We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sun Fish Grill

$$
Grill
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
813 Ocean Trl, Monteray Shopping Plaza, Corolla, NC 27927
252-453-4663
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Join us for our second year in Corolla, NC. We serve fresh seafood and...
Join us for our second year in Corolla, NC. We serve fresh seafood and also offer a full menu served in a fun, family friendly atmosphere. We offer a separate bar area with 3 TV's. Join our happy staff for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Look forward to seeing you soon.
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Bar scene
Local cuisine

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 203 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 75
    Excellent
  • 45
    Very good
  • 29
    Average
  • 30
    Poor
  • 24
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Can't wait to go back!!!

We unexpectedly found this place after a 12 hour drive and a 3 hour wait to check into our rental house. We had a group of about 8. The food was great and so was the service. The guys in our group are all ready planning to return on our visit next spring for the amazing muscles.

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 22, 2015
beckab2003
,
Dayton, Ohio
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Bar scene
  • Local cuisine
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We unexpectedly found this place after a 12 hour drive and a 3 hour wait to check into our rental house. We had a group of about 8. The food was great and so was the service. The guys in our group are all ready planning to return on our visit next spring for the amazing muscles.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We never tried the food, we left before we could, but the atmosphere and service was not good. When we first walked in, the place smelled like a bait store. We were seated at a dirty sticky table and the music playing was awful. It was very loud Spanish type rap music. They were not at all busy (only 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jondon07, Owner at Sun Fish Grill, responded to this review

It seems you were either at another restaurant or you may work for another restaurant. There are several things I disagree with you and your review. First is the smell. We recently received a 99.5 out of 100 on our health inspection. Our restaurant does not smell. We do not and never have played rap or spanish type music. Our... More 

Morrow, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

During the week of Sept. 15 we were looking for a restaurant to try in Corolla North Carolina. We came across the Sun Fish Grill and it was excellent! We've stayed in Corolla 7 times and we've never noticed this restaurant before - it's hidden above an Everything for the Beach Store! There is a wide variety of food choices,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jondon07, Owner at Sun Fish Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you found us. We are the largest restaurant in Corolla and sometimes we are still hard to find. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Corolla. See you next year. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Food was very good and fresh. We were headed to another restaurant but the wait ended up being too long for our 11 month old. So we headed to the sun fish. Very pleasently surprised.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jondon07, Owner at Sun Fish Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. There are many great restaurants in Corolla. We are the largest restaurant in Corolla so we may not have a wait when others do. We love small parties, kids and large parties. Look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Corolla. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We stopped here to eat lunch at 2 pm. There were only 3 other tables in the restaurant. We ordered soup which took 20 minutes to come out, and when we got it, it was cold and in a very tiny cup. Our waitress did not come back to fill our drinks which were both empty until 10 minutes later... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jondon07, Owner at Sun Fish Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry you had a bad experience with our waitstaff. Most of our employees are students. They go back to school in late August early September. It seems you may have had a server in training. I will make sure they are better trained next year. Hope to see you when you make... More 

Lyndhurst
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

After a substantial wait (which we expected), we were seated in a very high-traffic area. Our chairs were bumped by both waitstaff and other patrons throughout the meal. Our waitress got our drinks wrong, and failed to mention beer specials that would have saved us money. We later saw them posted on the bar and had to ask, but alas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

While shopping in this little plaza,we figured out we were hungry and the Sun Fish Grill caught our eye. Boy we're we glad we went in. After being welcomed and seated, our waitress, Jessica, came over. She was a total delight! We had great drinks, I had a fabulous crab salad and Matt had the delicious lobster roll. We skipped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

For $75 we got a couple of drinks, mediocre mussels, tasteless crab salad and the worlds smallest, most overpriced and tasteless lobster roll. Keep driving there is something better down the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jondon07, Owner at Sun Fish Grill, responded to this review

One thing about tripadvisor is people can see all reviews. Good and bad. We spend a lot of time cooking and not monitoring websites. We will try and improve the things people complain about and continue to do the things people love. Our mussels are one and a half pounds served in a wine and garlic sauce with butter and... More 

Madison
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Fun, casual, no frills restaurant with affordable and fresh seafood. We enjoyed a pound of mussels - all were perfect! Then a pound of peel and eat shrimp and a pound of crab. Excellent! We topped it all off with chocolate cake and key lime pie. Yummy. Jessica (from Sweden via San Francisco) was our wonderful server. Only drawback is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Our 86 year old mother and us 5 sisters were in Corolla for 5 nights. Had a delicious dinner at Sun Fish Grill one evening! Jessica was so sweet and friendly! We were celebrating our one sisters 5 1st birthday. She brought her a piece of chocolate cake w/ strawberries, and they sang happy birthday!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Sun Fish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sun Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 813 Ocean Trl, Monteray Shopping Plaza, Corolla, NC 27927
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Outer Banks  >  Corolla
  • Phone Number: 252-453-4663

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 15
  • Cuisine: Grill

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine

Description

Join us for our second year in Corolla, NC. We serve fresh seafood and also offer a full menu served in a fun, family friendly atmosphere. We offer a separate bar area with 3 TV's. Join our happy staff for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Look forward to seeing you soon.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sun Fish Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?