We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Schodack Diner, Ltd.

1842 Columbia Turnpike, Castleton On Hudson, NY 12033
518-477-5014
Website
Update restaurant details
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Family run restaurant featuring American Diner classics and authentic Greek specialties.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    7
    0
    0
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
upstate new york
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I am sure you know by now that this place is closed. It is unreal that they would open this boondoggle and then continue to try to make a go of it. Just terrible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife was taken out by ambulance as our breakfast was being served. These rotten people saved the bill god 5 months, and tried to make us pay it upon a. Visit 5 months afterwords. All cad transactions were not run up in the register. Finally up for sale!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Albany, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Quick service and a varied menu make this place worth eating at. I often stop on a passing whim, and have never been disappointed. The staff are friendly and accommodating, being quick to offer a drink refill and to make conversation if you're interested in talking. Stop by the next time you pass on Routes 9 / 20.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farmingdale, Maine
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stopped here for dinner and we were both disappointed. My husband ordered the pork chops that were overcooked and dry. I ordered fish that was also overcooked and dry. Neither of liked the dinner rolls because they were cold and dry. We also thought the service was very slow. I would not recommend this diner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GS80, Manager at Schodack Diner, Ltd., responded to this review

Dear Ms. Hacheta, Thank you for visiting our establishment. I apologize if you thought your food was overcooked but really wish you had said something. It's a rare occasion that people complain about the "doneness" of our food but peoples' tastes vary; please speak up! I distinctly remember you and your husband finishing your meals and expressing nothing less than... More

Nassau, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Nothing exceptional here. Service was slow, food was not as hot as it should have been, high priced for quality. This diner is in a great location. Was disappointed it was not up to par with expectations. They missed a prime opportunity to be the areas' "go to" place for casual dining.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

In the area for an early lunch. Friendly waitress, clean tables, and fairly typical diner menu. Ordered a $6.95 lunch special, consisting of a cup of soup, sandwich, fries and a drink. Soup was homemade Manhattan clam chowder and sandwich was seafood salad. Both were quite good and the service was timely. I will return there for another meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stopped by the diner last Saturday, while on vacation. My husband drives by the diner on his daily commute and he wanted to try the place out. He got the Greek Salad and I got the chicken parm. That was the best Greek salad he ever had and as for my chicken parm, wow, not only was it terrfic,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castleton On Hudson, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

It was fun to watch this new place being brought in to replace an old well used building a couple years ago. It looks like a new old fashioned diner. A retired colleague and I regularly look forward to a breakfast/brunch gab session at Schodack Diner. We appreciate the food, the attentive waitresses, the clean dining room and shining bathroom.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011 via mobile

The owner was curt when asked a question about if real butter was used. They used way to much salt. The bread selections were poor it was like supermarket bread. We will not go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GS80, Manager at Schodack Diner, Ltd., responded to this review

Dear Foodman60, I am surprised to hear you did not like our bread because we get positive feedback almost daily about all of our breads including our sandwich bread, toast, french toast, etc. and our dinner rolls are a hit. I am not sure what bread tasting like "supermarket bread" means exactly. We do use "real" butter and unlike many/most... More

Schodack, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were referred to the Diner by our hote and we're very please with the food and service. My husband and I got the roast chicken and our children got the kids meals. Everything was great and on our next trip, we're certain to mcome back to this place!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers who viewed Schodack Diner, Ltd. also viewed

Castleton On Hudson, NY
Castleton On Hudson, NY
 
Castleton On Hudson, NY
 

Been to Schodack Diner, Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schodack Diner, Ltd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing