We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 64 Carolina Beach Restaurants

Deck House

205 Charlotte Ave, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5121
910-458-1026
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Hours:
Sun 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tue - Thu 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We serve some of the most delicious and fresh seafood and handcut steaks around. Come in to try one of our great wines or cocktails and if you are unsure of what to get a friend or family for a gift, our Gift Certificates will always make people happy! We do not accept reservations, however we do have a spacious full service bar for you to wait in if a table is not available right away.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    70
    25
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morganton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 NEW

The clam chowder more like potato gravy. The crab cakes were full of filler not crab. The broiled seafood platter was more steamed than broiled. The restaurant is very noisy. One of our group said their steak was good. Don't go for the seafood!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 NEW via mobile

This was our 2nd time eating at Deck House and the food and service was excellent both times. The hostess greeted us with a smile. Our waitress Sheila was excellent!. Very friendly and attentive. Had the lobster ravioli and it was yummy! Will definitely go back again on our next trip to the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful meal at the Deck House with three other couples. The daily specials were all very good and reasonably priced for seafood. Several ordered the grilled seafood platter and the grouper special with crab meat and lobster sauce. Yumm!! Our server was very attentive and friendly. Our only negative of the evening was that there was not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

This is by far one of the best seafood restaurants I have ever eaten at. From the starting lineup of Manhattan clam chowder to the seafood platter and some of the friendliest service(thank you Shelia!) who could ask for more? What a great reward for driving 6 hours from Hendersonville N.C. You have my vote and continued support! Management BEWARE,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grandy, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Such a great place. the Prime rib was awesome and the service was friendly and good. The restaurant appeared clean. I belive it is an old church converted to a restaurant. The prices were average for the area however the appetizer we choose was very small and not really worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We used to live in the area and would go to the Deck House for special occasions as it is pricey. We were meeting family visiting the area and were happy to try it again after probably 8 years. We arrived before our dining companions and the hostess would not seat us until the whole party had arrived. I understand... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Family went tonight and we were all disappointed in our service, long waits for everything, filets were not fit for human consumption, salad dressing taste like Krafts. Then realizing the food was off they did offer a free desert however waitress came back later to say all out of deserts of our choice and offered strawberry cheesecake and coconut cake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had a bad experience at our restaurant. We always get great compliments on our food and service. We only apply auto gratuity to parties of six or more so I am a bit confused if your party was only 5. Our servers would prefer that we would not apply auto gratuity since they normally get tipped over... More

Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Because it is so close to the Marriott, it is worthwhile. Quality of food was good, service was just ok. Seafood chowder was good, not great. Prices were average. Really enjoyed the Almond Encrusted Salmon. Baby back ribs were good also. Would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Collinsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This restaurant is an old church that has been remodeled. Nice, dim lighted, quiet atmosphere. The service & food was excellent. The prices are excellent too. My husband had prime rib & said it was one of the best that he has had. I had lobster & it was excellent too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
wilmington nc
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Where do I begin? The rude hostess? The sitting at the first table 20 minutes before we had to get up and leave and move to another area to get "attention"? Was my mothers 66th birthday, and we wanted to treat her to a nice evening out. We chose Deck House due to the location being close to her home,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had to wait to get seated, we are a very popular restaurant and we do get busy. Our staff can get overwhelmed sometimes and I am sorry if you received poor service. We only offer service at the bar and not the surrounding tables. Our host are all college age women who excel in the classroom and... More

Travelers who viewed Deck House also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Deck House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing