We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 81 Widnes Restaurants

Toby Carvery Resturant

ashley Way, Widnes, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 81 Restaurants in Widnes
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    12
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Me and my girlfriend both visit Toby very frequently for there Sunday roasts as they are exceptionally good. On Sunday the 24th of October we thought we'd give there breakfast buffet a try. I advise all who read this review not to bother with breakfast In this place. Payed at the bar and advised person serving us that would be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Resturant, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the recent visit you had at Toby Widnes was not as good as you would have expected. We want all our guests to be satisfied and we always welcome your feedback. We have replied to you personally about your review. More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Went for breakfast this morning, nice and tasty only problem is no mushrooms?? You Have to Pay extra! Nice staff, friendly service value for money refills on tea and coffee

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

This is our favourite Toby,by far the best,well cooked hot food and a tasty pudding served with a bucket of custard.Our waitress Karla is delightful,on the ball and very attentive..Full marks to all..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Resturant, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear how much you enjoy visiting us and the team are always on top form. We hope to see you again soon! More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Obviously reviews are subjective but we always have a great meal and great time at this Toby . By far the best carvery locally . Our waitress Lauren is amazing and is always on hand to give us great informal service after all this is an informal relaxed eatery not a starchy silver service restaurant that others may wish to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Resturant, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoy your visits to us in Widnes. More

Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We visited for dinner, the restaurant was not too busy however we waited AGES for everything - there were lots of staff doing nothing & one female member of staff basically running the show single handed, so thumbs up to her ! The food was extremely poor, the meat was over cooker and fatty and the carver sliced wafer thin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Resturant, responded to this review

We are sorry that your recent visit to Toby Widnes was not to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback which will help us to improve, and we have replied to you personally about your review. More

Driffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Called here last Monday night. Was the most dried up tasteless meal I've ever had. The chef carved my meat and i had to ask him not to put the first slice of the beef and gammon on my plate it was so dried up under the lights. The veg's were curling, the roast potatoes were like rocks, the peas... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Resturant, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the recent visit you had at Toby Widnes was not as good as you would have expected. We want all our guests to be satisfied and we always welcome your feedback. We have replied to you personally about your review. More

Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

We have ate here many times over the years and never had a bad meal. meat choices are always very good and tasty and the amount of veg and extras are always hot and tasty. Never had a problem with the staff, always courteous and drink service is always quick. Location wise its so easy to get to off a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Food was great, choice of 4 meats and all you can eat veg. Shame that the place has no air conditioning as even with all the windows and doors open, it was like a sauna inside which was a little uncomfortable for our group. Drinks choice was a little disappointing as one of the group wanted tia maria but they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We ate at this restaurant this weekend and blimey must be the busiest place in widnes. Two weddings and ironically we were a funeral. Fantastic send off thank you . My server was Lauren and she was loveley nothing to much trouble despite being absolutely rushed off her feet .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Got a response to my post which was a waste of time. This is obviously just a repeated response they use when they can't be bothered giving a proper reply. Would have thought more of them if they hadn't replied at all. Great customer service , NOT

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Resturant also viewed

 
Widnes, Cheshire
Widnes, Cheshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby Carvery Resturant

Address: ashley Way, Widnes, England
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Widnes
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Things to do Nearby