We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sweet Potatoes

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
393 North Avenue, New Rochelle, NY 10801
914-654-0500
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Sweet Potatoes and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 19 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 5
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Best for take-out or private party

The reviews on Yelp were a bit deceiving. The restaurant that's open to the public is a very small take-out storefront with 5 little tables around the door. They do a very good business. I was in town with my daughter and the Yelp review photos looked nice. Those pics were from their private... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 31, 2015
ndantonio
,
New York City, New York
Good for:
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

The reviews on Yelp were a bit deceiving. The restaurant that's open to the public is a very small take-out storefront with 5 little tables around the door. They do a very good business. I was in town with my daughter and the Yelp review photos looked nice. Those pics were from their private party room that is down the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 via mobile

My son and I went there for lunch the food was good but the service was crap we order our food we didn't get water or anything and this was after I told them we were staying. Then proceed to proceed bring our food out as If we were leaving. We had to ask for water 3 times till we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Ate here tonight with friends. I had the fried whiting dinner with sides of candied yams and potato salad. (My friends had whiting, fried chicken, bbq ribs, and sides of collards, rice, potato salad, and candied yams. They generally liked everything except the sides of rice and collard greens, which both required hot sauce to make them worth it to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We order take out every so often on Saturdays for dinner. The food has always been good and seasoned well. The portions are decent but the prices are a little high for take out. If you can call your order in it will save you time. Placing at the resturant requires a rather long wait as food is cooked to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Totally disappointed. The fish dinner we ordered to go was so over-fried that we could not eat it. I telephoned the rest and informed them I was bringing the fish back. When I brought the fish back I decided not to try the fish at all instead I asked for chicken. The chicken was refried dry and greasy. KFC would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Frustrated that these resturants have posted hours the continue to not be adhered to. Tourist relay of posted info at location and online. No consistency. Disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetPotatoes R, Public Relations Manager at Sweet Potatoes, responded to this review

Hi Mrs Jones, We sincerely apologize that we were closed during your visit to the area. Please note, as posted on our site in the special events section, we are closed on Mondays. Our hours of operation are Tuesdays to Friday from 12-9 and Sundays from 12-6. On rare occasions we may have to modify our hours due to unforeseen... More 

Greenwich, CT
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I thought the good was pretty good except the crab cakes as they were burnt and I could taste the oil that needed changing. The dessert was ok nothing to write home about. But the customer service killed it for me. They were rude and unprofessional, which is just as important to me as good food if not more. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I help to run a restaurant in the Key West, and have a website for tourists visiting there as well (www.freshwaterdavekeywest.com) as well. My philosophy towards the critiquing of restaurants is that NOT telling the truth does not help the establishment--you can't fix what you don't know about--and Sweet Potatoes has very little to fix. Co-Owner Chad Cooper was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The chicken, catfish and mac cheese was absolutely delicious, but the peach cobbler was not cooked and the dough tasted bland. I cant believe they cant make good peach cobbler which is such an easy dish. Aslo, the red velvet cupcake was not tasty - they need to change the batter on both items.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Came here unexpectedly and was pleasantly surprised! Big portions that you can share at home. The bbq beef was AMAZING!!!!! The fried fish was fried perfectly...only problem was it needed more seasoning and salt. It was very bland...but other than that every single thing was perfect! I would recommend this restaurant to everyone!!!!! The decor is very nice, but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Sweet Potatoes also viewed

New Rochelle, Westchester County
New Rochelle, Westchester County
 
New Rochelle, Westchester County
 

Been to Sweet Potatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 393 North Avenue, New Rochelle, NY 10801
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Westchester County  >  New Rochelle
  • Phone Number: 914-654-0500

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 12
  • Cuisine: American

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sweet Potatoes staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?