing trade pub around mid afternoon. However, Sundays are usually our busiest day of the week. Since your visit we have a very boastful and ever changing specials board... More

Manchester
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The most notable difference since our last visit over a year ago was that it was less busy. The menu was very similar with the usual favourites but the blackboard specials were rather limited. I had steak and ale pie (£10.50) and my wife had sirloin steak (£11.95). The meals arrived unexpected quiickly,were piping hot and mine had a generous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, I would like to apologise about the jacket potato, however had you have mentioned it at the table, we would have been more than happy to get a you another one, or swap it for anything you'd prefer. I'm glad you enjoy the steak and ale pie, as that is one of our... More

Lancaster
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I previously reviewed this pub/restaurant on a couple of occasions. One where it was tenant run and one when it brewery managed.( it went downhill when the brewery took it over) There is now a new tenant and the food is excellent. Nothing too much trouble. Today i had one of the best Sunday lunches i have ever had. Tasty,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa G, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your fantastic review! We are gad to see its back on the 'up' again in your eyes and look forward to seeing you again very soon, possibly for another great roast! Thanks again. More

cumbria, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We took our young children here for a family meal out and had a lovely time. The dining room is light and spacious and it felt fine for children to make a bit of noise in there! There was a good children's menu and I'd recommend the chicken - called itself 'nuggets' I think but was far better than that.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa G, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we try our best to be family friendly, and trust me 9 times out of 10 its the locals making noise too, so children is not a problem! I'm glad the nuggets exceeded expectations, and we have taken on board your comments about the burger- and we now have from time to time... More

Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

'The Kings Arms' is a traditional old english pub on the main A6 road with ramped access around the back. The staff were very friendly and the food we ordered was served in good time and tasted great!!! The disabled toilet was fully accessible and spacious and even had a pull down baby changing unit. I would recommend eating in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa G, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your response, we try to be as friendly as possible and, of course, cater for everyone! We look forward to seeing you soon. More

Lancaster
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Since George and Ann vacated this establishment in October 2013 the food went downhill, however, over these last two months the standard of food has improved. worth a try, give it a chance and I think you will find a great improvement.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stopped here for lunch with my 3 daughters in the Easter holidays. Upon my arrival I was greeted by what can only be described as the most miserable waitress known to man! I asked her what children's meals they provided? to be sharply told "nuggets or sausage"? The children all had nuggets and I ordered the hunters chicken ( sounded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

 
Milnthorpe, Cumbria
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing