We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dutch East Restaurant

$$
Contemporary
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
42 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
0218763547
Website
Add hours for Dutch East Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dutch East cuisine is a unique combination of uncomplicated bistro fare...
Dutch East cuisine is a unique combination of uncomplicated bistro fare, full of traditional South African flavours with healthy portions perfectly presented. The combination of delicate Asian flavours with robust local ingredients creates a subtle yet balanced experience.We specialise in the preparation of meat and seafood. From home smoked bacon, bresaola biltong, dry aged steaks to fresh line fish and daily specials. Open Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, 7 days a week!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 352 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 174
    Excellent
  • 118
    Very good
  • 47
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
We returned again

4 of us on touring holiday. Had booked this restaurant from UK having read reviews and we were not disappointed, we even booked again at the end of our short stay in Franschoek. Mushroom risotto was amazing, service friendly, excellent wines which did come with a wine bucket, we even put the bottle... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 4, 2015
SunSeeSand_13
,
Frome, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Entertaining clients
  • Romantic
  • Local cuisine
  • Doing business
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

4 of us on touring holiday. Had booked this restaurant from UK having read reviews and we were not disappointed, we even booked again at the end of our short stay in Franschoek. Mushroom risotto was amazing, service friendly, excellent wines which did come with a wine bucket, we even put the bottle back in the bucket when we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midrand, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

Everytime we pass is a busy restaurant ,we managed to have dinner but disappointed nothing exciting about it ,expensif and staff very slow. Not going again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

We went for dinner at Dutch East on 1 May 2015. The menu is certainly exciting & different. My husband had the pork neck on bone which was delicious. I ordered the braised pork belly -alas the buttom part of the pork was badly burnt otherwise this would've been a perfect dinner. Hence the nit so great review. I informed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
}���S��
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

Having been left without a table at Haute Cabriere for Sunday lunch (see separate review) four of us from the UK ventured into Franschhoek village without a reservation. We were welcomed very warmly to Dutch East and shown to the only empty table outside. It was a great spot to do a bit of people watching and eat a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

..9 family members needed feeding and Dutch East looked the part..plenty of outside tables and a good looking menu and wine list..we were not disappointed and even our 3 year old ate all her food while several of us tasted Ostrich steak for the 1st time..absolutely fantastic - take it medium rare! - it was not a cheap meal, certainly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We stopped for lunch in Franschhoek on a day tour of 'Winelands' from Cape Town. A choice of restaurant just made from walking down main street - we liked the look of the place and the menu , and were more than pleased. So much so I asked for their 'card' to review for others. Pleasant ambiance and excellent service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sainkie, Owner at Dutch East Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Brenda, Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch at Dutch East. We hope to see you in the future. Kind regards, Sainkie More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Instead of the 300 g of rump steak offered on their menu, I was served 3 pieces of offcuts from a previously trimmed stakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sainkie, Owner at Dutch East Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Conrats, We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at Dutch East Restaurant. We pride ourselves on our quality of meats. I can assure you that we have never served 'off cuts' to any of our clients. However, we will take your review up with our kitchen and discuss your feedback. We hope to welcome you... More 

Aspen
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We skipped this place for several days in favor of places with a trendier feel or a more brasserie appearance or name. But, on the last day we had a wonderful lunch here. it is South Africa so meat is understandably the core of the menu. We shared a steak and it was terrific and about a fourth the price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sainkie, Owner at Dutch East Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your recent review and positive comments. Much appreciated! Kind regards, Sainkie More 

Laval, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Not a place that we would return to. The food was the worst we had during our stay in South Africa. My husband had the mussels and has been ill since. The food was generally poor. The service was friendly enough but the wine was left on the table out of ice for about 10 minutes. There are far better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sainkie, Owner at Dutch East Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Lllamaheaven, Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at Dutch East Restaurant. Our apologies that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. In regards to your mention of our mussels, please take note that we have not had Mussels available during April due to Red Tide. We would appreciate it if you could contact us directly... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

This is a very good restaurant where you get value for money. The food is well presented and quality is good. Steaks were great. Wine list is also quite good. My two and a half year granddaughter was also accommodated with an appropriate meal and attention. Service is attentive. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sainkie, Owner at Dutch East Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Hugh, Thank you for your positive comments and feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your time at Dutch East. Kind regards, Sainkie More 

Travelers who viewed Dutch East Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Dutch East Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 42 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Franschhoek
  • Phone Number: 0218763547

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 5 - 18
  • Cuisine: Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Families with children

Description

Dutch East cuisine is a unique combination of uncomplicated bistro fare, full of traditional South African flavours with healthy portions perfectly presented. The combination of delicate Asian flavours with robust local ingredients creates a subtle yet balanced experience.We specialise in the preparation of meat and seafood. From home smoked bacon, bresaola biltong, dry aged steaks to fresh line fish and daily specials. Open Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, 7 days a week!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dutch East Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?