We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Milford Oyster House

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Seafood, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
92 Water Street (Route 519), Milford, NJ 08848
908-995-9411
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 93 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 48
    Excellent
  • 25
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Excellent seafood in an unexpected location

My husband and I were staying in PA and walked across the river to check out Milford NJ. We had been told about this restaurant by the B&B we were staying at (Bridgeton House). It was lunch time on a Monday and they were closed but we thought we would see if they had a menu posted in the window.... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 18, 2015
358candiced
,
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Good for:
  • Romantic
  • Special occasions
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex County, NJ
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW

The food here is "ok" - some wrote that there wasn't much flavor and I have to agree. The oysters we not over washed which most places do. So you got to enjoy the saltiness of them...just like you should. My cashew encrusted tile fish was very bland and so was my partners swordfish. Dessert was a chocolate ganache with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmyCoss, Owner at Milford Oyster House, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not find your dinner at the Milford Oyster House to your liking. You obviously traveled quite a distance to dine with us, so it is doubly frustrating to you that you were disappointed in your meals. Chef Ed tries always to treat the fish so that you can still taste the fish. Each fish... More 

Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

My husband and I were staying in PA and walked across the river to check out Milford NJ. We had been told about this restaurant by the B&B we were staying at (Bridgeton House). It was lunch time on a Monday and they were closed but we thought we would see if they had a menu posted in the window.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmyCoss, Owner at Milford Oyster House, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner during your stay at the Bridgeton House. It is always a pleasure to welcome their guests to the Oyster House. The Bridgeton House is lovely and we try to match their level of service and professionalism. Thank you for the kind words about our food. We buy the best seafood possible and... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Let’s be clear, I love Oysters. If they are on the menu, they find their way to my plate. I have eaten Namibian Oysters in Africa, sampled various types from the cold waters surrounding the British Isles, and even had Japanese oysters sushi style in Nagoya. I have also never met someone without an opinion on Oysters. People either love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmyCoss, Owner at Milford Oyster House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We appreciate your thoroughness. We are glad that your enjoyed yourself and your meal. We hope that we will be welcoming you back to the Oyster House soon! More 

Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Starting with oysters... super fresh and a very large selection. The fish is the best quality in metro area! The chef works magic with his preparations. The staff very attentive. The dessert chef is the man! You will be pampered in this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmyCoss, Owner at Milford Oyster House, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at the Oyster House. We strive to make sure that each and every guest feels pampered and are delighted that we succeeded! We are glad that you enjoyed your dinner from appetizer to dessert. We have the luxury of our own pastry chef who is extremely talented. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Food at the Oyster House is always good. Always specials and exciting things to try. All prepared expertly. Cool little location, dining room, bar and back pool room. Great for a nice dinner, or romantic dinner, or drinks with friends. Love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmyCoss, Owner at Milford Oyster House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very appreciative of the support of our wonderful local community. We strive everyday to provide our guests with fresh, wholesome food, prepared with love. More 

Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,011 reviews
867 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I have been wanting to go here for a while. I have to say, I was disappointed. Not that it was bad - not at all - but it was not great, and I had expected great. First off, our nice table by the window was not level. No big deal, but not hard to correct either - so fix... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmyCoss, Owner at Milford Oyster House, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you thought that side dishes were and extra charge. Each meal comes with two sides of your choice included in the price of the entree. Most people choose a starch and a vegetable. If you had let me or your waiter know that you were unhappy when we stopped at your table, we certainly would... More 

Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile

This place was great.. Not what I expected at all. I drive by this everyday and just the face on the building doesn't look inviting at all. Once your inside you can't belive this nook. Inside the decor is beautiful and clean greeted by very friendly staff. You have a choice to sit in the dining area or in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmyCoss, Owner at Milford Oyster House, responded to this review

We are delighted that you discovered us! Thank you so much for your kind words about Chris. We enjoy his stories too. The steamed garlic clams have been a favorite of customers for the full eighteen years that we have been in business. We are delighted to add you to the list of fans. Thank you and we will look... More 

Stanton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

-From our warm greeting from the Matre-D to our last bite of dessert, this restaurant exceeded our expectations! The ambiance was perfect for a "fish-house". Choosing just one of the items we ordered,- the calamari acompanied with the srichira mayo took top prize being perhaps the best I have ever eaten. Our waiter suggested a wine which was very well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmyCoss, Owner at Milford Oyster House, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed the calamari. The calamari is a special appetizer that Chef Ed offers whenever fresh calamari is available in the market. He cleans and slices it himself which is the secret to its tenderness. We hope that we will see you again the next time we have calamari or another special that catches your fancy! More 

Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We will not be back... The best thing was the fried oyster appetizers... we ordered the seafood stew which came OVERCOOKED with rubber lobster,rubber clams,rubber shrimp. Took forever to get someone over so we could order something else. Our waiter, named Bruce, ignored us after we returned the stew. Another lady ( I think might be an owner) took our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmyCoss, Owner at Milford Oyster House, responded to this review

Andy, I am so sorry that I did adequately address your complaint by taking the stew off your check and providing you with another entree, the scampi, cooked to your specifications. As I recall, both you and your wife suffer from gastric issues. We did our best to prepare the food, undercooked, as you told me you needed it, in... More 

Lambertville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We had heard great things about the Milford Oyster House for awhile now, but it's about 30 minutes away so we hadn't gotten a chance to go there yet. We finally went last weekend for our wedding anniversary. Parking was an issue, the lot was completely full when we got there. We ended up having to park in a questionable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmyCoss, Owner at Milford Oyster House, responded to this review

Thank you for letting me know about your experience at the Oyster House. I am glad you enjoyed the bread, appetizers, and scampi. The amount of garlic in a dish is a personal preference for sure and I have had customers request even more garlic, so we try to play to the middle, hoping to please most people. I am... More 

Travelers who viewed Milford Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Milford Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 92 Water Street (Route 519), Milford, NJ 08848
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Milford
  • Phone Number: 908-995-9411

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 19 - 32
  • Cuisine: Seafood, Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Milford Oyster House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?