We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Finlay's Fish BBQ

24 Magee Crescent, Kalbarri, Western Australia, Australia
61 8 99371260
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 13 restaurants in Kalbarri
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

39% Recommend
    16
    25
    19
    16
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

Really enjoyed a meal here while staying in Kalbarri on holiday in July. The place is great: we were sat by a gorgeous open fire, benches and fairy lights in the trees. A really unique and magical setting. The place is really relaxed (order at the bar and they call your number out to collect). We brought our own wine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, Your support is appreciated. We hope to see you again. More

Kalbarri, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Went to a friends 60th birthday here, what a great venue for a party. Great atmosphere, great food catered for about sixty people, byo drinks, had fires going, had music to have a dance. Wonderful night thanks to Di and Woz.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, Your support is valued. More

Perth, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

After an 8 km gorge walk, we really worked up a taste for a treat, so on a recommendation we came here, full of hope and hunger. Disappointment doesn't adequately describe our experience at Finlay's. It was more like horror. Horrific prices.. Horrific food.. And an hour and a half wait. $45 for a piece of grilled fish that was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

Yes, I remember you well. The "stoned look" was probably in response to your odd and disturbing way you conducted yourself from the minute you arrived. As for the $45 for a piece of fish.....Well that proves your full of it. There is no $45 piece of fish on our menu. There is no request to wipe your own tables.... More

Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We thought we were in for a real treat when we walked in: great rustic atmosphere with fairy lights, and oodles of quintessential Aussie-ness.... But alas! The food! The service! Finlay's is NOT cheap, so we expected mouth-wateringly fresh fish. Sadly, the fish was "OK", and the salad bar consisted of some canned pineapple and beetroot, mushy coleslaw and big... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

Well a chunky salad is well......chunky. As for the Pineapple & Beetroot....Maybe you expected it in a bottle?? The signs ask you to throw your paper plates in the bin and place your cutlery in the tubs provided.....No cleaning.. This is all part of the BBQ atmosphere, This was unfortunately not for you. Thank you for your patronage though. More

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Tho place is all about the experience - you are attending a BBQ and so maybe the food isn't gourmet. But it's a great night, we had nice food (great fish served here BBQ style). We then sat round the fire listening to lovely live music, people were toasting marshmallows and generally a lovely feel. I'll remember this place fondly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

Thanx, Hope to see you back. More

Fremantle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

we had read positive reviews, but found the place empty, and overpriced for the menu on offer. we went here on our first night hoping for a super tasty fish bbq, my meal was red spotted emperor which was essentially tasteless, the prawns my husband had we disintegrating (from being pre frozen?) and of course salad bar had the two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

The fresh fish such as the emperor that you mention costs us more to purchase regularly to ensure freshness and is usually reflected by the fresh taste and superior quality. We do offer cheaper fish and chip shop style food for the budget oriented. We do not have a salad chef, as we are offering a BBQ style atmosphere we... More

Kalbarri, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

10 of us recently went out for a very casual family/friends get together and had a really good night at Finlay's. Funnily enough, half had the fish and half had the scotch fillet (yes, we know it's a fish bbq place) and all meals were great, The place is really cleaned up since we were there last and the open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

Thanks for your input, The improvements will keep coming. Your support is appreciated. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We were skeptical going to this place because of the bad reviews. Good thing we gave it a try and enjoyed a very unique dining experience...and not to mention a happy tummy :) Value for money. Friendly staff (Don't be shy to talk to them about the area). Interesting things scattered throughout the establishment. E. N. J. O. Y.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your support. More

Geraldton, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

What an extreme disappointment never ever have I been so ripped off had my pants pulled over my eyes and feed crap not only rubbish and uncleaned crazy but mc Cain crinkle cut chips please stay well away there was no comment from the chef and wait staff embarrassed to tell us that the chef couldn't give a hoot Keep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Came here based on a friends recommendation. Who had been 2 years previous. Said the food wad good and Gary the owner is a right character. Unfortunately we found out he has now left and gone with him regretfully has also the quality of fish and cooking. One good part of the meal was the shell on bbq prawns. Apart... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Finlay's Fish BBQ also viewed

Kalbarri, Western Australia
Kalbarri, Western Australia
 
Kalbarri, Western Australia
Kalbarri, Western Australia
 

Been to Finlay's Fish BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finlay's Fish BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing