We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sweet Potatoes

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
393 North Avenue, New Rochelle, NY 10801
914-654-0500
Website
Add hours for Sweet Potatoes and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Good for:
Families with children

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 16 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 5
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Good Food

We order take out every so often on Saturdays for dinner. The food has always been good and seasoned well. The portions are decent but the prices are a little high for take out. If you can call your order in it will save you time. Placing at the resturant requires a rather long wait as food is... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 4, 2015
NYNYLOVESTHESUN
,
NEW YORK
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Breakfast/Brunch
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We order take out every so often on Saturdays for dinner. The food has always been good and seasoned well. The portions are decent but the prices are a little high for take out. If you can call your order in it will save you time. Placing at the resturant requires a rather long wait as food is cooked to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yonkers, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Totally disappointed. The fish dinner we ordered to go was so over-fried that we could not eat it. I telephoned the rest and informed them I was bringing the fish back. When I brought the fish back I decided not to try the fish at all instead I asked for chicken. The chicken was refried dry and greasy. KFC would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Frustrated that these resturants have posted hours the continue to not be adhered to. Tourist relay of posted info at location and online. No consistency. Disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetPotatoes R, Public Relations Manager at Sweet Potatoes, responded to this review

Hi Mrs Jones, We sincerely apologize that we were closed during your visit to the area. Please note, as posted on our site in the special events section, we are closed on Mondays. Our hours of operation are Tuesdays to Friday from 12-9 and Sundays from 12-6. On rare occasions we may have to modify our hours due to unforeseen... More 

Greenwich, CT
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I thought the good was pretty good except the crab cakes as they were burnt and I could taste the oil that needed changing. The dessert was ok nothing to write home about. But the customer service killed it for me. They were rude and unprofessional, which is just as important to me as good food if not more. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Key West, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I help to run a restaurant in the Key West, and have a website for tourists visiting there as well (www.freshwaterdavekeywest.com) as well. My philosophy towards the critiquing of restaurants is that NOT telling the truth does not help the establishment--you can't fix what you don't know about--and Sweet Potatoes has very little to fix. Co-Owner Chad Cooper was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The chicken, catfish and mac cheese was absolutely delicious, but the peach cobbler was not cooked and the dough tasted bland. I cant believe they cant make good peach cobbler which is such an easy dish. Aslo, the red velvet cupcake was not tasty - they need to change the batter on both items.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Came here unexpectedly and was pleasantly surprised! Big portions that you can share at home. The bbq beef was AMAZING!!!!! The fried fish was fried perfectly...only problem was it needed more seasoning and salt. It was very bland...but other than that every single thing was perfect! I would recommend this restaurant to everyone!!!!! The decor is very nice, but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The food here is "SLAP YO MAMA" good!!! Have been a couple of times in the past year and every time it's been fantastic!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westchester Cty, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have eaten here a few times in the past few years and love the food. The food quality is very high. The fried items taste light and are fried well - - you do not get that greasy oily taste that you can sometimes get with fried food. My favorite is the fried catfish. And the sweet potatoes are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bronx, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have been regular patrons since 2009 and we have witnessed the transformation of not only one small place to sit and enjoy a scrumptious meal of short ribs of beef, mac-n-chesse and collard greens (to name some of our favorites), to include the new addition "La Grande" just a few doors away. The sheer elegance of the room compliments... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Sweet Potatoes also viewed

New Rochelle, Westchester County
 
New Rochelle, Westchester County
New Rochelle, Westchester County
 

Been to Sweet Potatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 393 North Avenue, New Rochelle, NY 10801
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Westchester County  >  New Rochelle
  • Phone Number: 914-654-0500

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 12
  • Cuisine: American

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sweet Potatoes staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?