We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Moon Beach Grill

4104 South Virginia Dare Trail, #16, Nags Head, NC 27959
+1 252-261-2583
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Café, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Blue Moon Beach Grill is located at MP 13 in sunny, downtown Nags Head. We are just down the road from Jockey's Ridge in Surfside Plaza. We are open 7 days a week from 11:30 AM till 9:00 PM. Our goal is to provide each customer with a "once in a blue moon" dining experience.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    691
    145
    41
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Old VIRGINIA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW

The first time we visited Blue Moon Grill, it was less than half the size it is today, and still, it cannot hold all the folks like us who love their seafood and fun! Blue Moon people are friendly, the seafood is so good and fresh . . . I hate to say it because it'll be busier the next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Will S, Owner at Blue Moon Beach Grill, responded to this review

One old seagull to another says, "thanks". We appreciate your business, and we thank you for the kind words. Yes, Shrimp-not-a-Burger is a great sandwich. It is very popular. BTW, next year we will be opening a second restaurant at Pirates Cove. It will be similar, but different.........different menu, different setting, but hopefully great food and awesome service. The old... More

Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 NEW

The location is out of the way but well worth finding. We waited about 30 minutes and it was worth the wait. They have a large bar with a selection of beers and mixed drinks. The art work on the wall keeps you entertained. The oysters Rockefeller for the appetizer and the seafood for supper were scrumptious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Will S, Owner at Blue Moon Beach Grill, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are inclined to agree, our food is what we are all about. We know we are tucked away in the corner of Surf Side Plaza, but we are what we are.........small, quaint, focused on food and service and, hopefully, a fun place to eat and greet friends. We hope to see... More

Voorheesville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014 NEW

My wife and I were on a little get away to the OuterBanks. We wanted something other than a chain type restaurant and prefer to support a local mom and pop type business. We were just driving by and something said to stop in and try this place out. We were so glad we did, from the staff to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Will S, Owner at Blue Moon Beach Grill, responded to this review

Yes, we are a mom and pop shop........and we do think we have good food, a great staff, and a casual clean atmosphere. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again the next time you visit our sand bar. Cheers and bon appetit!!1 More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We stopped here purely off of the trip advisor ratings and was not disappointed. -don't let the location fool you. The inside is very nice. (located in an older looking strip mall) -be prepared for a wait. We got lucky and got to sit at the bar. There was a snotty couple at the bar that didn't want to scoot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Will S, Owner at Blue Moon Beach Grill, responded to this review

Loved your review...........sorry about the snotty couple next to you.........we were not responsible, and quite likely, we didn't appreciate their attitude either........and we digress too. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope to see you all again. Cheers.......... More

Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We visited the first time in early Sept. on a Thursday evening at about 6:30. The wait was 1 hour. Also, it was a lovely evening, and they don't have outdoor seating, so we decided to try Pamlico Jack's instead, which had lovely outdoor seating, excellent food and no wait. We came back again later in our trip on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will S, Owner at Blue Moon Beach Grill, responded to this review

We are glad you came back and enjoyed a meal at Blue Moon. We do have outdoor seating.........during the high season, we have music 7 nights a week. Now, during the shoulder season we have music on the deck on Fridays and Saturdays. Check it out. Cheers and bon appetit to you!! More

Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Eat here. Never mind the wait. Everything was great. Unlike many Outer Banks restaurants, this place has no view. It's in a small shopping center but once you are inside you forget about the location. The atmosphere is pure beach with really interesting art (some good, some amusing) crowded on the walls. The food is wonderful. We started with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will S, Owner at Blue Moon Beach Grill, responded to this review

So you don't like the view.........what's wrong with a parking lot view,,,,,,,,,,, LOL? Since we don't have a view, we hope our food and service are extraordinary. Thank you for giving us a chance, and know that we appreciate your business. More

Gallatin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

This hidden gem is wonderful! We tried to get in during the huge thunderstorm on Sunday night September 7, but the wait was longer than we wanted. We returned on Monday afternoon around 2 and only waited 10 minutes for our table for 2. We both had the roast beef and "whiz" cheese sandwich with fries. Wow! They were delicious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will S, Owner at Blue Moon Beach Grill, responded to this review

What a nice review. Thank you very much for visiting us and we are glad you enjoyed your "once in a blue moon" experience. We appreciate your business and we hope to see you again. Cheers and bon appetit!! More

Burnsville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Came out for lunch the other day after seeing all the glowing reviews from TripAdvisor which is warranted. Great food and very friendly staff. The gm even came by and we chatted a bit. Got there right as they unlocked the door and sure enough by the time we were done or meal every table was seated. This place gets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Fl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

This came highly recommended and rightly so!! We were recommended by 2 different locals and on a Monday night in Sept- at 5 pm we had a 15 minute wait for a table for 5!! That is a good sign for a good dinner.Great shrimp & grits, soft shelled crab and crab bisque!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will S, Owner at Blue Moon Beach Grill, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. When locals recommend us, we smile. We sincerely appreciate your business. Cheers to you!! More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Food is delicious. Service was not so great. The fish tacos and calamari are a must. Could use a few more domestic draft beers. Place is a but cramped.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will S, Owner at Blue Moon Beach Grill, responded to this review

We are sorry you thought our service was average. That is not what we are all about. Our track record speaks for itself and great service is one of the cornerstones of our business. If you could, please call us, and ask for the manager on duty. Please describe your experience so we can correct any service issue. I would... More

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Beach Grill also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Blue Moon Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Beach Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing