We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
634 Main St, East Aurora, NY 14052 (Formerly Tantalus Restaurant Bar & Cafe)
716-652-0341
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 147 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 50
    Excellent
  • 37
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 24
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
I have never had a bad meal there

The menu tends to be extensive and ambitious but I have never had a bad meal. The bar is popular and there are quite a few different beers on tap (about 15 I think).

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 18, 2015
56386
,
USA
Good for:
  • Bar scene
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

The menu tends to be extensive and ambitious but I have never had a bad meal. The bar is popular and there are quite a few different beers on tap (about 15 I think).

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Seneca, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

First of all, one of the people in my party ordered Eggplant Parmesan, it came UNPEELED, really. Who serves eggplant with the tough peel intact. Then of course being an Italian restaurant serving penne would you think they would have "run out"? We will necpver return

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

I have frequented this restaurant monthly for a couple of years. Food and service have been consistent until my visit today. Nothing worse than undercooked chicken parm. The chicken was raw. Could not believe it. When I mentioned it to the waitress she said they will address it in the kitchen. How about addressing right here right now to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

I cut into my chicken parm sandwich and the chicken was raw. Not undercooked, not almost cooked, RAW. Inquired into what happened and was told, "I don't know, we will address it in the back." Update! The chicken came back overdone. The kitchen just put it back on to heat it. Incredible. We left.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

group of 6 came for 2 for 1 wings. International wing offering good as it gets. Berberi to die for! Service was prompt. Great selection of draft and bottle beer. After the first round of wings we decided on dinner. Standouts include cassoulet and stroganoff. All food was very good. Medici runs theas Ethiopian as well. 2 of our group... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We decided to give the Medici House another try since our last visit which did not go too well. Fact it was a terrible meal. The saving grace for The Medici House is that they do not use MSG in their products! My wife ordered the Tipsy Turkey sandwich and for me per their menu a medium rare mushroom burger.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaurieK826, Manager at Medici House, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We were so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent lunch at The Medici House. My understanding was that the overcooked burger was addressed when you were here, removed from the bill and another dish was provided. I am sorry the fries on the second dish were not up to your standard. We prepare our fries... More 

East Aurora, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

As chaotic as this place seems, they still run a pretty good restaurant. Their staff is inexperienced, yet enthusiastic and friendly. Their reuben is still one of the best I've ever had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland,Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Bought a Groupon for this place. Nice atmosphere. Food was good. The spinach dip and chips was good the BBQ wings were tasty. My wife got a burger, and it was HUGE. Wow had to take it it to go. I got the BBQ chicken calzone it was big as the plate. Over all great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Every time I go for dinner I'm disappointed. Service stinks. The wait for food and drink is way too long. The quality of food can be greatly improved. I could make better myself at home and for a much better price. Way too loud for conversation. The menu is ridiculously long. At lunch though the menu was much smaller and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

We have been enjoying the food at the Medici House for years even when this was the Tantalas Restaurant. Food was always of high quality and enjoyable. Thursdays is 'Taco Day" and because of this we scheduled our visit while we were in East Aurora tending to some home related business. My wife especially enjoys Medici's Enchiladas. So what happened... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Medici House also viewed

East Aurora, NY
 

Been to Medici House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 634 Main St, East Aurora, NY 14052 (Formerly Tantalus Restaurant Bar & Cafe)
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  East Aurora
  • Phone Number: 716-652-0341

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Italian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Medici House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?