We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
501 Evans St, Morehead City, NC 28557
252-247-3111
Website
Today
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: It is our goal to please every customer who walks through our doors. If...
It is our goal to please every customer who walks through our doors. If you have a complaint please contact one of our managers.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 512 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 86
    Excellent
  • 100
    Very good
  • 137
    Average
  • 94
    Poor
  • 95
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Not worth the hype

Just okay. I think people ( us included ) eat here because of the history of the place rather than the fact that it's actually a good meal. Our seafood was just okay - not particularly fresh - just tasted like frozen seafood that had been cooked. There are much better restaurants in the area

3 of 5 starsReviewed July 27, 2015
Beth B
,
Clayton, North Carolina
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

512 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 NEW via mobile

may be a landmark in the morehead area but was not to impressed, the Fish tacos were missing one important ingredient, FISH, wife's onion rings were greasy and Mushy , not a pleasant eating experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

Ordered the fettuccine Alfredo with shrimp and the sauce lacked flavor. Shrimp was fine, but sauce killed the order

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

My husband and our 2 teenagers visited the Sanitary last Saturday evening on a recommendation from a friend. What a disappointment. We waited 20 minutes to be seated as it was very busy. A good sign we thought! Huge, busy restaurant , lots of serving staff but 20 minutes before a waiter came to us, 30 more minutes before starters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

I cannot count the number of times that I have been to this restaurant over the past 50 years. It never disappoints. The friendliest service and best local seafood available. A great place for groups of families-it's huge! Great t-shirts and salt water taffy available. A step back in time in the most positive way!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

I have been going here for 40 years but this visit the shrimp tasted old and the fried flounder was soggy. I have never seen scallops as small as a dime but they managed to have some. If they don't step it back up they will ruin their repeat business.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015 NEW

We had a large group with 4 young children. We were promptly seated and waited on. Since we came for fried seafood, we were not disappointed, it was well prepared. Waitress was attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015 NEW

Just okay. I think people ( us included ) eat here because of the history of the place rather than the fact that it's actually a good meal. Our seafood was just okay - not particularly fresh - just tasted like frozen seafood that had been cooked. There are much better restaurants in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renee M, Owner at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Beth B, While we are appreciative of the fact that people continuously dine with us due to the history of our establishment, we do still strive to provide our customers with high quality meals each and every day. We do only use the freshest, tastiest ingredients we can offer, especially concerning the seafood we use in our dishes daily,... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

First of all... Strange name.... It seemed busy so we figured we'd try it. The service was absolutely terrible. Fortunately the food was good. They had a great watermelon margarita. I also think it was way too expensive for what we got. I don't think I'd go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renee M, Owner at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Ashley C, We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the food and drinks we served you, the watermelon margarita especially! However, we are disheartened to hear that the service you were offered was less than ideal. We apologize that you did not receive the exceptional customer service we have trained all employees to offer but we appreciate... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

The Sanitary Cafe is a landmark, an icon, in Morehead City. No doubt, it's a nifty place to eat, but is it worth the hype? Nope. The she-crab soup was pink from so much sherry, and it lacked the actual crab. My husband and I each found one chunk of crab in our cups! The crab cake was minuscule. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renee M, Owner at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello TravelBunny36, While we are happy to hear that you appreciate our restaurant for its historical integrity, we are disappointed to know that the meals we had served you were not up to par. We strive to serve our she-crab soup chock full of delicious crab so we apologize that this was not reflected in the soup you had ordered.... More 

Downers Grove . IL, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Ok they've been here forever, the history is interesting, but what the heck? Our large party had to wait forever for our food, lot's of errors and some of the food was inedible. My chowder was ok but weirdly like chicken rice soup instead of seafood chowder. I've never had chowder like that, again it tasted ok but??? My daughter's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Renee M, Owner at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Linda S L, We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us was such a disappointing one. It is our goal to provide our customers with meals made from only the freshest ingredients cooked to perfection so we apologize that we missed this mark during your visit with us. We appreciate all feedback as this allows us... More 

Travelers who viewed Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant

Address: 501 Evans St, Morehead City, NC 28557
Phone Number: 252-247-3111
Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Morehead City
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Monday 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thursday 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Friday 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Saturday 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Cuisine: Seafood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 501 Evans St, Morehead City, NC 28557
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Morehead City
  • Phone Number: 252-247-3111

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Large groups

Description

It is our goal to please every customer who walks through our doors. If you have a complaint please contact one of our managers.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:30 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Louisburg, North Carolina, United States
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?