We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 101 Morehead City Restaurants

Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant

701 Evans St, Morehead City, NC 28557-4262
+1 252-726-2166
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 101 Restaurants in Morehead City
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Capt. Bill's is the oldest restaurant in Carteret County. It was established in 1938. Everything that we serve is still made from scratch including our Cocktail Sauce, Tatar Sauce, Hushpuppies, Slaw, Bleu Cheese Dressing, Ranch Dressing, Thousand Island Dressing, Desserts, Chowders, Casseroles, etc. We seat 400 guests in our Dining Room, 86 guests in our Banquet Room, and 40 guests on our back deck. We have a private banquet room that overlooks our back deck which has a marble fireplace, chandeliers and sconces on rheostats, carpet, and chair rail. Here we use table linens, china, and goblets. We cater both on and off premises providing a separate catering menu for your event needs. Visit our Facebook page to view over 300 pictures of some of our caterings.

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    15
    11
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

We used to love this restaurant about 15 years ago. Now the food quality is just unacceptable. Such a waste as the location is one of the best with the views and on the water. less and less busy each season as evidenced by the parking lot as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bethel,NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Trust me, this place is only for those unsuspecting tourists who want a restaurant on the water and know nothing about FRESH seafood.....the seafood in this restaurant is anything BUT fresh...all of it is frozen just like you would get in a chain restaurant such as Captain Ds. Do yourself a big favor and forget about the wAter views and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlantic, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Couldn't ask for better place to eat fresh local seafood. I love the flounder and the she crab soup is to die for. Great restaurant..Will go back when season returns...Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

Walked in and restaurant had an 82.5. Place smelled terrible. We walked in saw the grade and walked out. No one was in the resturant or in the parking lot. I can't believe they are allowed to still be open!! Read other reviews that stated the have a cockroach infestation and serve spoiled food. GROSS GROSS!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
John P, Owner at Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Capt. Bill's Waterfront Restaurant does not now nor have we ever had a cockroach infestation! We do NOT serve spoiled food!!!!!!! Our restaurant does not smell! You refer to our reviews. We just last week had someone write about how clean our restaurant was! If you notice, we have only had just over 100 reviews in the history of Capt.... More 

Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Average at best, yet again.....fried seafood.....an usually get a bigger and better plate back home rather than all the way down here....at the coast I want fresh seafood at a good price.....this place is ok if I cant find anything else

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Food was over cooked, they brought us another tables food. When that was pointed out they just left it on the table. When they brought our food it was cold, over cooked and the shrimp basket was half scallops. No one at the table liked scallops. The service was poor, had to stop waitress as she walked by to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John P, Owner at Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had to wait so long for your food. That is not the norm at Capt. Bill's. However, the NC Seafood Festival was going on right outside our front door where there were 200,000 people. We had 450 people in our restaurant continually all day long with a waiting line for 8 hours. All of... More 

Henderson, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

When I was boy we went to the beach in the Morehead City area. My father loved to eat at Captain Bills. When in town for a recent wedding I decided to eat there as a sort of nostalgia tour event. First, I don't think a thing has changed in the room since I was a boy, and I am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John P, Owner at Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

What a joy to read about your recent visit to Capt. Bill's and for you to include the memories of visits there with your dad! We all have places that we visited with our parents during our childhood that hold such special memories for us! We are so glad that Capt. Bill's is one of those places for you! It... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

Waited too long for a not so fresh crab cake and shrimp basket was not good. To be on ocean and great seafood it was not good at all. Service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
John P, Owner at Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had to wait so long for your food. That is not the norm at Capt. Bill's. However, the NC Seafood Festival was going on right outside our front door where there were 200,000 people. We had 450 people in our restaurant continually all day long with a waiting line for 8 hours. All of... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

I have eaten here three times. I come in because I know the food is fast, and cheap and I will not have to wait long. This place is not bad, it just seems odd that it is never busy. I have not had a problem with any employees that were not nice and polite. I say never busy, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John P, Owner at Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for eating with us when you are in town. We value you as our customer! Capt. Bill's seats 400 guests in our dining room, 85 in our banquet room, and 50 on our back deck. Because we are so large, it can look like we have very little business when we have 150 or 200... More 

Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

We were one of only two parties in the place, which should be forewarned us. Granted, it was late for lunch, 2:30 or so. We went with the special, all you could eat fried trout and popcorn shrimp. The trout was average or below average, the popcorn shrimp was a bit better. The other party complained about their meals and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John P, Owner at Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Rich and Linda, We are so sorry that you were not happy with your food when you visited Capt. Bill's! We strive to insure that every customer is satisfied with both their food and service. Our AUCE is a VERY POPULAR menu item. Our trout is sea trout. Looking at where you are from, I am thinking that you... More 

Travelers who viewed Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant

Address: 701 Evans St, Morehead City, NC 28557-4262
Phone Number: +1 252-726-2166
Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Morehead City
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Monday 11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday 11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday 11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday 11:30 am - 8:00 pm
Friday 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Cuisine: Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse, Sandwiches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?