We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pomeroy Inn

$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Pomeroy Inn | Little Chalfont, Amersham HP7 9JY, England
441494766845
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Families with children
Description: The Pomeroy Inn in Little Chalfont is a country pub & restaurant oozing...
The Pomeroy Inn in Little Chalfont is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 247 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 53
    Excellent
  • 62
    Very good
  • 49
    Average
  • 39
    Poor
  • 44
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Disappointing

Went for a light lunch. A very cold day, yet welcomingly warm. however the food was mediocre. The cheese and bacon melt came with previously cooked bacon, cold. A pity since the bacon was tasty, well smoked. The cheese had just about been melted; the bun was cold .Just poor attention since by the... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed yesterday
107derek
,
Watford, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went for a light lunch. A very cold day, yet welcomingly warm. however the food was mediocre. The cheese and bacon melt came with previously cooked bacon, cold. A pity since the bacon was tasty, well smoked. The cheese had just about been melted; the bun was cold .Just poor attention since by the time we ate the place was... More 

Helpful?
Thank 107derek
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family and I had a great lunch in this country pub. Good service, lovely food. Much improved from our last visit - apparently under new management.

Helpful?
Thank Laura W
R C, Assistant Manager at The Pomeroy Inn, responded to this review

Dear Laura W Thank you for your lovely review. Delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Robyn More 

chesham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Food ok but can get just as good food cheaper locally. Surroundings are nice, staff ok but could benefit from extra training. Nowhere under cover for smokers outside when pouring with rain.

Helpful?
Thank FR150
R C, assistant manager at The Pomeroy Inn, responded to this review

Dear FR150 Sorry to hear that you thought your visit was not to the standard we love to deliver. We are making some exciting changes to the Pomeroy in the next couple of months so hopefully their will be a smoking shelter soon. And hopefully we will see you soon to restore your faith in the Pomeroy If you would... More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well what can I say about my visit this evening. I've been in a number of time & have always enjoyed my visit until tonight. There seemed to be no manager or management as there only really seemed to be a couple of young girls & young lad that were doing all the running around (they were doing a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
R C, assistant manager at The Pomeroy Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kevin M Thank you for your review but I am really disappointed to hear how you felt about your visit. The girls and lad working that night were working their hardest and I am glad that you were able to see however I'm sorry that you felt there was not a manager in sight. I would like to discuss... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Second visit inside a month! Last visit on a Wednesday(pie day) to be told lack of pies! Today on steak night to be told no rib eye steaks!Really think their is a Lack of staff which must have been the reason that our waiter forgot to bring the mustard for the steak & the large glass of merlot! Would I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin T
R C, assistant manager at The Pomeroy Inn, responded to this review

Dear Martin T Thank you for your review However we are sorry to hear you are disappointed by your last two visits. I was not aware we had run out of pies last Wednesday, and rib eye steaks last night. I will speak with the rest of the staff to check they are aware of the correct menu. We are... More 

london
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A group of us went for lunch and on many levels, it wasn't good. The service was very very slow (get more staff, it's simple) as the pub is allegedly busy most lunch times. I had the hunters chicken and I simply couldn't eat it! It was awful!! Actually everyone that had any chicken asked to send it back on... More 

Helpful?
Thank rugbysimon
R C, assistant manager at The Pomeroy Inn, responded to this review

Dear rugbysimon Thank you for review, however we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit. We are in the process of hiring and working very hard to fill the positions. Sorry to hear that none of your party enjoyed the chicken, I would like to discuss this with you further If you could please call me at... More 

Little Chalfont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is while since visiting the Pomeroy. The food was good, slow service, as it seemed they were under staffed, though it might have improved now.

Helpful?
Thank Jan W
R C, assistant manager at The Pomeroy Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jan W Thank you for your review We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food. We are in the process of hiring and working hard to fill the positions so we are not short staffed in the future We hope to see you again soon Kind regards Robyn More 

Little Chalfont, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went in for Lunch at about 1.30 pm for Lunch with my parents. Fairly busy pub forma Wedsnesday lunch time.Very short staffed only 2 members of staff at the bar. I had to wait ages for a drink I ordered Food was slow to come and one of the members of staff was not trained at the till.

Helpful?
Thank Frances P
R C, Manager at The Pomeroy Inn, responded to this review

Dear Frances P Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback as helps us improve. We are sorry to hear that you had to wait to be served and felt that one member was not fully trained, However we are in the process of hiring. We hope to see you again soon, hopefully with what you feel as massive... More 

Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very different visit to previous one-plenty of staff,efficient service ,hot food this time! will certainly return!!!! Heating was just about right,not too hot,two excellent menues to choose from,would really sugest trying the Saturday night steak menu,very good value and perfectly cooked.

Helpful?
Thank 740Lynne740
R C, Manager at The Pomeroy Inn, responded to this review

Dear 740Lynne740 Thank you for your review We are very glad to hear that you feel there has been an improvement since your last visit, We are also working hard to improve and love feedback to help this Look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Robyn More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here a couple of days ago had lovely food all staff were very welcoming Would definitely recommend going here will be back again soon

Helpful?
Thank Vicki W
R C, Manager at The Pomeroy Inn, responded to this review

Dear Vicki W Glad you had a lovely visit! Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Robyn More 

Travelers who viewed The Pomeroy Inn also viewed

Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Pomeroy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Pomeroy Inn | Little Chalfont, Amersham HP7 9JY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Amersham
  • Phone Number: 441494766845

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 14 - 29
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

The Pomeroy Inn in Little Chalfont is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pomeroy Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?