We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hit or Miss

Certificate of Excellence
European, Pub, Gastropub, Family Fare
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Penn Street Village, Amersham HP7 0PX , England
+(44)1494 713109
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: 300-year old traditional Country Pub / Restaurant in beautiful picturesque...
300-year old traditional Country Pub / Restaurant in beautiful picturesque olde worlde English village. Wisteria round the door, wooden and carpetted floors, real log fires, original beams. Private areas available for functions.
read more
Good for:
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 127 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 62
    Excellent
  • 39
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Great food, friendly staff

My partner and I went for a meal this evening and I must say it was beautiful. Well presented and beautifully cooked. Will defo go back and am looking forward to trying more delights.. Thank you very much. Darcy xx

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 28, 2015
Darcy H
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 NEW

My partner and I went for a meal this evening and I must say it was beautiful. Well presented and beautifully cooked. Will defo go back and am looking forward to trying more delights.. Thank you very much. Darcy xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 NEW

We have been on the hunt for a decent Sunday roast in the local area for months and we finally found one! Great hosts, great surroundings, great menu, VERY GOOD FOOD and great service!! Would highly recommend and will definitely be returning regularly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I've been there for lunch a few times, always welcomed and served promptly. The food is well made, and the atmosphere good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for this review and I am delighted that you enjoy the service, food and atmosphere. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Bucks
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

I had visited this pub once before in the evening several years ago and was not impressed at all but recently been for lunch on three occasions and really enjoyed it so thought I would go in the evening again. Unfortunately the whole experience was underwealming. The staff did get our drinks order to the table efficiently but then we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for this feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your evening with us and I am certainly surprised that you felt I was ignoring you as I most certainly endeavour to treat all customers well. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal and that you did not tell us this when we checked... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

The surrounding area is truly delightful. The pub itself is very nice. My family thoroughly enjoyed our Saturday lunch. Good food - good service. Would recommend. Especially on a nice hot day!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. I'm glad you like our village as well as our pub. Nice to hear you had good food and service and that even the weather was nice! We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

This old Inn is located in the village of Penn Street near Amersham. It has been extended and caters for large parties. Excellent menu and a superb staff. Lots of atmosphere. In Summer there is a nice garden for drinks and food. Parking opposite the Inn. You will certainly vote your visit a Hit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review. I'm delighted you enjoy our pub so much and that you feel we have an excellent menu and superb staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We used to go to the pub for food and it was good. After a break of a year we went today and was disappointed. We had to return two main courses as they were not hot. The other two were OK, but had to be eaten straight away and did not allow for conversation. This was the same with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

hank you for this review. I am very surprised to hear your comments about dishes not being hot as these are freshly prepared and should have been appropriately hot. I can only assume that during a busy session, they were not taken promptly from the kitchen for which I apologise. I'm not sure why you feel we have become complacent... More 

bucks uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Sadly due to the busy time of year the standard of food was affected. Furthermore staff seemed over stretched and resulted in a slow service with our meals turning up sporadically and some very hot and others lukewarm. Seemed a lot of money to spend on an average meal with slow service. However the staff were pleasant and the atmosphere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. I have been trying to think about then your party were here and can only assume that it was a last minute booking on a day when we also had a lot of 'walk-ins' as we are generally better staffed through December due to knowing our bookings. I apologise if your meals were not up... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Went there for lunch on New Years Eve with a family group. The food was lovely and beautifully presented.There is a very cosy atmosphere in the place with open fires. We had a round table plenty of room .The tempura prawn starter was delicious. I had calves liver as a main and that was beautifully cooked several of our party... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your lunch so much. The Tempura Prawns are a constant favourite. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Arrived at the hit and miss for a family gathering today and I must say it was truly beautiful. Been to many local village pubs and this certainly didn't let us down. Only a basic buffet had by us but the atmosphere and the cosy welcome was just lovely. Open fire and lots of nice places to sit. If we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

I really appreciate you taking the time to provide this review and love your description of our pub being 'truly beautiful'. We would love to welcome you back for a full meal and we're not really that difficult to find! More 

Travelers who viewed Hit or Miss also viewed

 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Hit or Miss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Penn Street Village, Amersham HP7 0PX , England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Amersham
  • Phone Number: +(44)1494 713109

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: European, Pub, Gastropub, Family Fare

Description

300-year old traditional Country Pub / Restaurant in beautiful picturesque olde worlde English village. Wisteria round the door, wooden and carpetted floors, real log fires, original beams. Private areas available for functions.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hit or Miss staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?