We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Badger Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Cross Lane | Church Minshull, Nantwich CW5 6DY, England
01270 522 348
Website
Today
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 271 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 151
    Excellent
  • 88
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Local Dining

Excellent food served in a warm and friendly environment. Well managed. Have not stayed overnight as local but have seen rooms that look very comfortable and well appointed

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 21, 2015
geoffrey39
,
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 NEW

Excellent food served in a warm and friendly environment. Well managed. Have not stayed overnight as local but have seen rooms that look very comfortable and well appointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 via mobile

Visiting The Badger is always enjoyable. Great quality food, friendly attentive service & a real fire can be enjoyed on cold days. Popular with locals (always a good sign), cyclists, residents & visitors further afield. The Badger has done well to establish itself in a small rural village. It's success it's clearly attributed to the great venue, dedicated staff &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
01606889455, Owner at The Badger Inn, responded to this review

Dear Caldwell We really appreciate you writing such a nice review, if we are honest it hasn't all been rosey but trade is continually increasing and with the support of people like yourselves we hope to see it continue. Many thanks for recognition we really appreciate it. Many thanks David More 

Neston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We were a family group of 4 adults and a 4 year old child. We arrived at 6.15 p.m. and despite a note on the door saying no children allowed after 6.00 p.m. the staff very kindly allowed us in. We only ordered a main course each but it was possibly the best meal I have ever tasted in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
01606889455, Owner at The Badger Inn, responded to this review

Dear Gingerval What can I say, I'm the boat and hat maker whom took you home. I really appreciate you taking the time to write this and honestly it has given me a great lift. If you decide to book a room, please give me or Phil a call and we will sort you a good rate. I cannot thank... More 

Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We met up with some friends and stayed in Church Minshull. We wanted a good place for food that was not too far from our B and B. The selection of food was large and there is a good selection of wine. We had a very good meal and the service and staff were faultless. Our meal consisted of 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
01606889455, Owner at The Badger Inn, responded to this review

Dear Notts_Slatz Many thanks for taking the time to write such a fantastic review and we look forward to seeing you again. David More 

Leics
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Had a light lunch here on easter monday. Pork flatbread, which was nice, came with nice chips but not much else. First pint of bitter was excellent, but they ran out whilst I was waiting at the bar for my second. Had a pint of something else which was horrible. Service could have been better, only two behind the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
01606889455, Owner at The Badger Inn, responded to this review

Dear Supercrazy Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, all comments help me to build an overall picture and I'm afraid we were short staffed on the Easter Monday in question. The weather report was really poor and also we only 40 booked in all day. As you were aware we had a lot more in on... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Firstly I have to say the Badger Inn is a really nice place to eat except for one anoying problem a cold draft that permates around the place. The problem was a door that kept getting blown open I had to get up several times to close it. I'm sure if we'd been sat somewhere else it might not of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
01606889455, Owner at The Badger Inn, responded to this review

Dear Steve Many thanks for the more than fair review, the wind was howling and the door closers as you have already stated were not upto Gail force winds, this was a first for me in four years and I now hope the problem will be sorted. I hope on your next visit you find a vast improvement with the... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

My wife and I had a great meal here after having moored our hired narrow boat on the canal 10 minutes away. The roast chicken with chicken flavoured fries was particularly delicious. At the end of the meal the owner's wife thoughtfully drove us up the dark and pavement-less country road back to our barge. All in all a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
01606889455, Owner at The Badger Inn, responded to this review

Dear Upthedale Many thanks for the great review, my wife is especially happy to get a mention. Thanks again David More 

Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Three of my colleagues and I visited one Thursday evening for a farewell meal. We all quickly found something we liked on the menu. All food and drinks were excellent but the serving staff lacked the welcoming and engaging air of what might be expected of professional food service staff. Their conversation lacked that professional air also. It is only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
01606889455, Owner at The Badger Inn, responded to this review

Dear Derek We are onto this and I hope on your next visit you will see a marked improvement. Please ask for me in person as I value your comments and have we have a new manager on site whom I hope will help improve the front of house. I have passed your comments onto the kitchen team and I... More 

Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

We have eaten here before. but a few years ago. I am told by an unimpeachable authority ( my good friend) that Sunday lunches are excellent. Met friends for lunch. Seated in the conservatory area which is not a particularly homely place. Menu was quite restricted we thought compared to previous visits and it was not well laid out. Starters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
01606889455, Owner at The Badger Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ogwen Many thanks for writing a review. We are looking at the menu lay out presently and will be going back to the A3 one that we originally had. The duck hash cakes were refunded and the tomato soup was finished when you were cleared. You were the only one to complain about the soup and we have run... More 

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The beer in the bar, local Cask Marque, was well kept and enjoyable. The meal was good quality food, fair portions and quickly delivered at a reasonable cost. It was also a good atmosphere with ample room between tables and the service was excellent and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
01606889455, Owner at The Badger Inn, responded to this review

Dear Trevor Thanks for good review, I really appreciate you taking the time. I hope you were lucky enough to try our Plum Porter as its gone down a storm and we are looking to make it a permanent fixture. We look forward to seeing you in the future. David More 

Travelers who viewed The Badger Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Badger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Cross Lane | Church Minshull, Nantwich CW5 6DY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Nantwich
  • Phone Number: 01270 522 348

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Badger Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?