We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Verve Restaurant

$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 East Main Street, Somerville, NJ 08876 (Between North Bridge and Grove Streets)
Raritan River Line-- From New Brunswick NJ-- to Newark-- to NY
+1 908-707-8655
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Wed 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 77 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 25
    Excellent
  • 17
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
do not order the steak

Horrible steak experience! My husband and I both ordered the Aged NY Strip medium rare and it came out RAW...NOT rare, but RAW!!!!....we sent them both back. My husband's came out fine the second time but mine never came out. They forgot about it. When I finally did remind them that I was... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed December 27, 2015
Micheline and J... v
,
Glen Gardner, New Jersey
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Verve, by far, serves the best drinks in the state! My husband and I have frequented Verve on many occasions and are so confident in the bartenders' talents that we allow them to select the type of drinks that we will delight in that evening. When my husband, who is a beer drinker, is torn between their unique selection of... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsLivesToTravel
tsunamilotus, Owner at Verve Restaurant, responded to this review

We at Verve thank you for your kind comments . The Barmen and Woman at the bar strive to " raise the bar" for each quests experience . We are happy that you were pleased and we look forward to serving you and continuing to strive to be the best in our craft . Best , Rick St. Pierre More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

$40 bill for lunch and when I asked why I didn't receive the salad that is included with the meal, the server told me they don't bring it when you order and pay for an appetizer. Before ordering a salmon special, i asked if the sauce was sweet. I was told absolutely not. It was drenched in sugar!!!!!! Service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Howard L
tsunamilotus, Owner at Verve Restaurant, responded to this review

Howard ... I too am disappointed with how your reviewed your luncheon experience at Verve for it is my restaurant whose 20 year landmark status and quality is important to me and the community . I had seen you dining alone and am always impressed by those individuals that take the time out of their day to relax and enjoy... More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had heard about Verve for awhile and decided to try it for a family celebration! We decided to try a bunch of various pre- meal appys and soup. We had our own little tasting going on at our table. The cesar salad and poached pear salad were both awesome. I heard from others at our table that the soup... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bootravel01
Glen Gardner, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Horrible steak experience! My husband and I both ordered the Aged NY Strip medium rare and it came out RAW...NOT rare, but RAW!!!!....we sent them both back. My husband's came out fine the second time but mine never came out. They forgot about it. When I finally did remind them that I was waiting on my steak, I was told... More 

Helpful?
Thank Micheline and J... v
tsunamilotus, General Manager at Verve Restaurant, responded to this review

I am extremely disappointed that your experience as written was not to the standards of Verve ! I will meet with the staff and chef today to rectify the issue . If I can entice you to see that your time and comments matter , please send me your contact information at vervestyle.com under contact us and I will be... More 

The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

The front of this restaurant is extra casual. A sports bar,to be exact. The rear area is more formal...tables, linens, properly attired wait staff. And your first impression is NOISE. Lots and lots of noise. Holding a proper conversation...impossible. We waited to order our drinks. We waited to get our drinks. We waited to order our dinner. We waited to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
tsunamilotus, Owner at Verve Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the time and energy that you have spent in writing your review ...while we have made up our mind as a twenty 20 landmark restaurant in Somerset County as well as a Best Bar in the State of New Jersey ; we are far from a Sports Bar as we don't even have Sports Events on the... More 

WORCESTER
Level Contributor
502 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

Went here for dinner with some co-workers. The service was attentive. The food was very good and the portions were good. They also had a drink menu that was very different than anything that I had seen elsewhere. We all tried the different drinks and enjoyed them. One of my friends did not like her drink and the waitress quickly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelbugsforlife
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

Saturday evenings in Somerville, NJ are bustling. The town has become a restaurant destination in Central New Jersey, and Verve is in the center of it all. With its varied wine selection and sumptuous entrees, Verve's talented kitchen served a delectable clams in broth with tomato appetizer, followed by a fine presentation of Butter Poached Lobster over Marscarpone Risotto. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank stardustdrive
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

If you come here make sure you are a drinker. They make great cocktails and even tailored ours based on what we liked, to order. The food was good, but really pricey. I have been here a few times for dinner and each time the food was good, but not the "phenomenal food" I heard it would be. Its a... More 

Helpful?
Thank SpartanGirl3
Annandale, NJ
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

Came here with family to celebrate a cousin's birthday. We sat upstairs in the corner sofa area. The atmosphere is very cozy and a little less noisy than downstairs. The food portion are small but the quality is very good. The drinks here are great and bartenders will make you drinks that are not even on the menu if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
new jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

Was meeting with someone I haven't seen in years and she suggested this restaurant for lunch. Verve is on Main Street in Somerville where many fine restaurants can be discovered and enjoyed. Service and food were very good - well prepared and not overcooked. There were only a few people at the restaurant for lunch. I suspect it has to... More 

Helpful?
Thank roadwarriorNewJersey

Travelers who viewed Verve Restaurant also viewed

 
Somerville, NJ
Somerville, NJ
 

Been to Verve Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 18 East Main Street, Somerville, NJ 08876
    (Between North Bridge and Grove Streets)
  • Public Transportation: Raritan River Line-- From New Brunswick NJ-- to Newark-- to NY
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Somerville
  • Phone Number: +1 908-707-8655

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 20 - 25
  • Cuisine: French

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Elegant
  • Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Verve Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?