We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

PJ Billington's Restaurant

76 Ville Marie Dr, Marystown, Newfoundland and Labrador A0E 2M0, Canada
709.279.1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 restaurants in Marystown
Price range: $3 - $55
7 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

33% Recommend
    1
    5
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
st.johns,nl,canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Sometimes this restaurant is excellent,sometimes not so great, depending on the cook I presume! Unfortunately I don't think a good cook is paid enough to make them care about the end result!! This restaurant is dated and needs renos just like every other one in Marystown. The ownership never puts the profit back in the business thus leaving it ratty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I ate 5 meals here over 2 days. All were well prepared and tasty, and generous. Sort of the good home cooking type food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Not overly busy while we were there. The service was within the time one expect to be served. The food was hot, tasty,and reasonably priced. It had the appearance of being clean and well maintained. Our waitress was friendly and attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterK431, operations manager at PJ Billington's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; we look forward to serving you again. More

St. John's, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We ordered: Hot Turkey Sandwich: turkey meat tasted like it was previously frozen, bread was not fresh, vegetables tasted like they were from a bag, gravy was bland. Seafood special: all seafood was deep fried, baked potato had to be sent back twice because it was not cooked. After the second attempt it still wasn't cooked properly, so we pushed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterK431, operations manager at PJ Billington's Restaurant, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review but very disapointed to hear of your bad experience. We want to thank you for providing the information I requested which allowed us to review and evaluate what happened. We have discussed this incident with staff to ensure it doesn't happen to anyone else. More

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This place is overpriced and doesn't deliver. The food isn't terrible but it is just very ordinary. The servers were pleasant but more interested in chatting with each other than helping the very few people in the restaurant. The food came slowly. The food itself was not bad but it wasn't good either. If you are staying at the hotel,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterK431, Operations Manager at PJ Billington's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Frances4612 for your critique of our restaurant although sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience. We strive to ensure our customers are happy with the quality of food we serve and the service we provide but it seems on occasion we fall short of some people’s expectations. We will however continue to do our very best to... More

Outer Cove
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The service was good and the food was good. It was a pleasant surprise to have a menu with variety in an area with few choices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Everything about our dining experience was terrible! We Had a reservation for Mother's Day brunch and to start off our table wasn't ready when we got there but that's was just the beginning. We placed our order and it took us 1 hour and 20 mins to get our food. The food was cold, toast not toasted at all and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PeterK431, Operations Manager at PJ Billington's Restaurant, responded to this review

On Sunday May 12, 2013 we had to close our restaurant to regular business so we could accommodate all the reservations we had for Mother’s Day. Of the many people that were served only positive comments were verbally expressed to our knowledge and we regret to hear through Trip Advisor that it appears your party was treated differently than all... More

St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food was okay but the amount of time we waited to be served and for our food was atrocious especially given that there were not many other people in the restaurant at the time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marystown, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

food was excellent, table overlooked ville marie drive, quiet and had good service. 40 dinner for two...not bad at all

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterK431, Operations Manager at PJ Billington's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you bigt, it’s always great to hear customers are satisfied with all aspects of service. More

St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I had bacon-wrapped scallops on a skewer as an appetizer and I must say it was really good. The steak was more well done than I usually like it but was seasoned the way I like it and juicy enough. I wish I had taken the 8 oz, only because then I would have room for desert. I wouldn't hesitate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PeterK431, Operations Manager at PJ Billington's Restaurant, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your meal and look forward to serving you again. More

Travelers who viewed PJ Billington's Restaurant also viewed

Marystown, Newfoundland
Marystown, Newfoundland
 
Marystown, Newfoundland
Marystown, Newfoundland
 

Been to PJ Billington's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PJ Billington's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing