We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Hill | Winchmore Hill, Amersham HP7 0PA, England
44 (0) 1494 259 757
Website
Today
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 118 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 50
    Excellent
  • 36
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Relaxed lunch, nice atmosphere. Quite expensive.

The Plough was recommended by an Italian friend. We thought the service was fantastic. They were attentive, good at recommending dishes and wines. It was very quiet but they appeared to accommodate families well. The atmosphere was nice and friendly, the interior was comfortable and spacious... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 5, 2015
KarenB07
,
Buckinghamshire, England, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

The Plough was recommended by an Italian friend. We thought the service was fantastic. They were attentive, good at recommending dishes and wines. It was very quiet but they appeared to accommodate families well. The atmosphere was nice and friendly, the interior was comfortable and spacious. The only downfall was it was fairly expensive, it really depends on your price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raffmerc, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, it is always nice to hear when our customers have enjoyed their time with us. You have commented that you felt we were expensive, it would be helpful if you could be more specific as this area is always a tricky one. In general it is difficult to make comparisons as whilst we are an... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Came here on a Saturday evening. Very nice bar area with a good selection of ale and lager. Dining area is spacious and bright, with laid tables. The Veggie sharing board was very good, with excellent burrata. The pizza were very authentic, and the steak cooked as requested. A good selection of wine, well priced. Overall, a very good experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Slough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Eaten here a few times and not been disappointed especially on a fine sunny day eating lunch outside

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I have eaten here with friends and family on multiple occasions and have always found the pizzas to be excellent; possibly some of the best I've eaten outside of Italy. I read some mixed reviews but have always been impressed by the food and the warm level of service. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Service levels extremely poor & total lack of communication. It was a busy restaurant & they seemed to crumble under the pressure. Not once were we asked how our meal was or kept informed of any delays- it gave the impression of chaos. The personal touch of a local run pub was non existent & I found the senior members... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Raffmerc, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not have a good experience with us on Mother's Day. I cant deny that things were chaotic and the waiting time was extended in a couple of cases. We are a family run business who welcome children, we have a childrens menu which consists of three pasta options, chicken milanese, fish and chips... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

I've been eating at The Plough for a while now, and the one thing that keeps me coming back is the fantastic service! Don't get me wrong, the food is Italiano perfecto and the country pub/Neapolitan restaurant are what make this establishment truly exclusive, but over the previous summer the bar staff in particular were exceptional! The attached shop means... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raffmerc, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your praise. We really appreciate positive feedback and are happy to hear you enjoy your time with us. Raff More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

My first visit to this restaurant at lunchtime today (Thursday). We were told two things not on the menu. I ordered seafood risotto...white fish of the day, mussels, clams and prawns. My partner ordered lamb chops only to be told later that there were none. He then chose lamb rump. His meal was disappointingly small, very few soggy chips and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

My Wife and I decided to have lunch out last Friday whilst looking after our grandson, 18 weeks old. The choice was the Crown at Penn or the Plough and we decided on the Plough as we like Italian food and knew there would be space for a pushchair. However, we regretted our choice as soon as the food arrived.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
Raffmerc, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

I am totally astounded to have received this review. Your wife wrote an email to us complaining about your experience, I responded within hours apologising and offering a meal for two as a gesture of good will, despite the fact we did absolutely nothing wrong. You did not have the courtesy to reply, yet you have found the time to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

Five of us went for lunch today and were thoroughly impressed! Great pizza's and other authentic Italian dishes. Staff were very helpful and friendly although we couldn't help but feel it deserved to be full on a Sunday lunchtime. Thanks very much!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Good food and reasonably priced, local draft ale and nice wine list. Super cozy place in the winter!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Hill | Winchmore Hill, Amersham HP7 0PA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Amersham
  • Phone Number: 44 (0) 1494 259 757

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Italian, Pizza, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Plough and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Plough staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?