We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Hill | Winchmore Hill, Amersham HP7 0PA, England
44 (0) 1494 259 757
Website
Today
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Good for:
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations
Delivery
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 113 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 49
    Excellent
  • 33
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Excellent service, brilliant food and authentic atmosphere

I've been eating at The Plough for a while now, and the one thing that keeps me coming back is the fantastic service! Don't get me wrong, the food is Italiano perfecto and the country pub/Neapolitan restaurant are what make this establishment truly exclusive, but over the previous summer the bar... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 3, 2015
Brad S
,
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

I've been eating at The Plough for a while now, and the one thing that keeps me coming back is the fantastic service! Don't get me wrong, the food is Italiano perfecto and the country pub/Neapolitan restaurant are what make this establishment truly exclusive, but over the previous summer the bar staff in particular were exceptional! The attached shop means... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raffmerc, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your praise. We really appreciate positive feedback and are happy to hear you enjoy your time with us. Raff More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

My first visit to this restaurant at lunchtime today (Thursday). We were told two things not on the menu. I ordered seafood risotto...white fish of the day, mussels, clams and prawns. My partner ordered lamb chops only to be told later that there were none. He then chose lamb rump. His meal was disappointingly small, very few soggy chips and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

My Wife and I decided to have lunch out last Friday whilst looking after our grandson, 18 weeks old. The choice was the Crown at Penn or the Plough and we decided on the Plough as we like Italian food and knew there would be space for a pushchair. However, we regretted our choice as soon as the food arrived.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Raffmerc, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

I am totally astounded to have received this review. Your wife wrote an email to us complaining about your experience, I responded within hours apologising and offering a meal for two as a gesture of good will, despite the fact we did absolutely nothing wrong. You did not have the courtesy to reply, yet you have found the time to... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Five of us went for lunch today and were thoroughly impressed! Great pizza's and other authentic Italian dishes. Staff were very helpful and friendly although we couldn't help but feel it deserved to be full on a Sunday lunchtime. Thanks very much!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Good food and reasonably priced, local draft ale and nice wine list. Super cozy place in the winter!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We read in the paper the new chef, intrigued we went to dinner. ate divimente. the delicious cacciuco, and Ribolita. very delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014 via mobile

Had heard good things about this restaurant but was disappointed to visit on a Saturday night when there seemed to be far more empty tables than occupied ones. The food was ok and reasonably priced. We weren't happy with a seafood dish which we complained about. It was only at the end of the meal that it was acknowledged that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Raffmerc, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

We are really upset to hear about your experience here, it is totally unacceptable that you were only offered a coffee for something you evidently could not have eaten. We have been working hard to improve our food and service, which makes this review extremely disappointing for us. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and our coffee... More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Have been here several times - for morning coffee, evening drinks, lunch and dinner. Love this place - food always excellent whether it is pizza or full evening meal. Tuscan fish stew my favourite. Good wine selection. Friendly staff. My kids did the pizza making morning too a few years ago and really enjoyed it. They are 12 and 14... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tring, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Had to do a double check before I wrote this given the last review - it's like it was written about a different place! This was our first visit, recommended by friends, four of us arrived early and left late! Slightly eclectic combination of local pub, italian biased restaurant and even village shop. We enjoyed the feel of the place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Where do I start? So much potential but the worst food ever...trying to be something special and it really isn't. Our bottle of white wine we ordered was served in a plastic bowl of cold water.....things went even More downhill from here. We ordered some homemade bread and this was served as 4 slices like you get from a supermarket... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
Raffmerc, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

I am blown away by your comments, what can I say, after a busy weekend with nothing but praise for the red mullet in particular, I am struggling to understand your points. The bread is made in our wood burning oven in full view, for all to see so how can it have resembled something out of a supermarket? A... More 

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Hill | Winchmore Hill, Amersham HP7 0PA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Amersham
  • Phone Number: 44 (0) 1494 259 757

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Italian
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:30 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Plough staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?