We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generations

2543 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
+1 518-837-5052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 97 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Generations is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu feature many foods that are grown and raised locally. Our goal is to keep it as local and fresh as possible, showcasing the many wonderful farms and products that are grown, raised and cultivated in New York's Adirondack region.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    57
    65
    43
    13
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thornwood, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW via mobile

My family and I went to the Generations restaurant for breakfast one morning and lunch another day. The service was very slow, but the food was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We tried to go have breakfast at Generations. When we first entered the restaurant were greeted by the host with "what can I do for you"? Who greets patrons that way in a restaurant. I wisely told the guy "you can get us a table and take our order for some breakfast, that's what you can do for me!" Then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GenerationsLP, Manager at Generations, responded to this review

Yikes! Not a good way to start the day. Let me apologize for the fact that you were never served. I am so very sorry that this happened. My host is very friendly and is genuinely happy to see people at the door. The usual "table for four" while probably more appropriate might start to get dull to say all... More

Putnam Valley, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

if ya stay at the golden arrow hotel, which is there locale, happy hour prices all day:) good breakfast and GREAT wings!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Went to a wedding reception in their banquet room. Highly recommend. The food was fantastic and the banquet room was beautiful. Perfect place for a reception.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riverhead, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Had a good lunch here, cheeseburgers and grilled cheeses, food was good and well cooked. Prices were high though, $67 for 4 people. Still, one of the best lunches we had on our trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brockport, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had dinner there and the food was good but the service was lacking. Our waitress didn't seem to know specifics of the menu items, or what beers were on tap. She didn't come around much either, and the restaurant was not busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Norval, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We loved our stay at Golden Arrow, however, our experience for breakfasts at the Generations were in line with the reviews of poor service on Trip Advisor. We found everyone pleasant, but were quite surprised the level of inattention to customers during quieter periods, with the level of staff in the restaurant. Understanding staff have various roles and responsibilities, does... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GenerationsLP, Manager at Generations, responded to this review

First let me apologize for your experience in the restaurant. During the week that you were visiting we had an influx of college students leave for school, and new staff taking their place. Unfortunately we were short staffed this day. Please keep in mind that we server virtually thousands of customers each year, and most of them we do not... More

Little Current, Ontario
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We ate here at lunch time. The service was disappointing. We watched as dirty tables sat there for the entire time that we were there without being cleared or cleaned. Our server seemed to forget we existed. The paper napkins had a stain in there from where the cutlery shielded it from the sun. There seemed to be no shortage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GenerationsLP, Manager at Generations, responded to this review

There is no excuse for inattentive service. Please in an instance such as this seek out the manager. We always have a manager on duty that would be happy to help in a situation like this, and welcome another chance to make things right. Best, Sara More

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We enjoyed our lunch so much on Tuesday, that we went back Wednesday. Ate outside. Love to watch all the activity. Not a lake view, though. But food was great!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Livonia, MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were given a recommendation to go here because they were good at working with larger parties (we had eight people). We were sat and watched as others around us got drinks and bread. We had to go seperate the waiter from flirting with the hostess in order to get bread. Most of the time our glasses were empty and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GenerationsLP, Manager at Generations, responded to this review

That definitely isn't the kind of service I expect from my staff, and I am very sorry for your experience. Please introduce yourself next time you are in town. I would love to have you try us again. Sara Tagliarino Restaurant Manager. More

Travelers who viewed Generations also viewed

 

Been to Generations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing