We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Epicurean Bistro & Wine Bar

579 Troy Schenectady Rd, Latham Farms, Latham, NY 12110-2806
518-786-8272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 114 restaurants in Latham
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Epicurean is an authentic French bistro, the only one in the Capital Region of New York. The Award-winning Executive Chef is from the south of France and one of the owners is French Canadian. Our food is classic French with a Mediterranean twist...Provencal or North African spicing. There are many classic menus items such as Escargot, Frogs Legs, Steak Tartare and Steak Frites. The ambiance is casual. We are a Wine Spectator Award-winning restaurant with a 2200 bottle wine cellar with a significant offering of French wines. Our wine bar has an extensive selection of beers and a full bar. Come and dine with us and experience not an eating, but a dining experience.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Epicurean is an authentic French bistro, the only one in the Capital Region of New York. The Award-winning Executive Chef is from the south of France and one of the owners is French Canadian. Our food is classic French with a Mediterranean twist...Provencal or North African spicing. There are many classic menus items such as Escargot, Frogs Legs, Steak Tartare and Steak Frites. The ambiance is casual. We are a Wine Spectator Award-winning restaurant with a 2200 bottle wine cellar with a significant offering of French wines. Our wine bar has an extensive selection of beers and a full bar. Come and dine with us and experience not an eating, but a dining experience.
Reserve with OpenTable
The Epicurean Bistro & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    24
    10
    10
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 NEW via mobile

I read through the reviews thinking I had a 50/50 shot of getting decent food and service but was pleasantly surprised to find most were really wrong. My daughter is a huge lover of all things French so as a special treat I took her there for lunch. She wanted the full French cuisine experience so we ordered the escargots,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albany, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My party of young professionals was asked almost immediately upon sitting down if we had a groupon - when we answered no, the response was "good" and the service just kept getting worse as the meal went on. Felt uncomfortable and had weird comments made throughout the meal. Food was fine, but definitely not worth the service. Have been to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Very French menu , fairly hi-end but a lovely place that makes you feel like you aren't really in a strip plaza. The bartender was very attentive. It was nice to see most diners actually dressed up to have dinner. We will definitely return

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
normnmarge, Owner at The Epicurean Bistro & Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thank you again for your very thoughtful comments. We are very French with an executive chef from the south of France, an owner from Montreal and a dining room captain from Morocco. We are two minutes from 2 exits off of the two major highways in the Capital Region. We have plenty of parking and we are surrounded by several... More

Troy, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Visit on May 10, 2014, 6pm. Sat at the bar with a friend and was attended to by a young woman who said she was substituting for the evening. She was quite sweet and professional, always smiling. My disappointment set in after ordering the Escargot appetizer. It arrived about 50 minutes later. The bartender was very apologetic and noticeably uncomfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
normnmarge, Owner at The Epicurean Bistro & Wine Bar, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry you did not like our escargot, one of our two top selling appetizers for the last four years. We also want to apologize for the time it took for you to be served, as apparently our oldest bartender/server was having an off night and did not communicate your order in a timely manner to the kitchen.... More

Queensbury, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I already can guess the response of the manager because I finally heard back from her on March 22 after emailing my concerns on March 5 following a disappointing birthday lunch for my mom. Both of us ordered the omelets with scallops. When the arrived, we each had what looked like one scallop cut into three very overcooked pieces. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
normnmarge, Owner at The Epicurean Bistro & Wine Bar, responded to this review

I am sorry that you decided to take the initial private conversation between the restaurateur (us) and the patron(you) online when you did not get what you wanted, even though you claim to have come to the restaurant several times, having very enjoyable dinners ! I also found it bewildering that you did not go online to discuss the wonderful... More

Latham, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I've been here a number of times and had some excellent dishes, such as the seafood sausage, and some just okay dishes. They have an excellent wine. Some wait staff are a little moody but the owners are nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
East Schodack, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have never been to the restaurant before and would likely not go back. I under stand its Valentines Day and often very busy. But when you're required to make a reservation for dinner and don't have things lined up its annoying. The service was very slow. The food was 50/50. And the prices were too high for the level... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Albany, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Since my last review was somewhat critical, I wanted to be fair and compliment the place for upgrading its service with hiring this new "star" waiter Andy. He brought in high class professionalism and experience that made my recent lunch visit outstanding. The food was tasty and nicely presented. And Andy finished the classy food in very elegant service "wrapping".... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guilderland, NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

They really know their stuff here. The bartender is well versed in the wines he is serving. The food selections are wonderful and the quality of the food is fabulous. Menu changes seasonally and I can't wait to go back for their fall menu!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catskill, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went here a month ago hoping to have the frogs legs. No more!!! Unfortunately, I had bought another Groupon hoping to go and pay extra for the frogs legs. Both times I went I have to say it was okay. I had the rabbit but I enjoy it better when it has bones. They did a breast. The next time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to The Epicurean Bistro & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Epicurean Bistro & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing