We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Diamond Shoals

46843 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
+1 252-995-5217
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 20 restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Steakhouse
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    92
    73
    31
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 NEW

I passed through Buxton as part of a return trip from Morehead City last Wednesday. (A word of advice, NEVER go that way. The ferry, particularly from Ocracoke to Hatteras took way too long to get on. Take the land route.) I arrived at about 9 at night, and they were still open. I ordered the mates platter which consisted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

Had the regular breakfast and it was just fairly regular. Coffee was ok. Hard to get a refill. Wouldn't be overly inspired by it. Was going to have lunch there but decided against it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hayward, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

It may not be fair to judge a restaurant by its takeout dinner, but we were sorely disappointed at Diamond Shoals. The hostess said our order would be ready in about 15 minutes, probably quicker than we could be seated and served. It took 25 minutes. We were staying very close, so the dinner was on the table in our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were disappointing by the Mahi Mahi and Flounder. In the future, call us and let us know if it's isn't cooked to your liking. I know it's a little inconvenient, but we always want you to have a great meal from us! Take care, Keith Gray, Owner More

Troutville, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stopped here for lunch right after they stopped serving breakfast so the wait for our food was long, but we had 7 adults and 4 kids, so getting seated and served drinks fast helped! There was plenty on the menu for the kids, fish lovers, and even burgers or chicken. Try the sweet potato fries-awesome! Glad we stopped!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review

Glad to hear all 7 adults and 4 kids found something awesome! Thanks so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed lunch here. Hope to see you again soon, Keith Gray, Owner More

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Ate here a few times this week. Good menu of fish, with other options. Wait staff generally good - try and get Katie. French fries a little over salted, but the blackened spice is delicious. Try the blackened Mahi - beautiful. They also give you hush puppies to start. Would visit again, but closes around 9.30.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review

We couldn't think of a better compliment than "nice, fresh, and tasty," Mike. Happy you enjoyed a few meals here. In the future, if the fries aren't salted to your like, let us know so we can take care of them! All the best, Keith Gray, Owner More

Shenandoah, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our family has been eating at Diamond Shoals once / twice a year for over 30 years now. We have always enjoyed the breakfast and dinners. We ate there again this week for dinner and while it is nice to return to a place that now feels like home when we are in the area I will say that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review

It's been great seeing you and your family over the last 30 years and I'm sorry to hear your last visit wasn't up to par! You know we're capable of much better. Next time you're in, if everything isn't perfect, let me know so I can take care of it. Rest assured,we're still the place you know and love. All... More

Princeton, NJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

So - I am allergic to some fish and shellfish. I will start off by saying that because it automatically makes my review biased. This is a seafood restaurant, after all. I had the chicken tenders which were actually quite good, but the baked potato was hard and the green beans were soggy. The salad bar was not bad, although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review

Even though I'm happy you enjoyed the chicken tenders, I'm sorry to hear the sides weren't up to par. Next time, let the waitress know and can take care of it in the moment. Hope to see you again soon! Keith Gray, Owner More

Circleville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We loved it here so much that we went 2 days in a row. We started with the spicy hot crab dip and WOW....perfect! The 1st night we shared the platter and the 2nd night we went with sushi. Both meals were just delicious. The service was great for how busy they always are. Not one thing to complain about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review

Perfect hot crab dip? We're blushing, Danette. Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed both your meals here. All the best, Keith Gray, Owner More

Brasher Falls, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The food was awesome and the prices were extremely fair. I had bay scallops and my husband had steak and Alaskan snow crab legs. The portions were plentiful and the waitress was attentive to all our needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review

Happy you found us! It's awesome to hear how much you and your husband enjoyed the scallops and crab. Can't wait to welcome you back! All the best, Keith Gray, Owner More

Ventnor, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Fresh salad bar, tasty seafood dishes thoroughly enjoyed. Seafood was moist, fresh, and prepared well. Great meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this review

We're all about fresh salad and tasty seafood! It's great to hear our efforts are appreciated. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review! All the best, Keith Gray, Owner More

Travelers who viewed Diamond Shoals also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Diamond Shoals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Shoals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing