We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Milnthorpe Restaurants

The Kings Arms

Hale Village, Milnthorpe, England
01539 563203
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 13 Restaurants in Milnthorpe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    0
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014 via mobile

Bangers and mash with onion gravy very tasty and huge sausage! Wife had fish and chips which she really enjoyed. Staff are excellent. I would definitely recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Good food, excellent service, and family-run feel to the place. Excellent value for money and a great location on the A6, two miles south of Milnethorpe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

We had met up with 2 special friends to celebrate a birthday. They live only a few miles away, the other side of Milnthorpe, and when we said we'd like to treat them to a meal they suggested the King's Arms. We had booked a table for 6pm. We received a warm welcome and were taken to our table immediately.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We visited the Kings Arms on Thursday night. It was very quiet in there with only a few people eating. We used to visit often but hadn't been for a while so thought we would try to see how the food was. I am vegetarian and there were only a few options available so I opted for the cheese and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Whilst I can only apologise for this, I have to defend the chef in saying that because all out pies are homemade and fresh, we put them in any dish that is available, and in this instance it has been confused with the steak and ale pies. With our pastry cut to size to cover the entire dish, I can... More

preston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Stopped here for lunch today and I have to admit that if I had read the recent Tripadvisor reviews, that I have just read prior to posting this, we would probably have given this a miss. What a mistake that would have been as we thoroughly enjoyed our two course meals, with the only complaint being the massive portions that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely response and smiley faces! we cannot wait to see you again soon and hopefully not fill you up as much! Thanks again for the time and effort put into this, let's not leave it 14 years this time. :) More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

The kings has been our pub of choice for many, many, years and I can't begin to describe how disappointing the food is since the new owners took over. Frozen chips cooked in cheap oil which smells awful, dinged veg hot outside cold inside, gammon that has no colour as it had cooked in its water. Fish was burnt on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

I can only apologise sincerely for our downfall with yourselves, whilst I am not making excuses we are having Cheffing issues which have been holding us back, but hopefully not for much longer. I just hope you give us one more try to put things right. More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Most disappointing. The time between ordering food and having it served was 70 minutes. At the best of times this is really bad, and when you have two children (6 year old and 19-month old) it is very, very, very bad. We were not told at the time of booking (yes, we did telephone to reserve a table for 6:30pm)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you feel your visit was most disappointing. You have caught is in a bad week with temporary chef issues. And whilst we did offer and provide both free puddings and coffees and a refund on the bottle of wine we also offered 10% off your next visit and another free bottle of wine in order... More

Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Being local and having eaten here many, many times before we booked a table and were looking forward to a wonderful meal as we had always received previously. Unbeknown to us the pub had changed hands and the food was just disgusting!! We managed to eat our starter, under duress, mine was cold and my partners looked as if someone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Whilst I can only apologise for the food not meeting your standards, I am left wondering why you didn't mention this to myself, as I would of endeavoured to happily 'right our wrongs'. We have been having some Cheffing issues with temporary chefs, and whilst I am not making excuses, I am simply asking that you give us another go. More

Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

To be honest the restaurant was fairly empty and the car park was also empty on our arrival , but the service was friendly and the food was not great but okay we both had the fish and chips with mushy peas but it did arrive with the tartar sauce and could have been presented better, but not as small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate your comments on the food and have taken this on board. I would also like to thank you for your time and effort in writing this review, and would hope you would be willing to visit us again at out "beautiful and very friendly restaurant". More

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Had a Sunday lunch for 2 adults and 2 young children. Arrived around 2pm on a warm Sunday afternoon and parked in an empty car park, always a bad sign. Entered via the "empty" dining room entrance and was again worried by the lack of customers. Decor and atmosphere seemed to lack "something" but I couldn't put my finger on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa G, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I can't help but presume your visit was on a particular Sunday of local events, in which case we suffer a 'lul' being that of a passing trade pub around mid afternoon. However, Sundays are usually our busiest day of the week. Since your visit we have a very boastful and ever changing specials board... More

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

 
Milnthorpe, Cumbria
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: Hale Village, Milnthorpe, England
Phone Number: 01539 563203
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Milnthorpe
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing