We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Milnthorpe Restaurants

The Kings Arms

Hale Village, Milnthorpe LA7 7BH, England
+44 15395 63203
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 13 Restaurants in Milnthorpe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    0
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broadway, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

whilst staying in the area for a weekend break, we popped into the Kings Arms for Sunday lunch. We were greeted by friendly staff who gave us the menu and pointed out the specials. The food was good and value for money, we were even able to buy free range eggs on the way out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hyde
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Kings Arms is a long established pub, in close proximity to our holiday home, serving excellent home cooked meals. We have visited several times each year and have always been delighted with the choice and reasonable cost of the meals which are all freshly cooked by their own chef. The staff are always very friendly and helpful and provide a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014 via mobile

Bangers and mash with onion gravy very tasty and huge sausage! Wife had fish and chips which she really enjoyed. Staff are excellent. I would definitely recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Good food, excellent service, and family-run feel to the place. Excellent value for money and a great location on the A6, two miles south of Milnethorpe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

We had met up with 2 special friends to celebrate a birthday. They live only a few miles away, the other side of Milnthorpe, and when we said we'd like to treat them to a meal they suggested the King's Arms. We had booked a table for 6pm. We received a warm welcome and were taken to our table immediately.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hale, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We visited the Kings Arms on Thursday night. It was very quiet in there with only a few people eating. We used to visit often but hadn't been for a while so thought we would try to see how the food was. I am vegetarian and there were only a few options available so I opted for the cheese and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Whilst I can only apologise for this, I have to defend the chef in saying that because all out pies are homemade and fresh, we put them in any dish that is available, and in this instance it has been confused with the steak and ale pies. With our pastry cut to size to cover the entire dish, I can... More 

preston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Stopped here for lunch today and I have to admit that if I had read the recent Tripadvisor reviews, that I have just read prior to posting this, we would probably have given this a miss. What a mistake that would have been as we thoroughly enjoyed our two course meals, with the only complaint being the massive portions that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely response and smiley faces! we cannot wait to see you again soon and hopefully not fill you up as much! Thanks again for the time and effort put into this, let's not leave it 14 years this time. :) More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

The kings has been our pub of choice for many, many, years and I can't begin to describe how disappointing the food is since the new owners took over. Frozen chips cooked in cheap oil which smells awful, dinged veg hot outside cold inside, gammon that has no colour as it had cooked in its water. Fish was burnt on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

I can only apologise sincerely for our downfall with yourselves, whilst I am not making excuses we are having Cheffing issues which have been holding us back, but hopefully not for much longer. I just hope you give us one more try to put things right. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Most disappointing. The time between ordering food and having it served was 70 minutes. At the best of times this is really bad, and when you have two children (6 year old and 19-month old) it is very, very, very bad. We were not told at the time of booking (yes, we did telephone to reserve a table for 6:30pm)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you feel your visit was most disappointing. You have caught is in a bad week with temporary chef issues. And whilst we did offer and provide both free puddings and coffees and a refund on the bottle of wine we also offered 10% off your next visit and another free bottle of wine in order... More 

Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Being local and having eaten here many, many times before we booked a table and were looking forward to a wonderful meal as we had always received previously. Unbeknown to us the pub had changed hands and the food was just disgusting!! We managed to eat our starter, under duress, mine was cold and my partners looked as if someone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Whilst I can only apologise for the food not meeting your standards, I am left wondering why you didn't mention this to myself, as I would of endeavoured to happily 'right our wrongs'. We have been having some Cheffing issues with temporary chefs, and whilst I am not making excuses, I am simply asking that you give us another go. More 

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

Milnthorpe, Cumbria
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: Hale Village, Milnthorpe LA7 7BH, England
Phone Number: +44 15395 63203
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Milnthorpe
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Things to do Nearby