We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Castleton On Hudson Restaurants

Schodack Diner, Ltd. - CLOSED

1842 Columbia Turnpike, Castleton On Hudson, NY 12033
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Family run restaurant featuring American Diner classics and authentic Greek specialties.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife was taken out by ambulance as our breakfast was being served. These rotten people saved the bill god 5 months, and tried to make us pay it upon a. Visit 5 months afterwords. All cad transactions were not run up in the register. Finally up for sale!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Albany, NY
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Quick service and a varied menu make this place worth eating at. I often stop on a passing whim, and have never been disappointed. The staff are friendly and accommodating, being quick to offer a drink refill and to make conversation if you're interested in talking. Stop by the next time you pass on Routes 9 / 20.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farmingdale, Maine
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stopped here for dinner and we were both disappointed. My husband ordered the pork chops that were overcooked and dry. I ordered fish that was also overcooked and dry. Neither of liked the dinner rolls because they were cold and dry. We also thought the service was very slow. I would not recommend this diner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GS80, Manager at Schodack Diner, Ltd., responded to this review

Dear Ms. Hacheta, Thank you for visiting our establishment. I apologize if you thought your food was overcooked but really wish you had said something. It's a rare occasion that people complain about the "doneness" of our food but peoples' tastes vary; please speak up! I distinctly remember you and your husband finishing your meals and expressing nothing less than... More

Nassau, New York
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Nothing exceptional here. Service was slow, food was not as hot as it should have been, high priced for quality. This diner is in a great location. Was disappointed it was not up to par with expectations. They missed a prime opportunity to be the areas' "go to" place for casual dining.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

In the area for an early lunch. Friendly waitress, clean tables, and fairly typical diner menu. Ordered a $6.95 lunch special, consisting of a cup of soup, sandwich, fries and a drink. Soup was homemade Manhattan clam chowder and sandwich was seafood salad. Both were quite good and the service was timely. I will return there for another meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stopped by the diner last Saturday, while on vacation. My husband drives by the diner on his daily commute and he wanted to try the place out. He got the Greek Salad and I got the chicken parm. That was the best Greek salad he ever had and as for my chicken parm, wow, not only was it terrfic,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castleton On Hudson, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

It was fun to watch this new place being brought in to replace an old well used building a couple years ago. It looks like a new old fashioned diner. A retired colleague and I regularly look forward to a breakfast/brunch gab session at Schodack Diner. We appreciate the food, the attentive waitresses, the clean dining room and shining bathroom.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011 via mobile

The owner was curt when asked a question about if real butter was used. They used way to much salt. The bread selections were poor it was like supermarket bread. We will not go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GS80, Manager at Schodack Diner, Ltd., responded to this review

Dear Foodman60, I am surprised to hear you did not like our bread because we get positive feedback almost daily about all of our breads including our sandwich bread, toast, french toast, etc. and our dinner rolls are a hit. I am not sure what bread tasting like "supermarket bread" means exactly. We do use "real" butter and unlike many/most... More

Schodack, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were referred to the Diner by our hote and we're very please with the food and service. My husband and I got the roast chicken and our children got the kids meals. Everything was great and on our next trip, we're certain to mcome back to this place!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
New York
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I have given this diner three separate attempts to redeem themselves. Each time, the service has been terrible and the food only marginal. Today was the third and last time which is a shame since the owner is a nice old man who opened this business just a couple of years ago. My corned beef hash omelet showed up first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GS80, Manager at Schodack Diner, Ltd., responded to this review

Ms. P, I am a manager at the Schodack Diner and I was standing at the cash register/front bar near where you were seated and clearly heard your order being taken as did at least 2 other people who can vouch for the following. When you ordered a corned beef omelet, our waitress, thinking you had an unusual order and... More

Travelers who viewed Schodack Diner, Ltd. also viewed

Castleton On Hudson, NY
Castleton On Hudson, NY
Castleton On Hudson, NY
Castleton On Hudson, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing