We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant

Steakhouse, Seafood, Sandwiches, Hamburgers
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
701 Evans St, Morehead City, NC 28557-4262
+1 252-726-2166
Website
Today
11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Capt. Bill's is the oldest restaurant in Carteret County. It was...
Capt. Bill's is the oldest restaurant in Carteret County. It was established in 1938. Everything that we serve is still made from scratch including our Cocktail Sauce, Tatar Sauce, Hushpuppies, Slaw, Bleu Cheese Dressing, Ranch Dressing, Thousand Island Dressing, Desserts, Chowders, Casseroles, etc. We seat 400 guests in our Dining Room, 86 guests in our Banquet Room, and 40 guests on our back deck. We have a private banquet room that overlooks our back deck which has a marble fireplace, chandeliers and sconces on rheostats, carpet, and chair rail. Here we use table linens, china, and goblets. We cater both on and off premises providing a separate catering menu for your event needs. Visit our Facebook page to view over 300 pictures of some of our caterings.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 113 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 17
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 58
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    2 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    2.5 of 5 stars
Just another eh, so-so

Average at best, yet again.....fried seafood.....an usually get a bigger and better plate back home rather than all the way down here....at the coast I want fresh seafood at a good price.....this place is ok if I cant find anything else

3 of 5 starsReviewed October 12, 2014
hnyctfam
,
Lexington, North Carolina
Good for:
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 NEW

Disaster!!! It never has been any good. I went because a friend really wanted to go. It had been at least 15 years since I had been there. If anything, it has gotten worse. Avoid this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015 via mobile

My family and I ate at Captain Bill's one time (after we had just moved to town). One time is all it takes. In a sense, the place is a fraud. The food is absolutely terrible. The prices are absolutely terrible. The management is absolutely terrible. And the building is a wreck. The young waiter (who had just started a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Carteret, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

A great family restaurant serving down home and local meals. The best hush puppies around, scrumptious she-crab soup. The price is right and the location overlooks Morehead City waterfront.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

We used to love this restaurant about 15 years ago. Now the food quality is just unacceptable. Such a waste as the location is one of the best with the views and on the water. less and less busy each season as evidenced by the parking lot as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bethel,NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Trust me, this place is only for those unsuspecting tourists who want a restaurant on the water and know nothing about FRESH seafood.....the seafood in this restaurant is anything BUT fresh...all of it is frozen just like you would get in a chain restaurant such as Captain Ds. Do yourself a big favor and forget about the wAter views and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlantic, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Couldn't ask for better place to eat fresh local seafood. I love the flounder and the she crab soup is to die for. Great restaurant..Will go back when season returns...Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Walked in and restaurant had an 82.5. Place smelled terrible. We walked in saw the grade and walked out. No one was in the resturant or in the parking lot. I can't believe they are allowed to still be open!! Read other reviews that stated the have a cockroach infestation and serve spoiled food. GROSS GROSS!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
John P, Owner at Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Capt. Bill's Waterfront Restaurant does not now nor have we ever had a cockroach infestation! We do NOT serve spoiled food!!!!!!! Our restaurant does not smell! You refer to our reviews. We just last week had someone write about how clean our restaurant was! If you notice, we have only had just over 100 reviews in the history of Capt.... More 

Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Average at best, yet again.....fried seafood.....an usually get a bigger and better plate back home rather than all the way down here....at the coast I want fresh seafood at a good price.....this place is ok if I cant find anything else

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Food was over cooked, they brought us another tables food. When that was pointed out they just left it on the table. When they brought our food it was cold, over cooked and the shrimp basket was half scallops. No one at the table liked scallops. The service was poor, had to stop waitress as she walked by to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John P, Owner at Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had to wait so long for your food. That is not the norm at Capt. Bill's. However, the NC Seafood Festival was going on right outside our front door where there were 200,000 people. We had 450 people in our restaurant continually all day long with a waiting line for 8 hours. All of... More 

Henderson, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

When I was boy we went to the beach in the Morehead City area. My father loved to eat at Captain Bills. When in town for a recent wedding I decided to eat there as a sort of nostalgia tour event. First, I don't think a thing has changed in the room since I was a boy, and I am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John P, Owner at Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

What a joy to read about your recent visit to Capt. Bill's and for you to include the memories of visits there with your dad! We all have places that we visited with our parents during our childhood that hold such special memories for us! We are so glad that Capt. Bill's is one of those places for you! It... More 

Travelers who viewed Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 701 Evans St, Morehead City, NC 28557-4262
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Morehead City
  • Phone Number: +1 252-726-2166

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Steakhouse, Seafood, Sandwiches, Hamburgers

Description

Capt. Bill's is the oldest restaurant in Carteret County. It was established in 1938. Everything that we serve is still made from scratch including our Cocktail Sauce, Tatar Sauce, Hushpuppies, Slaw, Bleu Cheese Dressing, Ranch Dressing, Thousand Island Dressing, Desserts, Chowders, Casseroles, etc. We seat 400 guests in our Dining Room, 86 guests in our Banquet Room, and 40 guests on our back deck. We have a private banquet room that overlooks our back deck which has a marble fireplace, chandeliers and sconces on rheostats, carpet, and chair rail. Here we use table linens, china, and goblets. We cater both on and off premises providing a separate catering menu for your event needs. Visit our Facebook page to view over 300 pictures of some of our caterings.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?