We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough

The Hill | Winchmore Hill, Amersham HP7 0PA, England
44 (0) 1494 259 757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 58 Restaurants in Amersham
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Most recent review
- Aug 28, 2014
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I have been to the plough many times before, and the experience is always great. The menu has a number of good dishes to choose from, yet i'm always drawn to the pizza. I have been to Italy numerous times, to places such as Rome, Naples, and Bologna for example, and have indulged myself in real Italian cuisine. The pizza... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The prices at this establishment are unacceptable. Wine, spirits, beers cheaper in Central London. Owner has lost focus with this being a villages pub. Locals now going elsewhere!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Raffmerc, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to join trip advisor especially to write this inaccurate comment . Assuming you are a villager, as your profile states, perhaps talking to us rather than try and damage our reputation would have been more productive, at least you would have saved your self from looking like the one who needs a reality... More

Amersham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have visited this restaurant on several occasions in the past couple of years since the new owners took over. We have always found the staff very friendly, the service excellent, and the good always of a very high standard. The tables are well spaced and the dining room has a very pleasant atmosphere. In the winter, there is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stopped here for lunch while on a 4m walk in the area. We both had the Ploughman's sandwich which was delicious - the bread is baked on the premises and was unbelievably good. The welcome was warm and the service fine. The only downside was paying £4.50 for 2 small scoops of ice cream which we felt was excessive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Have recently gone to The Plough on 3 occasions and each time have been really impressed with the food - good menu, food well cooked, - but the service has consistently got worse, to almost comical proportions. Slow, wrong drinks, told items no longer available but see others get it much later etc etc. Told the manager who couldn't have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Raffmerc, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, i believe we have already responded to the issues raised by your party, and have invited you back for a meal. i can assure you that we take all comments seriously as i took great lengths to explain. I have to say that I was extremely grateful that someone took the time to address us... More

Great Missenden, Bucks, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were a party of twenty school governors assembled to bid farewell to two of our number. Our organiser had pre-organised and Italian buffet. The variety and provision of all three courses were excellent, pleasing Italians within he group who hailed from as far apart as Sicily and the Tyrol. The arancini starter was the source of particular approbation. Service,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We've visited The Plough on many occasions with mixed results, but I can honestly say last night was the worse we've experienced there! For starter we ordered the chicken livers on bruschetta, what we actually got was chicken liver pate on bruschetta, tasted ok but the presentation was terrible! For our main's we both had a pasta dish, one being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Raffmerc, Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Firstly can I apologise that you did not enjoy your last visit with us. We aim to deliver honest, authentic regional Italian food and service to the highest standards and when we don’t meet customers’ expectations we take it very seriously. Which is why on this occasion we comped your entire food bill. We were pleased that you seemingly left... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I love the fact this restaurant offers a taste of real Italian food. Reading the menu you could be fooled into thinking you're in the middle of the beautiful Tuscan countryside and it's great to see truffles on a menu in the UK. The service was good, and the food was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

This lunchtime we visited for the first time and had a light lunch. We settled on beer and a sandwich each. The beer was, of course, good but the sandwiches were a delightful surprise being served in in-house baked Italian bread rolls, drizzled with extra virgin olive oil at the table. The ingredients were fresh and delicious (as were the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

What a shame - This place has most of the right ingredients but some fundamental issues that need attention! Front of house is chaotic - we initially tried to telephone but no-one answered the phone. It wasn't that busy so no excuses there. Service is poor - chaotic. Staff who don't seem to be very experienced or understand what we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing