We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2543 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
+1 518-837-5052
Website
Improve this listing
Today
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Generations is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu feature many...
Generations is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu feature many foods that are grown and raised locally. Our goal is to keep it as local and fresh as possible, showcasing the many wonderful farms and products that are grown, raised and cultivated in New York's Adirondack region.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 293 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 90
    Excellent
  • 91
    Very good
  • 66
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 30
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
sometimes fine, sometimes not

We stay at the Golden Arrow, connected to this restaurant, so we've eaten several meals here in the past two summers. It's a mixed bag. Sometimes, the meals and service are fine (solid, but not earth-shattering), and sometimes the meals are so-so and service is painfully slow and unfriendly... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed September 1, 2015
terminaldegree07
,
Wisconsin
Good for:
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

Went over for drinks and appetizers as they had a nice outdoor. The drinks were a great price. The inside was very clean and nice. The food was horrible. We ordered wings and shrimp spring rolls. Both were dismal. Won't return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

We stay at the Golden Arrow, connected to this restaurant, so we've eaten several meals here in the past two summers. It's a mixed bag. Sometimes, the meals and service are fine (solid, but not earth-shattering), and sometimes the meals are so-so and service is painfully slow and unfriendly. Prices are moderate. If it weren't so convenient to the hotel,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tonawanda, New York, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

We had breakfast here three times during our recent trip to Lake Placid. There were several good menu options, and each item we had was very good. Prices were average for Lake Placid. Service was good and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 NEW

Would have loved to eat here- with multiple tables open outside and all the servers available, I was excited to try. Unfortunately we sat for 10 min (not kidding) and never even got a water :( we ended up leaving and heard another table mention "well they are leaving should we?" No one acknowledged us as we left the restaurant.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 NEW

We had both breakfast and dinner at Generations. Both meals were very good and enjoyed by all four of us who were staying at their hotel, The Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort. If you are staying at their hotel, it's happy hour ALL DAY LONG!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Manager at Generations, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. We are very happy to have you and hope to see you again soon! Best, Natasha Holderied Generations Restaurant General Manager More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 NEW

The service was great and very welcoming. We had the choice between sitting inside or outside. I would recommend the 14 oz. Rib eye. The food was great and this place is beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Manager at Generations, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Generations! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meal and we all agree with you, the Ribeye is fantastic! We are also happy to be able to accommodate those who would like to sit outside on our patio; overlooking the town, as well as those who... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 NEW

someone (supervisor) needs to spend more time monitoring the staff. They come once for your order, and bring both appetizers and entree at the same time. Never to be seen again until it's time to pay. Nobody asks if you want desert or another drink. very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

Celebrating our anniversary. Waiter didn't get the order straight. Appetizer came WITH the meal, had to go find the waiter; crab cake was charred nearly inedible; ordered full rack of ribs to be shared, but only one plate appeared, had to ask for the 2nd, and then even had to ask again for the steak knife. When we complained to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

We came here for dinner on a weeknight in August.. my wife and two small kids. Service was frustratingly slow. Server came by and took the kids orders right away but then took a while to come back for the rest.. waiting for your food to show up.. waiting for server to come by for more water.. waiting for server... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GenerationsLP, Manager at Generations, responded to this review

A N, Thank you for your feedback on Generations. I sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had while dining with us. Summer is the busiest time for Lake Placid and we bring in a lot of seasonal help. Based on the reviews here it seems that we need to take another look at our team and reorganize and figure... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

Don't know about the food but we had great drinks at the bar to the left side of the larger establishment . Late summer crowds were less than packed but the bar tender here was entertaining and knowledgable. We only spent an hour in the afternoon but we had a nice vibe the rest of the day as a result.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Manager at Generations, responded to this review

data2dave, Thank you for the great review on Generations Tap & Grill, more specifically our fantastic bar. My favorite is the Mediterranean Mule, it’s so delicious and refreshing. I hope you’re able to come back and visit us again soon! Cheers, Olivia Zeis, Manager Generations Tap & Grill More 

Travelers who viewed Generations also viewed

 

Been to Generations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 2543 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Lake Placid
  • Phone Number: +1 518-837-5052

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 29
  • Cuisine: American

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups

Description

Generations is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu feature many foods that are grown and raised locally. Our goal is to keep it as local and fresh as possible, showcasing the many wonderful farms and products that are grown, raised and cultivated in New York's Adirondack region.
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Generations staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?