We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Deck House

205 Charlotte Ave, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5121
910-458-1026
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We serve some of the most delicious and fresh seafood and handcut steaks around. Come in to try one of our great wines or cocktails and if you are unsure of what to get a friend or family for a gift, our Gift Certificates will always make people happy! We do not accept reservations, however we do have a spacious full service bar for you to wait in if a table is not available right away.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    104
    63
    22
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carlolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 NEW

My wife and I have been going to Carolina Beach for the last 15 years and for some reason had never been to the Deck House. This year we wanted to change it up a little so we walked over from the hotel and were very pleased. I had the ribeye and chowder and my wife had the ribs. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Want variety for a menu..then the DeckHouse is your answer. Everything to GREAT...service is good and the drinks rock...can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The best food on Carolina Beach. Beautiful atmosphere, great people. The almond grouper and prime rib are excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review

beach g, Thank you very much for you're review. It's our pleasure to take care of our guests. We do our best to get everything right for them. We do hope you will come back again and visit, we would love to have you! Thank you and enjoy the rest of your summer! Victoria B., General Manager More

Concord, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We ate there last summer and for 3 of us our bill was almost $150! Food is only ok but it is WAY overpriced....service was ok. Seems like it's worse now! We will definitely not go back when we visit next month.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review

tammyshaw, Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Deck House. I am very sad to hear that you felt your service was not up to our standards, I always like to know what we can improve on. We encourage you ask for a Manager if there is ever a problem or you feel you are not being well taken... More

Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I'm a local, and a regular at the Deck House for MANY years...through many changes in management--both good and bad. Currently, they have the worst manager in their history--actually chasing away both regular customers and long time employees. If it weren't for the excellent kitchen staff and the continued good entrees--I would not even give the one star rating. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review

Charlie A, Since your qualms seem to echo that of the poster below you, unfortunately I will not be able to change your mind. And since I stand behind all my decisions, and so do my bosses, I will not be apologizing for them. The sold out Murder Mystery Dinners, The "Local's Night" with 1/2 Price Appetizers and 1/2 Price... More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have been dining here for the past 10+ years. When we arrived this June, we noticed that almost all of the familiar faces are gone. We asked a bartender, "Where is Megan, and Lindsey and where are the GREAT desserts you used to offer???" We could tell he was hesitant to offer an honest opinion. But, gladly, we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review

Linda S, Thank you very much for your review of The Deck House, though from what you have written, it seems that you did not even stay for dinner. With that being said, how can you claim we are 'not what it used to be' when you didn't even stay and hadn't been here for almost a year? You didn't... More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We recently moved nearby and have visited the Deck House frequently. Have had nice meals and good experiences overall. Nice bar in back where you can order appetizers and chill out. Great "off-season" prices on select items if you are down that way other than summer. We will definitely eat there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review

Thank you Greg G, for taking some time to write about dinner with us at The Deck House. First off, welcome to our little corner of heaven! Now that you have moved close, you get to take advantage of those off-season specials we run after Labor Day! Please make sure to friend us on facebook so you can get our... More

High Point, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We came with friends to this charming restaurant within an old church. The decor was lovely, parking was good and a convenient location, too. We found the service pleasant but not exceptional. The food was the same: good but not worth the high prices charged. We had a question for the manager who was very unkind and rude. It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review

NanTheVelvetBranch1, Thank you for your thoughts and review of our restaurant. I'm so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We try our best to make our service and product exceptional, and I am very sorry to hear that we failed you. As for the rudeness, I am so sorry that you experienced that here!... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Went with friends five total and a small child. Was charged a 18% gratuity and when I asked the manager about it he said well there are six of you. We did not even order a meal for him. Then he said what do you want to pay 10% that's ridiculous In a very sarcastic and mean tone What a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review

2oothguy, thank you very much for affording me the opportunity to explain to the public that this scenario that you described above, was actually not at all how it unfolded. It is our house policy, as stated publicly at the top of every menu page, that all parties of 6 or more will be charged an automatic 18% gratuity. Your... More

Morgantown, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Decent food. Just don't think that it was great. Super nice waitress. Will give it one more try. Hoping for a better meal next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review

CJS1958, Thank you very much for leaving us a review. We take everything we can from our reviews to make sure we are doing the right thing by our guests. I am very sorry to hear that you only had a decent meal here. We strive for much more than that. As I am not sure what exactly went wrong,... More

Travelers who viewed Deck House also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Deck House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deck House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing