We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coal Street Pub

Pub, Mexican, American
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
303 W. Coal Ave., Gallup, NM
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Lively and interesting place that serves food till late.

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 40 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 5
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Excellent beer selection

This is not what I would actually call a pub, more of a casual restaurant with a bar. The service was very good, the food was good and the beer and drink selection excellent. I had a Cuban sandwich which was excellent and the fries were outstanding. Out server was knowledgeable and helpful. We... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 1, 2016
DaveTexas70
,
Frisco, Texas
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

This is not what I would actually call a pub, more of a casual restaurant with a bar. The service was very good, the food was good and the beer and drink selection excellent. I had a Cuban sandwich which was excellent and the fries were outstanding. Out server was knowledgeable and helpful. We were traveling from Dallas to Phoenix... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaveTexas70
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

Friendly place, reasonable selection of beers. Staff very helpful and no problem if you want to sample a couple of beers before deciding which one is for you. Food OK.

Helpful?
Thank frank19452015
Taos, New Mexico, Usa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

To start with a positive comment: the setting is interesting, and much of the decor is good for spurring discussion. Now for the not so positive: our server may not have been typical, but she was a sweet young thing who may never have waited table before. She got the drinks order wrong and forgot to bring one drink completely.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlpacaMama
CoalStreetPub, Owner at Coal Street Pub, responded to this review

I'm sorry we dropped the ball. We should have removed or discounted the items from your bill, not sure if we knew about the problem. We have recently made a few changes to our kitchen and server line-up, have a feeling your server has moved on, and we're continuing our kitchen training. Again, very sorry More 

Renfrew, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

Walls are covered with numerous kinds of memorable. Staff are friendly & service was quick. Enchiladas were perfect with reasonable prices. The part of town mybe questionable but that's just my opinion. Parking is on the street. Would go back.

Helpful?
Thank cleoder
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

We waited 90 minutes for a sandwich, which we had to take to go because we were out of time! The sandwich was gross and soggy. Don't go if you want to eat

Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
CoalStreetPub, Owner at Coal Street Pub, responded to this review

90 minutes??? Maybe for window tinting or tire repair, but for a sandwich?? After 20 minutes I would ask for manager or something... really sorry you sat for so long... wow More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

This place is terrible don't eat here!! We ordered nachos $7.25 for plain chips that are stale and have other people's condiments still left on them!! Ridiculous prices we ordered chicken enchiladas they were terrible my wife didn't even eat them they had redmeat on them also which is not what we asked for no apologies no refund on anything... More 

Helpful?
Thank david e
CoalStreetPub, Owner at Coal Street Pub, responded to this review

Thank you again for your feedback, our red and green chile no longer have meat of any kind, sorry again to your wife about the enchilada plate. Since we were unable to refund your credit card days later, a check was mailed to the address you supplied me a few days ago. More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

Food and service was sooooo bad we don't recommended this place to anyone. The wait staff and kitchen staff need some good training.

Helpful?
1 Thank detimes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

I went there one evening to eat and listen to an open mic. I was very disappointed in the owner who never says hello to anyone unless there someone important. Its not a very warm atmosphere and the staff seem to behave like the owner. A very sterile place.....

Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael E
Northfield, NJ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

This restaurant had fantastic food, great service and interesting decorative items. They had a special price on beers the night we dined. There were so many interesting items to look at while waiting for our food.

Helpful?
Thank MESNorthfield
San Diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

Great food. Cool, atmosphere. The live music was entertaining. No local or New Mexico beers on tap. Good selection of beers you can get just about anywhere, anytime, but I think this would be the perfect venue for local and New Mexico brews. Support your local brewer! (P.S., I am not a brewer).

Helpful?
Thank Halfman1

Travelers who viewed Coal Street Pub also viewed

 

Been to Coal Street Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 303 W. Coal Ave., Gallup, NM
  • Location: United States  >  New Mexico (NM)  >  Gallup

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Pub, Mexican, American

Description

Lively and interesting place that serves food till late.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Coal Street Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?