We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Winnington Lodge

Winnington Lane, Northwich CW8 4DA, England
01606 74217
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 74 Restaurants in Northwich
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Pub
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

40% Recommend
    10
    8
    11
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Very slow service. Wine warm (fridge poorly stocked). Tables and menus dirty and sticky. Seating areas outside dirty and tired. In major need of refurb.

Was this review helpful? Yes
northwich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

amazing!!....restaurant food..pub prices.the waitress( natasha )was very smilley,very attentive and very informative explaining certain things from the menu was a refreshing change to see staff who actually enjoyed their work.the surroundings were clean,relaxing with plenty of room for diners to eat without being on top of each other.the toilets were exceptionally clean too which is sometimes not the case in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Staff told us there would be a 15 minute wait for food that was fine but 15 turned into 1 hour and combined with a screaming hungry toddler was very annoying we asked for the food to be a takeaway as we just wanted to get out! Food was okay nothing to shout about they really need to hire another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Winnington Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Victoria Y Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review. I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Sir John Brunner with regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We... More

Northwich Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Too slow, lazy staff couldn't be bothered, asked for food hardly anything available and service was utter rubbish won't be going again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Winnington Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Carol W Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review. I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Sir John Brunner with regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is (was) my local for the odd sausage, beans, chips with the kids...or a visit with friends for basic pub grub. But now, unless you want a beefburger...cooked in lots of silly different ways...you have to go somewhere else. Sorry, but I now go somewhere else. Sad!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Winnington Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Madu_Mann Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review. I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Winnington Lodge with regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent... More

northwich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

The new winnington lodge is nowt new still dark inside! Poor captin coconuts rottin out bk! And what a let down the food is! Steaks cooked poorly an king size upgrades what a joke! Not the best place in town to eat at all!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

10 friends and family visited the Sir John Brunner yesterday evening (13th May) for a birthday celebration. Having read other reviews I was slightly nervous of what we would find but was pleasantly surprised. Our meals arrived in a round 30 minutes which was not a problem as there was plenty of chat and catching up around the table. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

It was terrible before the refit and even worse now. I decided to go and give it a try after finding out it has been changed. No better at all. I couldn't be bothered to cook so my fiance who had been travelling all day and myself went. We waited a hour and 15 mins for our mains!! We have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Winnington Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AndreaBrook18, Thank you for your review. We can see that we emailed you with a full written response. Please refer back to that email. Kind regards Flaming Grill More

Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Well I came here to dine, ordered starter and a main. We had a starter which we had to wait 40 mins for but weren't aware of any delays when we ordered then when we got the starter we were told that the chef has a busy order so could do our food in about ten minutes or we would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Winnington Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Candii96 Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review. I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Sir John Brunner with regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have... More

Cheshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

A change of name and a new owner, the Flaming Grill company. 6 of us went on Sunday evening. It was busy but the staff were friendly and we had pre-booked a table, although they didnt consult a book and just sat us down at a recently cleaned table. We ordered a bottle of wine, which according to the menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Winnington Lodge also viewed

Northwich, Cheshire
Northwich, Cheshire
 
Northwich, Cheshire
Northwich, Cheshire
 

Been to Winnington Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winnington Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing