We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough

The Hill | Winchmore Hill, Amersham HP7 0PA, England
44 (0) 1494 259 757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 57 restaurants in Amersham
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Most recent review
- Jul 19, 2014
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    42
    29
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW

We've visited The Plough on many occasions with mixed results, but I can honestly say last night was the worse we've experienced there! For starter we ordered the chicken livers on bruschetta, what we actually got was chicken liver pate on bruschetta, tasted ok but the presentation was terrible! For our main's we both had a pasta dish, one being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raffmerc, Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Firstly can I apologise that you did not enjoy your last visit with us. We aim to deliver honest, authentic regional Italian food and service to the highest standards and when we don’t meet customers’ expectations we take it very seriously. Which is why on this occasion we comped your entire food bill. We were pleased that you seemingly left... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I love the fact this restaurant offers a taste of real Italian food. Reading the menu you could be fooled into thinking you're in the middle of the beautiful Tuscan countryside and it's great to see truffles on a menu in the UK. The service was good, and the food was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

This lunchtime we visited for the first time and had a light lunch. We settled on beer and a sandwich each. The beer was, of course, good but the sandwiches were a delightful surprise being served in in-house baked Italian bread rolls, drizzled with extra virgin olive oil at the table. The ingredients were fresh and delicious (as were the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

What a shame - This place has most of the right ingredients but some fundamental issues that need attention! Front of house is chaotic - we initially tried to telephone but no-one answered the phone. It wasn't that busy so no excuses there. Service is poor - chaotic. Staff who don't seem to be very experienced or understand what we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stumbled across this restaurant since my partner had a job interview nearby and we stayed in a b&b down the street, so it was the only way to get food in the evening. Turned out to be a real find. Everything has this home made, "built from scratch" taste and freshness.The pizza was the best we ever had. After around... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

2nd review but have been a few more times. Attention to detail is awesome, and food is cooked to perfection ( does entail a wait though). Excellent wine selection, great service with a smile. This is no ordinary Italian, if fact nothing ordinary about it Plenty of parking space

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raffmerc, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write. Service is something we are desperately trying to improve upon but recruitment is a problem as believe it or not there are not many who want to work unsociable hours and due to the location, finding staff with transport is also difficult , so always a struggle. I note that time seemed... More

Amersham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

2nd visit. First visit was an evening out with friends when we enjoyed the food but then seemed to become invisible to staff (despite the room being less than half full) after the main course was served - so much so that we left without having time to order desert. A second visit at lunchtime for a group of us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raffmerc, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write. Service is something we are desperately trying to improve upon but recruitment is a problem as believe it or not there are not many who want to work unsociable hours and due to the location, finding staff with transport is also difficult , so always a struggle. I note that time seemed... More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Oh, wow! The food here was amazing. Everything appeared (and tasted) home made. Chosen by a family member we thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal. We had pizza, fish & chips and a aubergine vegetarian meal. Everything was cooked to perfection and very well presented. Try it, you wont be disappointed. Can't wait to go again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Have been to The Plough on a couple of occasions and found the service very poor both times. The food is also very average considering it is supposed to be authentic Italian.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Raffmerc, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, although I feel it is not genuine, having looked at your other responses, I note that you also gave our sister restaurant a poor review, for which you received a response as on that occasion it was felt your comments were unjustifiable and incomparable to all the others, we then noted you had reviewed the... More

Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Had a fantastic meal and night out at the plough. The food, staff and wine was fantastic. My mum and sister particularly enjoyed the pizzas. The bar and waiting staff were second to none and the coffee was one of the best ive had outside Italy

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing