We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Swellendam Restaurants

Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant

Stormsvlei, Just off the N2 on the R317 to Bonnievale | Stormsvlei, P O Box 510, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
+27 79 713 0257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 27 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Mon 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wed 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thu 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Fri - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Cuisines: International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A great place to enjoy locally sourced, freshly prepared food in a beautiful garden setting. A selection of fresh bread, homemade jams, chutneys, sweet treats and preserves are available in the farm stall. We also stock a range of local cheeses, wines & cured meats. We are 35km from Swellendam (on the Cape Town side) just off the N2. Sundays are a very popular day, so we strongly suggest that you make a reservation if you plan to visit. Please note we are closed on Tuesdays.

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

the restaurant does not look very promising from the outside with very dated exterior reminding me of a 70th soup kitchen. However, once we entered we were surprised by the refurbishing the owners have made to the interior and the lovely farm stall they had. the food was very good but attention needs to be given to the service. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear sarah n, Thank you for leaving your feed back on your visit to Stormsvlei Farm Stall and Restaurant. We take your comments on board and will address the details you mentioned. We try to employ and train members of the local community and the waitress who was serving you hasn't really been with us that long. With regard to... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

We had stopped for lunch on more than one occasion when this restaurant was run by a previous owner so decided to try it out after having been taken over by new owners . On entering we were quite sceptical as the new layout was rather drab but proceeded to the garden which had a good atmosphere and ordered our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We tried this place for lunch. The style is very dated however the food was excellent quality. My only criticism is the service was really poor. The lady never smiled and when asked for access to the internet we were told it was private. Which restaurants don't allow customers to use the wifi?

Was this review helpful? Yes
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ian H, Thank you for taking time to leave your review about your visit to us. I'm glad you enjoyed the food. You seem to have left with a rather negative opinion of us based on the fact you were declined access to our private internet. We live on site. We use the internet for work and private use.... More

Cape Town
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The exterior is rather unassuming and walking in the the building you do not expect to be blown away by both great service and food. We had the springbok loin with a red wine jus, priced at only R95, which was just as good as can be found in many upmarket restaurants. To end off our meal we also sampled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Monique K, We are so happy you enjoyed your meal with us. The Springbok special was a very popular choice and we had a few lovely comments about that dish. We do try our hardest to offer value for money, especially in the current economic climate. We hope you will be able to pop in again soon. All the... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a gem in the heart of the Boland! Excellent food from an international British Chef in the back and his South African born wife playing host in the front. We popped in here for a quick lunch and was so blown away by die pork burger and the cheesecake...oh the cheesecake! Went back for a second time and had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stopped at Stormsvlei Restaurant and farmstall on a weekend trip to the Southern Cape AND returned on our drive back. We first stopped for tea and cake to see what the place was about, bought some cheeses and biltong and returned for lunch on our way back after looking at the tempting menu... On our return trip we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear K-Travel-SA Thank you so much for taking time to leave us a review here on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience here and even returned for more! Our winter menu is now in full swing and we have a few more delicious winter warmer options available. We look forward to welcome you back. Kind regards... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Arriving here is a bit like stepping back in time. Definitely assisted by the power failure the poor management were experiencing - they were doing their best to provide services without benefit of electricity, and managed to be welcoming in spite of their outage. Coffees were forthcoming, the pastry selection were so gorgeous looking they very nearly had me off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have eaten here quite a few times and were never disappointed. We love to sit outside on the stoep and take a walk in the lovely garden. Do order the Belgian chocolate cheesecake, if available, it is unbelievably good. A lovely, tranquil place to have lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Called at Stormsvlei unannounced for a lunch break while travelling in S A and was most impressed with the welcome and excellent food. Well done Steven & Jeanne.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stormsvlei, Owner at Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your food and visit. We look forward to maybe seeing you again. All the best. Steve Collinson More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

After flying from London and traveling for 2 hours, I stopped at this oasis in the middle of nowhere for the friendliest welcome and the loveliest food!!! The menu is mouth watering and I can't get over the personalized service!!!! Definitely worth a visit!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormsvlei Farm Stall & Restaurant

Address: Stormsvlei, Just off the N2 on the R317 to Bonnievale | Stormsvlei, P O Box 510, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number: +27 79 713 0257
Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Swellendam
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 5 - 15
Cuisine: International, Gastropub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Things to do Nearby