We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
8 S Essex Ave, Margate City, NJ 08402-2715
+1 609-823-7310
Website
Today
8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tue 6:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wed 6:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri 8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Sat 6:30 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Serving Margate City since 1982, Downbeach Deli serves fresh, flavorful...
Serving Margate City since 1982, Downbeach Deli serves fresh, flavorful, deli favorites. Join us for breakfast, lunch, or dinner! Our come-as-you-are atmosphere and friendly service combined with our extensive menu, makes Downbeach Deli one of the best eateries in town. We serve a huge selection of breakfast items including pastries, omelets, and bagels.
read more
Good for:
Large groups
Breakfast/Brunch

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 27 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 6
    Excellent
  • 11
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Good food

Good food, a little high prices but Definitely worth it ! Sometime the wait is a little long during the busier times

5 of 5 starsReviewed October 25, 2014
Jean R
,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Breakfast/Brunch
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Good food, a little high prices but Definitely worth it ! Sometime the wait is a little long during the busier times

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Jersey
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Deli has an extensive menu filled with what you expect to find in a deli. Server was friendly and efficient considering we were a party of ten and was OK with doing five separate checks. It was the evening, post summer and place wasn't busy so not sure how separate checks for a group would fly in the summer at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I picked up two turkey sandwiches for about $25. Turns out a turkey sandwich does not come with cheese, that costs extra. I had cheese and coleslaw. The coleslaw was $2 and the cheese was $1. I really don't mind paying good money for a good sandwich, but the sandwich was surprisingly small. I am a thin guy, but really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Owner at Downbeach Deli, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you weren't happy with the portion size of your sandwich, Michael, but thank you for letting me know how you felt about it. I don't want anyone to leave us hungry or disappointed. That said, we do have larger sandwich options available, and maybe one of those would have been more to your liking? I hope... More 

Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We arrived at 7;30.They close @ 9 pm . Good food, smallish portions. If you think the 1/2 sandwich and cup of soup will satisfy you , you may want to think twice. kitchen closes at (9;00 pm) make sure you give your entire order before they close the kitchen. Once we were served our meal, we all realized that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Owner at Downbeach Deli, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear about your less-than-perfect experience with us the other day, Angela. First off, anybody that comes in should only expect their orders to be accurate, so I apologize that your liver was forgotten in the first place. Also, if the food wasn't prepared the way you would have preferred, again, I apologize for that as well. That... More 

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I used to eat here every other day. Last few times have been bad to fair. I'll try again this winter but prefer the new Gilcrest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Four of us had a late lunch on Memorial Day. If there had been a crowd, it had dissapated by 2 PM. Something for everybody from a cheese omelette to matzoh ball soup and pastrami sandwich, to lean or fatty corned beef. Quick service to some very demanding guests (us). Modest cost. If you like deli, try this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Owner at Downbeach Deli, responded to this review

Glad to hear you were a fan when you visited us back in May, jagman8f! You guys made some great choices, and I hope we see you again sometime -- I know you won't be disappointed! All the best, Robert H, Owner More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

After trying desperately to find a good breakfast/lunch place at the shore, we stumbled across this gem. Don't expect fancy decor or linens, but do expect fresh pickles, friendly service, and excellent food. Also, as a vegetarian, I appreciate that there are many tasty options listed, rather than just a salad, as in so many other delis. This will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Owner at Downbeach Deli, responded to this review

I'm glad you stumbled across us, Tom! We were more than happy to accommodate you with our vegetarian options, and it's great to hear you enjoyed everything so much. I hope you've been back to see us again since you left this review, and if not, I hope we'll be seeing you soon! Best, Robert H, Owner More 

Palm Coast, Fl
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Corned beef hash...awful. The only good thing was the egg! Cold corned beef sandwich..had to have it heated. Was told they serve it cold!! Potato pancakes a disaster..tasteless.. gave them back to the server Reuben and cheese blintzes not so good either. This place needs to go to a real deli and take notes! Service so-so..very pleasant server, but hard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California, USA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is possibly the only deli/diner type restaurant I have ever been to where the multi-page laminated menu has local advertising -- and lots of it. Ads not only included lawyers, builders and retirement villages but also plastic surgery doctors and even the local synagogue - intriguing concept and certainly a way to make your menu pay for itself before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Owner at Downbeach Deli, responded to this review

Sounds like you're a real fan! I'm so happy to hear that you've always enjoyed everything so much, from the food to the service, and I appreciate your great review. I know it's been a while since you left this, but I wanted to say that, although I see you're based in California, I hope you've had a chance to... More 

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I eat here at least twice a week. Great food. Great deli. Wonderful daily specials. If you have to wait to be seated.....doesn't that mean that the place is in demand? Duh!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Owner at Downbeach Deli, responded to this review

We're so happy to have you as a regular, Billy! Thanks for the rave review. Stop in and visit us again soon. Best, Robert H, Owner More 

Been to Downbeach Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 8 S Essex Ave, Margate City, NJ 08402-2715
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Margate City
  • Phone Number: +1 609-823-7310

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 30
  • Cuisine: American, Delicatessen, Café

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups

Description

Serving Margate City since 1982, Downbeach Deli serves fresh, flavorful, deli favorites. Join us for breakfast, lunch, or dinner! Our come-as-you-are atmosphere and friendly service combined with our extensive menu, makes Downbeach Deli one of the best eateries in town. We serve a huge selection of breakfast items including pastries, omelets, and bagels.
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
6:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday
6:30 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Downbeach Deli staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?