We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beauchaines 211

211 S. Topsail Drive, 3721 Island Dr North topsail beach, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445
910-328-1888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 46 restaurants in Surf City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    81
    34
    21
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Each year when we vacation at TI, we eat at 4 or more restaurants. Beauchaines is our favorite. The view from the upstairs dining area is beautiful, food is excellent and the service has always been friendly. Not a place I would use for a fast meal, but the atmosphere and experience are worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I had a wonderful birthday dinner with my family. The view was amazing, service was good, and the food was delicious! We highly recommend the crab cakes and the lemon basil vodka drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gertrude66, Owner at Beauchaines 211, responded to this review

Thank you!!! We are glad you enjoyed your birthday and we hope to see you again next year!!! Patrice Parker More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I had a gift certificate for over $150 that was given to me and we had used all but $31 in a previous visit. I had not noticed that the cert had an experation date of 3 weeks ago until I pulled it out to present to our server to cover a Small portion of out $120 bill. The owner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was a little skeptical of trying this place with our parents but did so anyway. We had a 5:45 reservation that we made at last minute but wanted 6:00. After rushing over figuring it was busy since we were told there were no other time slots, we find that the place is almost empty. They actually had quite a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gertrude66, Owner at Beauchaines 211, responded to this review

I apologize for your menu having food inside. Our menus are cleaned every day at the beginning of our shift. Sometimes a customer may drop something on the menu and we may not be aware that this has happened.We have maintained a health score of 99 or better for many years !! On the up side, I am glad you... More

Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I sat at the bar and ate dinner. I had the pleasure to sit beside two nice young adults. The lady (a Marine) was shipping out to Japan & her friend were both very interesting. I enjoyed the conversation almost as much as the food. They were locals & picked this place as a Special Treat. I had the Special... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had reservations. Our meal there was ok at best, my wife liked her meal better than I liked my meal - maybe it was her wine. My daughter and friend had been there many times and were not all that impressed on trip. The server was cheerful but inadequate, and my shrimp & grits entre was edible but unimpressive, lacking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We eat here every summer during our vacation at Topsail. My husband loves the shrimp and grits. I have always thought it was a nice restaurant, but have never been that impressed. My daughter and I had the Red Curry Mahi with jasmine rice. The mahi was cooked nicely, but the sauce was very bland. There was no curry taste.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Didn't make reservations but there was no wait. Went Wed. night @ 6:30. Waiter was at our table and took drink order and returned immediately with them and then took food order. That was the last of the good waiter. Ordered at our table was Red Curry Mahi, 8oz Filet & crabcakes. Mahi was excellent!!! Crabcakes were a little over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Place doesn't look that great from the outside but food was wonderful. We ordered a bottle of Chardonnay wine to start. I'm not a big wine drinker, but in my opinion the house wine should have a cork not a twist off cap. ($21 for the bottle.) We did an appetizer, smoked salmon. It was amazing! Came with a cream... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Catiev123
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have lived in the area for quite some time and have never visited Beauchaines... Honestly the view is unbeatable to see the sunset however if you are facing the windows you will be blinded but totally worth it. The décor is dated... it seams like you are sitting in 1994. The bartender was very nice. The wine was decently... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gertrude66, Owner at Beauchaines 211, responded to this review

We are certainly glad that you enjoyed our view!! I actually don't know how to respond as I have never had anyone complain about the crab dip or calamari! They are actually 2 of our most popular items and I can assure you are made with the highest quality ingredients!! I personally no longer order crab dip any where else... More

Travelers who viewed Beauchaines 211 also viewed

 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Topsail Beach, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island

Been to Beauchaines 211? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beauchaines 211, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing