We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hit or Miss

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Vegetarian, European, Family Fare, Gastropub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Penn Street Village, Amersham HP7 0PX , England
+44 1494 713109
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Description: 300-year old traditional Country Pub / Restaurant in beautiful picturesque...
300-year old traditional Country Pub / Restaurant in beautiful picturesque olde worlde English village. Wisteria round the door, wooden and carpetted floors, real log fires, original beams. Private areas available for functions.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 133 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 64
    Excellent
  • 40
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
You can please most of the people most of the time

Very mixed review by the 12 of us that were here for Mother's Day lunch. 8 of us loved it, 2 of us weren't sure and two were unhappy. Personally I loved it. I started with the ham hock terrine and then had the pork tenderloin and finished with the Malvern pudding. Excellent all of it. 6 had the... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 15, 2015
Travelguidebarbie
,
London
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 NEW

I took my Father here for lunch as a trip down memory lane, since we used to meet my Grandparents at the Hit or Miss over 40 years ago. We both had a very enjoyable 'light' lunch, the sandwiches are certainly generous with a nice selection of fillings. The draught beer whose name escapes me at this moment, my memory's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 NEW

On pretty much every occasion we visit the Hit or Miss it has been a big hit with our family. We have been coming here for years, mostly special occasions when the kids were back from university or staying for the weekend, birthdays, mother’s day, the beer festival, or just a nice summers evening to sit in the beautiful beer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 NEW

We met friends here halfway between locations and originally thought it would be a great venue. Not brilliant as we discovered for Sunday lunch. Just way under expectations. Will remain a Miss for us

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for this review, but I am unsure of what actually was 'not brilliant' or why we were 'under expectations'. More 

Chesham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

An old pub with larger than average public area for eating/drinking. Cool in summer but also in winter!! Food just above average and service just below but nothing to complain about. Probably slightly understaffed when we visited (Friday lunchtime) but they weren't hugely busy. Recommend for a good but nothing special weekday lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for this review and I'm delighted you found our food to be above average, but disappointed that you felt we were understaffed. I hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

London
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Very mixed review by the 12 of us that were here for Mother's Day lunch. 8 of us loved it, 2 of us weren't sure and two were unhappy. Personally I loved it. I started with the ham hock terrine and then had the pork tenderloin and finished with the Malvern pudding. Excellent all of it. 6 had the beef... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for this in-depth review of your Mother's Day lunch. I'm delighted that you enjoyed all 3 courses so much, but disappointed that a couple of your table did not. The beef was all from the same joint for everyone, but we do serve the Fore-rib because it is so tender and flavoursome, but that does mean that it... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

My partner and I went for a meal this evening and I must say it was beautiful. Well presented and beautifully cooked. Will defo go back and am looking forward to trying more delights.. Thank you very much. Darcy xx

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for this review. I'm delighted you felt your meal was beautifully cooked. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon to try more of our menu. More 

Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We have been on the hunt for a decent Sunday roast in the local area for months and we finally found one! Great hosts, great surroundings, great menu, VERY GOOD FOOD and great service!! Would highly recommend and will definitely be returning regularly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this lovely review. Our Sunday roasts are renowned and we are usually full through the main lunch period, but we offer the roasts up until 8pm. I'm delighted you loved all aspects or your visit and I look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I've been there for lunch a few times, always welcomed and served promptly. The food is well made, and the atmosphere good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for this review and I am delighted that you enjoy the service, food and atmosphere. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Bucks
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

I had visited this pub once before in the evening several years ago and was not impressed at all but recently been for lunch on three occasions and really enjoyed it so thought I would go in the evening again. Unfortunately the whole experience was underwealming. The staff did get our drinks order to the table efficiently but then we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for this feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your evening with us and I am certainly surprised that you felt I was ignoring you as I most certainly endeavour to treat all customers well. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal and that you did not tell us this when we checked... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

The surrounding area is truly delightful. The pub itself is very nice. My family thoroughly enjoyed our Saturday lunch. Good food - good service. Would recommend. Especially on a nice hot day!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. I'm glad you like our village as well as our pub. Nice to hear you had good food and service and that even the weather was nice! We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Hit or Miss also viewed

 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Hit or Miss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Penn Street Village, Amersham HP7 0PX , England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Amersham
  • Phone Number: +44 1494 713109

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 9 - 27
  • Cuisine: Vegetarian, European, Family Fare, Gastropub

Description

300-year old traditional Country Pub / Restaurant in beautiful picturesque olde worlde English village. Wisteria round the door, wooden and carpetted floors, real log fires, original beams. Private areas available for functions.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hit or Miss staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?