We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nick's Restaurant and Pub

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
4501 Tynecastle Highway, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7257
(828) 898-9613
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Fri 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 71 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 27
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Great for Group

We loved the food. There was no leftovers! Great vacation stop. Our large group go to sit together. We enjoyed the ambiance.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 25, 2015
Emehta
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 NEW

We loved the food. There was no leftovers! Great vacation stop. Our large group go to sit together. We enjoyed the ambiance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

A group of us went and all the food was mediocre. I tried the catfish, but it was so overcooked and dry, like a piece of leather, I sent it back. The cook should have never sent it out in the first place! Then tried the fish and chips - a little bit better piece of fish but not by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicki T, Owner at Nick's Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

I apologize that your food was not to your liking. We sell a lot of catfish and fish and chips, and normally everyone is pleased. You are correct that the cook should not have sent it out if it was not prepared properly. If you were with a group, I'm hoping that everyone else was pleased with their meal. It... More 

POMPANO BEACH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Have eaten here several times on the way back from hiking. Food is delicious, drinks are reasonable, and service is friendly. Ambiance is pleasant, dark and cozy. This place is a winner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicki T, Owner at Nick's Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. People usually write a review when they are not happy. It's a pleasure when I get positive feedback. Thank you for your patronage. Vicki T. More 

Manchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Service was slow. It took a little while just to order our drinks. When waitress brought them out she also had plates of food for the table behind us in her hand and she actually had my strawberry daquiri under her arm...seriously. I had to take it out from under her arm. I started to say something but did not.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicki T, Owner at Nick's Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were not pleased with your meal. I wish you would have told someone, so that we could have remedied the situation. I'm confused about the drink under the servers arm. I don't understand that at all, and apologize for the lack of professionalism on her part. We strive to be consistent and to send out... More 

Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

We went there on a Friday night and it was very busy so the staff seemed very overworked. Once we got the food it was average

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicki T, Owner at Nick's Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Friday's are extremely busy here. There was a lot of things going on on Friday, which added to the frenzied servers and kitchen staff. I had a server not show up, and a cook walk out in the middle of the shift with no warning. I do apologize for this,... More 

Conover, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

We have eaten at Nicks several times. It in the corner of Tyne Castle Shops. Their is some outside seating. Upon entering you are in the bar. Just a typical bar, has some games, It is very dark in there but I will say the food is good and the waitstaff has always been pleasant!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicki T, Owner at Nick's Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You must have come in thru the bar entrance. We do have another front entrance into the restaurant. It is brighter on the restaurant side, but usually on the bar side the lights are dimmed lower. I'm pleased that your meal was good and you had good service. Hope you... More 

Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

nice people, good location, decent atmosphere. I'd eat here again. Video games to relieve the kids of money while waiting for your food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicki T, Owner at Nick's Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate that you said positive things about Nick's. We try really hard to give good service, and a casual relaxed dining experience. Hope to see you again in the near future. Have a good week. Vicki T More 

Banner Elk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Food and service is always good for lunch or dinner. Favorite place for locals. Karaoke night always busy on Friday night. Restaurant could definitely use updating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicki T, Owner at Nick's Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We try very hard to give good service and good food, and appreciate your input. I only wish I could update the restaurant. I don't own the building, I am trying to work a deal with the landlord to renovate the entire restaurant. It wouldn't be until after the summer.... More 

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
323 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

one of the worst dining experiences in my life. had dinner on 6/19/15. dining room must have been 90 degrees, waitress was pretty close to miserable and it took almost two hours to get our food. strangely, the food wasnt bad, but who cares by that point? we were just happy to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicki T, Owner at Nick's Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

I apologize for Friday night. There is no excuse for the long wait, but had a cook walk out in the middle of his shift, and it put us behind the entire evening. Tried to get someone else to come in, but by the time they called me, I couldn't find anyone else. All day and night Friday was crazy... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015 via mobile

Never again and will post of Facebook how terrible this place was and no hygiene or management either and vary dirty even the floors are nasty and moldy and the cooks don't use gloves which is even worse Heath dept argent needs to be caked on these people

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicki T, Owner at Nick's Restaurant and Pub, responded to this review

I'm sorry your experience at Nick's wasn't a good one. My floors are cleaned every day and there is no mold in my restaurant. The cooks wear gloves when necessary. You didn't remark about the service or the food, so I am thinking you were okay with that. I apologize that you were not happy. Enjoy your weekend. More 

Travelers who viewed Nick's Restaurant and Pub also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Nick's Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Restaurant and Pub

Address: 4501 Tynecastle Highway, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7257
Phone Number: (828) 898-9613
Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Smoky Mountains  >  Banner Elk
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Cuisine: American, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 4501 Tynecastle Highway, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7257
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Smoky Mountains  >  Banner Elk
  • Phone Number: (828) 898-9613

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: American, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nick's Restaurant and Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?