We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Resturant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
ashley Way, Widnes, England
01512579790
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Toby Carvery Resturant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 112 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 37
    Excellent
  • 37
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Always friendly service. Good for families. Consistently good quality food.

We go here every weekend for a breakfast and we're always given a warm welcome by the team. Front-of-house, kitchen and cleaning staff are friendly and know their part in the team. The food is always consistently good quality. The recent changes to the breakfast menu have been an improvement. The... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 26, 2015
Heather H
,
Widnes, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 NEW

Went here for the first time last Sunday at 11am for breakfast. Its very cheap. £3.99 for All You Can Eat breakfast. They took my money but did not say I had to rush my "all you can eat breakfast". Actually I didn't get all I could eat as they cleared it away without telling me. I went to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Having been eating in the local pub next to the premier inn for the past months we decided to try a toby breakfast . Yummy that's all I can say !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We visited your st helen pub yesterday and had such a good lunch we were in widnes and decided what the heck lets have another Sunday dinner . Well what can I say !! It was simply stunning . Our waitress Carly was so efficient she should train your other teams in other business with regards speed of service yet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Went to Toby carvery for a breakfast with my wife only to be turned away at the door. The explanation we were told was due to unexpected volume that had entered before use. Poor excuse in my eyes and to turn away customers in a big no no . will never return again. Gutted is not the word.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Resturant, responded to this review

Thank you for your interesting and informative comments on Trip Advisor following your recent visit. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, as we do try our best to provide a pleasurable dining experience More 

Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

We go here every weekend for a breakfast and we're always given a warm welcome by the team. Front-of-house, kitchen and cleaning staff are friendly and know their part in the team. The food is always consistently good quality. The recent changes to the breakfast menu have been an improvement. The roast meals at lunch and dinner are as good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Resturant, responded to this review

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us here at Toby. Thanks for telling us about your experience. Will we be seeing you again soon? More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Eat here regular with wife an kids and sometimes alone on way home. Superb for price. Good service, sometimes to busy but I try to avoid peak times. Staff are friendly enough and can't really say anything negative as most trips here have been positive experiences. Excellent value for money and nice clean pub/restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Resturant, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your comments following your visit to Toby Carvery. It’s always nice to hear when our guests have enjoyed their visit, and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Atlantis resort, Belek, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Food gorgeous as per usual. Service excellent, waitresses always on hand to help. Lovely dessert after carvery. Struggled to walk as I was soooo stuffed 😊

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Resturant, responded to this review

Thanks for joining us here at Toby Carvery. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and hope to welcome you again soon. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Visited for breakfast, advertised at £3.99 for as much as you can eat. It actually costs £6.97 if you want tee/ coffee and to add mushrooms, which for some strange reason are sold separately from the rest of the breakfast at 99p for a bowl, which could easily feed 2 or 3. The food was nothing special and not good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Resturant, responded to this review

Thank you for your interesting and informative comments on Trip Advisor following your recent visit. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, as we do try our best to provide a pleasurable dining experience More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 via mobile

Well arrived early table not ready directed to tables to right of entrance, so whent to order drinks at bar (not enough bar staff) one of the drinks was water which i asked for a glass for he passed me a 1/2 pint glass which was shockingly dirty when ichalenged the bar tender he told me "it was condensation from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

What a great surprise this place is! Don't usually go for carvery much these days been sadly let down by awful taste less offerings! However we went in there a few months ago one Sunday lunch,the place was bursting at the seams with people ! However we got a drink and waited for a vacant table. We then went for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Resturant also viewed

 
Widnes, Cheshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: ashley Way, Widnes, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Widnes
  • Phone Number: 01512579790

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Toby Carvery Resturant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?