We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Finlay's Fish BBQ

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
24 Magee Crescent, Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park, Western Australia 6536, Australia
+61 8 9937 1260
Website
Add hours for Finlay's Fish BBQ and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Rustic setting with quality food with no bells and whistles, Honest food...
Rustic setting with quality food with no bells and whistles, Honest food for Honest people.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 142 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 36
    Excellent
  • 35
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 33
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Not that good

We went to Findlay's for dinner but unfortunately the meal was not the best, fish was greasy and chips looked old and over cooked, would not go back again, sorry.

2 of 5 starsReviewed June 18, 2015
Jill V
via mobile
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Dining on a budget
  • Large groups
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Loved the shack...lots to see, and a special wall for ex-service personnel to sign, as we both did. The food was great, the ambience better!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015 via mobile

I have been looking at your reviews and responses The reason for this site is for people's honest opinions I don't think any reviews were rude, whether they were good or bad. However I think your responses are quite distasteful and immaturely petty. If someone doesn't have something to promote positive for your business, you respond as if they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

You are entitled to your opinion, As I am sure you are aware this site is to reveiw an establishment not to air your opinions. I believe trip adviser to be a very inaccurate measure to judge any establishment by and like you a bit of a joke. If there is a serious complaint people should bring it to my... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile

We went to Findlay's for dinner but unfortunately the meal was not the best, fish was greasy and chips looked old and over cooked, would not go back again, sorry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

Sorry to here that you didn't enjoy, If your fish was deep fried then it may have been a little oily as this is cooked in OIL, or maybe it was surfs up, with the garlic butter, Who knows as you have given minimal information and did not bring it to our attention at the time. Our chips are premium... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

We had a great dinner with friends at Finlay's Fish BBQ tonight. The restaurant is filled with all sorts of memorabilia from years gone by. The food was very good value for money on average $15.00 per head. The open fire added a nice atmosphere which we all ended up sitting around after our meal. We met some very nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

A true pleasure to have honest patrons enjoy our rustic offerings and honest food. Thank you.. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Went here about 8 years ago heaps of times and loved it. The food was awesome and fresh and reasonably priced and the atmosphere was fantastic. I couldn't wait to go back this trip but it was such a disappointment. We were there with a handful of others there and no atmosphere. The food was nothing special although I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you for revisiting our establishment after such a long time, We have recently had a lot of return people from many years ago. However most are pleased and leave happy, As they unlike you had enough sense to be aware that many things have changed over that period of time... In recent years our fishing industries have... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Had a fun night. Very friendly staff. Interesting story about how the place started. Lots of memorabilia and very fresh food. Not cheap for fish and chips but lots more interesting. Open fire was nice to sit by.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

Thank you so much. More 

Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We went here for dinner and were very disappointed in the food and the service. Extremely overpriced for fish and chips which aren't anything special. The squid looked like it came out of a packet, the chips were very average and our order came out wrong. The salad bar was less than fresh. All meals were served on paper plates... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

Yes you are right we only prepare our salads once a day.....How dare we, Yes plates are paper as it is a BBQ setting, We don't take reservations so you can chuck your plates in the bins provided and continue at your own pace at your table or around the fire....We don't wait on you but rather leave you to... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

The quality of seafood was great and the servings were large. The Salads were fresh and there was enough variety. The staff were friendly and I would go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

Cool ,hope to see you again. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Used to be good value for money! 2 pieces of Red emperor and a dozen chips for $35 each . You can get $10 fish and chips on the street and sit on the beach. Boo - so disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

2 pieces for $35 you got a bargain.......The fresh fish meals come with 1 fillet a generous amount of chips...actually so many people comment that there are to many chips....choice of sauces, cutlery and the salad bar. You get seating , Music, Open fire but you obviously want quality for budget pricing. The days of cheap fresh seafood in this... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

This place is worth a visit just for the surroundings and atmosphere but worth staying for the food. Quite unique and certainly the most memorable we went to during our holiday. The food was great and certainly not unreasonably priced. Able to help yourself to salad which was a nice change - it meant you could have exactly what you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne G, Public Relations Manager at Finlay's Fish BBQ, responded to this review

You make it all worth while, Please send like minded people as you were a pleasure to have. More 

Travelers who viewed Finlay's Fish BBQ also viewed

Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
 
Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
 

Been to Finlay's Fish BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay's Fish BBQ

Address: 24 Magee Crescent, Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park, Western Australia 6536, Australia
Phone Number: +61 8 9937 1260
Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Western Australia  >  Kalbarri National Park  >  Kalbarri
Average Prices: USD 11 - 71
Cuisine: Seafood, Barbecue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 24 Magee Crescent, Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park, Western Australia 6536, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Western Australia  >  Kalbarri National Park  >  Kalbarri
  • Phone Number: +61 8 9937 1260

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 71
  • Cuisine: Seafood, Barbecue

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine

Description

Rustic setting with quality food with no bells and whistles, Honest food for Honest people.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Finlay's Fish BBQ staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?