We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grinnell's Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1696 Monroe Ave, Rochester, NY 14618-1417
+1 585-244-3710
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Thu 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Since the 60's, Grinnell's restaurant has been a staple in Rochester. We...
Since the 60's, Grinnell's restaurant has been a staple in Rochester. We take pride in our tried and tested cuisine, and our chefs are experts in their craft. As a family own business, we know how treat guests, and only accept the highest standards of service from our staff. A dining experience at Grinnell's is a stress free environment, where delicious cuisine, friendly staff and storied history all serve as a backdrop for you to create memories.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 65 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 40
    Excellent
  • 14
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Consistently great

We have gone to this restaurant many times and the food and service is consistently great. Staff go out of their way to provide great service and with attention to every detail. The dry aged beef is especially good and of excellent quality. The drinks are cold and the price fair!

5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago
kathy7301
,
Rochester, New York
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We have gone to this restaurant many times and the food and service is consistently great. Staff go out of their way to provide great service and with attention to every detail. The dry aged beef is especially good and of excellent quality. The drinks are cold and the price fair!

Helpful?
Thank kathy7301
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
227 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place reminded me of the classic New York City chop houses. While they seem to specialize in chops, steaks and prime rib, there are many other options on the menu. The waitstaff is attentive, the owner came by several times to see if we were happy, everyone in our party of 7 loved the meal and the atmosphere is... More 

Helpful?
Thank NWRob
Matt G, Owner at Grinnell's Restaurant, responded to this review

It's true -- this restaurant is our pride and joy, and we're so happy it shows! Thank you for the wonderful review, Rob. It's great to hear that you're a fan of our food, service, and atmosphere. We couldn't ask for more. Be sure to visit us again soon. All the best, Dave & Matt - Owners More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of our favorite places for birthdays and anniversaries. The valet parking (required) is good and friendly. Wonderful service, pleasant atmosphere, and outstanding menu. We are never disappointed and leave saying "We need to come here more often!"

Helpful?
Thank Ken S
Matt G, Owner at Grinnell's Restaurant, responded to this review

Ken, it's so great to see you're a fan! Thanks so much for letting us know. Now, we look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best, Dave & Matt - Owners More 

Webster, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time visit. Went for the prime rib which was properly prepared to order and very tasty. Pleasantly surprised by Two Hearted Ale on tap, one of our favorites. Ambiance is comfortable and cozy. Background music just loud enough to mask conversations from neighboring tables. Service was timely and unobtrusive. The only thing to find any fault with was the... More 

Helpful?
Thank BHM7248
Matt G, Owner at Grinnell's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for giving us a shot -- it sure was wonderful to have you over! From the vibe, to our brews, to your meal, we're delighted to know you enjoyed it all. Sorry about your water, but please know that your comments will not go unnoticed. Your satisfaction is our number one priority, and we sure hope we'll be welcoming... More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Every item on the menu is prepared very well, presented by excellent staff. If you are seeking a safe bet with a menu of familiar items simply and classically prepared. No pretense here...a spotless restaurant facility, flawless and attentive services, well crafted drinks, highest quality food products at very fair prices AND an atmosphere that actually allows for conversation at... More 

Helpful?
Thank RocKibitzer
Matt G, Owner at Grinnell's Restaurant, responded to this review

Flawless service with food you loved just as much? If that's not a compliment, then we don't know what is. Truly, your kind words on each aspect means the world to us, and we hope you'll make it back for another bite to eat soon! Best wishes, Dave & Matt - Owners More 

Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

We decided to go with friends for dinner. One of our friends loves Liver and this is the special for Tuesday. Upon entering, we were fortunately able to get a seat at the bar for a cocktail before dinner, but within minutes, it was packed. For dinner we had Liver, Broiled Shrimp, Chicken Marsala and Sea Bass. We were all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
Matt G, Owner at Grinnell's Restaurant, responded to this review

Barbara, thank you for allowing us to be a part of a special evening between you and your friends! We're also glad to see that you beat the rush and were able to order some of our best options. We hope to have you back. All the best, Dave & Matt - Owners More 

Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

It was worth the drive from Guelph (near Toronto)! When dining out we appreciate a warm welcome, pleasant surroundings, the chance for quiet conversation with all the family, attentive service, and an adequate choice of excellent food ranging from scallops to sumptuous steaks. And the delicious cheesecake desserts (courtesy of the restaurant) for the two birthday boys! Some of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank heatherpmk
Matt G, Owner at Grinnell's Restaurant, responded to this review

So happy to hear that we could be a part of such a special occasion. Receiving guests from such a distance really makes all the time and effort we put into our dishes and dining experience very much worth it. Looking forward to your next visit, Dave & Matt - Owners More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

Not sure who the guy is that went for the tenderloin tips and "fish that is bad as well" but this guy either did not eat here, was looking for a 2 for 1 coupon (cheap), was hammered or doesn't know good food and service. I do not know the owners but have come here religiously for over 20 years... More 

Helpful?
Thank jerry s
Matt G, Owner at Grinnell's Restaurant, responded to this review

Jerry, it's always great to hear from our guests. We try to take into account every review so that we may grow to be the best restaurant we can be. We're so grateful to have been a staple in your life for so many years -- that's very special to us. We'll keep serving up the quality that you are... More 

Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

Bad food. Don't go. The London Broil special was awful. Was not London Broil. Actually just the non-marinated, gristly end of steaks that was discarded. Have had bad fish there as well.

Helpful?
Thank travelerdoc59
Matt G, Owner at Grinnell's Restaurant, responded to this review

We can assure you that our London Broil is, in fact, a London Broil. We pride ourselves on having great steak and cooking it to meet the expectations of our customers. It's very surprising to hear this, as we always use fresh ingredients of the highest quality. It is possible you caught us on a bad night. We would love... More 

Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

Not a bad thing to say about this restaurant. Food was excellent. I had tenderloin tips Diane, my wife had lamb chops. Service was professional and well done. For two of us with one glass of wine each and no dessert or coffee. It came to $109. This seemed expensive to me.

Helpful?
Thank deaconiupup
Matt G, Owner at Grinnell's Restaurant, responded to this review

It's our highest priority to serve our guests up a great meal in a great atmosphere, and we're very grateful for the opportunity to be a part of you and your wife's evening. Until next time, Dave & Matt - Owners More 

Travelers who viewed Grinnell's Restaurant also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Grinnell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1696 Monroe Ave, Rochester, NY 14618-1417
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Finger Lakes  >  Rochester
  • Phone Number: +1 585-244-3710

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 20 - 25
  • Cuisine: American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Description

Since the 60's, Grinnell's restaurant has been a staple in Rochester. We take pride in our tried and tested cuisine, and our chefs are experts in their craft. As a family own business, we know how treat guests, and only accept the highest standards of service from our staff. A dining experience at Grinnell's is a stress free environment, where delicious cuisine, friendly staff and storied history all serve as a backdrop for you to create memories.
Open Hours
Sunday
4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Grinnell's Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Grinnell's Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?