We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hit or Miss

Penn Street Village, Amersham HP7 0PX , England
+(44)1494 713109
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 55 restaurants in Amersham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European, Pub, Gastropub, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: 300-year old traditional Country Pub / Restaurant in beautiful picturesque olde worlde English village. Wisteria round the door, wooden and carpetted floors, real log fires, original beams. Private areas available for functions.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: 300-year old traditional Country Pub / Restaurant in beautiful picturesque olde worlde English village. Wisteria round the door, wooden and carpetted floors, real log fires, original beams. Private areas available for functions.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    47
    26
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

A group of us went for an evening meal on Saturday 21 June. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff and the landlord. The menu was wide ranging: most of us chose different main courses. The service was just right (not too fast, not too long) and the food was delicious. Price-wise it cost us about £29... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Many thanks for this review. I'm glad you felt so welcome and that you thought our menu was wide-ranging and the food delicious. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More

Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Having been recommended to visit for the food, I was very disappointed. I had braised steak and it appeared as a small chunk practically black and dry and almost impossible to cut. Will not be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub. I am sorry that you were disappointed and that you did not tell us of the problems with your meal as we would gladly have replaced it for you. As you were recommended, I'm sure that there were other items on the menu that would have suited, but I'm not... More

Didcot
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Found Hit & Miss on the Internet on searching for somewhere near Amersham to hold a family gathering. What a find, greeted with our own area of tables, seating, sun shade and balloons! BBQ was freshly cooked by 2 chefs, with a member of staff overseeing the event. BBQ and salads were interesting and plenty of it! Thank you Hit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this review. We are delighted that you chose our pub for your reunion and that you all had such a great time. We are very proud of the fact that our barbecues are all fresh homemade foods. Hopefully, we will see you all again for another reunion. More

Sarasota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Six of us went for a meal last nigh and I had probably the most tender delicious liver I've ever eaten. It was as tender as possible and the gravy was really delicious. If I had one criticism and it's just that I had my hopes set on having a steak pie and this pub offers no "pub grub" so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for this feedback. I'm delighted you thought the liver was the most tender delicious liver you have had. Sorry you were disappointed at the lack of pies. We do occasionally offer them on our Specials menu, but naturally not all the time and unfortunately not on the night you were here. Perhaps you'll be more lucky next time. More

Great Missenden, England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Have been frequenting the Hit or Miss for many years but still love it. Threw a surprise 60th for my father in law and we were looked after very well. Bbq was delicious and plentiful. So to wrap it up a quintessential English pub with the service and food the match. Oh and a big thanks to Mike,Mary and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. I'm delighted that you still love us after all these years and that your BBQ went so well. We do strive to give great food and great service. See you again soon, I hope. More

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I recently went one lunch time and then again for Sunday lunch. The food was excellent both times and the staff were friendly and efficient. The warm brie open sandwich was delicious and my friends tuna sandwich was about 3 inches high and very tasty.My father, brother and husband's roast beef Sunday lunch was approved by all and the 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time for this review. We're pleased you think our food is excellent and the staff friendly and efficient. We are renowned for our sandwiches and surprised that many pubs don't offer them. We are particularly pleased that the vegetarians enjoyed their meals as we try to make these dishes as interesting as possible. A pity you... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Lovely littLe place. Food great and reasonably priced. Pleasant friendly atmosphere. Delightful interior with lots of charm. Staff helpful and attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this review. We're delighted that you think our food is great and reasonably priced. We do aim to provide a pleasant friendly atmosphere with our staff being helpful and attentive, so glad you appreciate that. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a 90th Birthday Party at the Pub with about 40 guests on a busy Sunday, the Buffet Food they set out was Excellent, enjoyed by Young & Old . Great Service thanks to all the Staff & a Big thanks to Steph for keeping all the Glasses topped up . Mike & Mary perfect Hosts, so we'll be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thanks for this great review. I'm glad your guests enjoyed our buffet so much and that you had such great service. We certainly hope to see you again before the 100th! More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I visit this pub maybe 2 or 3 times a year but this was the first time I'd eaten there. The menu looked great but really expensive for a pub. The food did not match the price at all. I had the liver and mash. The liver was overdone and had bits of sinue on it. The portion was ridiculously... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. I am surprised that you found us expensive as we feel that including side orders and not charging service charge keeps the final bill below our local competitors. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your liver as it is a very popular choice. The amount of liver should certainly have been sufficient, but... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I came here for the first time for work Xmas dinner last year and was excellent. Food, service, price all very good, which is why we decided to come for mothers day lunch. The price was about £10 more than Xmas dinner, but was expecting same quality food. But sadly whilst the presentation was very good, the quality was not.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary M, Owner at Hit or Miss, responded to this review

Thank you. I'm glad you thought our Christmas dinner was excellent, but sorry you were disappointed on Sunday. When we changed your starter I thought you were happy and I would have loved you to have accepted my offer to give you alternative potatoes so that you would have enjoyed your meal. However, I'm glad that the rest of your... More

Travelers who viewed Hit or Miss also viewed

Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Hit or Miss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hit or Miss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing