We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Apple Tree

British, International, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Beaconsfield Lodge Oxford Road, Gerrards Cross SL9 7AH,, England
01753 887335
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 202 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 49
    Excellent
  • 47
    Very good
  • 37
    Average
  • 36
    Poor
  • 33
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Always fails somewhere along the line disappointing

We've been here as a group and just as a couple and each time the menu promises a great meal and front of house staff promise a great experience but each time something just doesn't quite go right. The food again for local is over ambitious and just never delivers. I wouldn't go again as it's... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
Katalina40
,
UK
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've been here as a group and just as a couple and each time the menu promises a great meal and front of house staff promise a great experience but each time something just doesn't quite go right. The food again for local is over ambitious and just never delivers. I wouldn't go again as it's certainly not cheap. We've... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katalina40
AppleTreeSL97AH, General Manager at The Apple Tree, responded to this review

Dear Katalina, Thank you very much for your review. I am really dissapointed that we let you down. I am the new General Manager of The Apple Tree, and would really appreciate it if you could get intouch with me at enquiry@theappletreegerrardscross.co.uk or you may conttact me at 01753 887355. I look forward to hearing from you. Kindest Regards Rudi... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here slightly concerned as I hadn't heard great things but I was pleasantly surprised. Salad very nice indeed and the service was welcoming and attentive. Will revisit in the near future.

Helpful?
Thank AuroraBucks
AppleTreeSL97AH, General Manager at The Apple Tree, responded to this review

Dear AuoraBucks, Thank you very much for your 4 start review. I am pleased to know that you had a good experience and really happy you gave us a chance. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kindest Regards Rudi & The Team More 

Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very bad service waited ages for drinks and for order to be taken. Wasn't offered any apology whatsoever. Asked to speak to the manager was told he was to busy. So payed and left doubt I would go back.

Helpful?
Thank BattD20
AppleTreeSL97AH, General Manager at The Apple Tree, responded to this review

Dear BattD20, Thank you very much for your review. I am Really diisappointed to hear that you didnt have a great experience on your last visit. I would like you to please get in touch with me at enquiry@theappletreegerrardscross.co.uk or 01753 887335 so that I can investigate futher. I really hope you give us another chance. Kindest Regards Rudi General... More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food choice on menu was good. Strawberry Etonian Mess had strawberries but NO meringue‼️ service was slow considering it was 15:30 & only 3 tables to be served‼️ Staff pleasant but busy laying tables etc.

Helpful?
Thank Anne J
AppleTreeSL97AH, General Manager at The Apple Tree, responded to this review

Dear Anne J, Thank you very much for your feedback! Your feedback has been taken on board. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Apple Tree very soon. If there is anything else I can assist you with, please feel free tocontact me at enquiry@theappletreegerrardscross.co.uk. Kindest Regards Rudi & The Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great lunch at The Apple Tree with a friend. Fresh flowers on the tables, blazing log fire in restaurant. We had sticky chilli chicken with chips ( great chips!!) and spiga pasta with pumpkin. Both delicious! My friend said pasta best she'd tasted in ages! Very flavoursome. Recommend the Roumanian Sauvignon Blanc; sounds strange but delicious, not too... More 

Helpful?
Thank slaterz
AppleTreeSL97AH, General Manager at The Apple Tree, responded to this review

Dear Slaterz, Thank you very much for your feedback, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience. We look forward to welome you back very soon. Kindest Regards Rudi & The Team More 

Tarnowskie Gory, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am the most terrible diner as I do not eat most of the things, the waitress was able to explain me how the dishes are cooked so I could get my meal cooked how I wanted with ingredients I wanted. Lamb was delicious, I had it with no onions and chorizo which I hate, I got salad served instead...... More 

Helpful?
Thank poziiiomka
AppleTreeSL97AH, General Manager at The Apple Tree, responded to this review

Dear Pozziiiomka, Thank you very much for your feedback, we will always try our best to accomadate anyone with dietary requirments. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kindest Regards Rudi & The Team More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not the best ham & eggs I've ever had! I asked for poached eggs and I'm not sure the chef knows how to poach an egg...pretty poor! The green garnish looks like it had been used a few times already...limp wilted rubbish! Granted I finished the meal but I was starving! The pic is of the poor excuse for garnish!... More 

Helpful?
Thank marcg760
AppleTreeSL97AH, General Manager at The Apple Tree, responded to this review

Dear Marcg760, Thank you very much for your feedback. We always use the freshest ingredients in all our dishes. I am sorry to hear that you didnt have a good meal on your last visit. I have spoken to the kitchen team and we have taken your comments on board. I do hope you will reconsider and re-visit us in... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have visited today after reading a review about dogs eating diners food and said dogs were in bar area , well behaved and certainly not eating of of diners plates. Miserable people leave miserable reviews in my opinion

Helpful?
1 Thank percy12345
AppleTreeSL97AH, General Manager at The Apple Tree, responded to this review

Dear Percy12345, Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kindest Regards Rudi and The Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came here for a birthday meal as we knew the food was good. The food didn't disappoint it was excellent. Unfortunately the service was slapdash. We had to wait 20 minutes to have our orders taken and that was only after calling over the waitress over and asking her to take our order. We asked for water and were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter J
AppleTreeSL97AH, General Manager at The Apple Tree, responded to this review

Dear Peter J, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you didnt have a good experience on your most recent visit. I have reiterated the importance of good customer service to my team and be rest assured your comments has been taken on board. We hope to see you again very soon. Kindest Regards... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

Returned after a few bad experiences here but Rudi and his team have turned this restaurant around, under new management now and it shows, food was perfect, service was perfect..: can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine A
AppleTreeSL97AH, General Manager at The Apple Tree, responded to this review

Dear Elaine A, Thank you very much for your feedback, I am really pleased that you had a great dining experience at The Apple Tree. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kindest Regards Rudi & The Team More 

Travelers who viewed The Apple Tree also viewed

Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Apple Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Beaconsfield Lodge Oxford Road, Gerrards Cross SL9 7AH,, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Gerrards Cross
  • Phone Number: 01753 887335

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, International, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Apple Tree staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?