We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Downbeach Deli

8 S Essex Ave, Margate City, NJ 08402-2715
+1 609-823-7310
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 40 restaurants in Margate City
Price range: $10 - $30
Hours:
Mon 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tue 6:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wed 6:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri 8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Sat 6:30 am - 10:00 pm
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Serving Margate City since 1982, Downbeach Deli serves fresh, flavorful, deli favorites. Join us for breakfast, lunch, or dinner! Our come-as-you-are atmosphere and friendly service combined with our extensive menu, makes Downbeach Deli one of the best eateries in town. We serve a huge selection of breakfast items including pastries, omelets, and bagels.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    5
    11
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I picked up two turkey sandwiches for about $25. Turns out a turkey sandwich does not come with cheese, that costs extra. I had cheese and coleslaw. The coleslaw was $2 and the cheese was $1. I really don't mind paying good money for a good sandwich, but the sandwich was surprisingly small. I am a thin guy, but really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Owner at Downbeach Deli, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you weren't happy with the portion size of your sandwich, Michael, but thank you for letting me know how you felt about it. I don't want anyone to leave us hungry or disappointed. That said, we do have larger sandwich options available, and maybe one of those would have been more to your liking? I hope... More

Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We arrived at 7;30.They close @ 9 pm . Good food, smallish portions. If you think the 1/2 sandwich and cup of soup will satisfy you , you may want to think twice. kitchen closes at (9;00 pm) make sure you give your entire order before they close the kitchen. Once we were served our meal, we all realized that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Owner at Downbeach Deli, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear about your less-than-perfect experience with us the other day, Angela. First off, anybody that comes in should only expect their orders to be accurate, so I apologize that your liver was forgotten in the first place. Also, if the food wasn't prepared the way you would have preferred, again, I apologize for that as well. That... More

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I used to eat here every other day. Last few times have been bad to fair. I'll try again this winter but prefer the new Gilcrest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Four of us had a late lunch on Memorial Day. If there had been a crowd, it had dissapated by 2 PM. Something for everybody from a cheese omelette to matzoh ball soup and pastrami sandwich, to lean or fatty corned beef. Quick service to some very demanding guests (us). Modest cost. If you like deli, try this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Owner at Downbeach Deli, responded to this review

Glad to hear you were a fan when you visited us back in May, jagman8f! You guys made some great choices, and I hope we see you again sometime -- I know you won't be disappointed! All the best, Robert H, Owner More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

After trying desperately to find a good breakfast/lunch place at the shore, we stumbled across this gem. Don't expect fancy decor or linens, but do expect fresh pickles, friendly service, and excellent food. Also, as a vegetarian, I appreciate that there are many tasty options listed, rather than just a salad, as in so many other delis. This will be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Owner at Downbeach Deli, responded to this review

I'm glad you stumbled across us, Tom! We were more than happy to accommodate you with our vegetarian options, and it's great to hear you enjoyed everything so much. I hope you've been back to see us again since you left this review, and if not, I hope we'll be seeing you soon! Best, Robert H, Owner More

Palm Coast, Fl
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Corned beef hash...awful. The only good thing was the egg! Cold corned beef sandwich..had to have it heated. Was told they serve it cold!! Potato pancakes a disaster..tasteless.. gave them back to the server Reuben and cheese blintzes not so good either. This place needs to go to a real deli and take notes! Service so-so..very pleasant server, but hard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is possibly the only deli/diner type restaurant I have ever been to where the multi-page laminated menu has local advertising -- and lots of it. Ads not only included lawyers, builders and retirement villages but also plastic surgery doctors and even the local synagogue - intriguing concept and certainly a way to make your menu pay for itself before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Owner at Downbeach Deli, responded to this review

Sounds like you're a real fan! I'm so happy to hear that you've always enjoyed everything so much, from the food to the service, and I appreciate your great review. I know it's been a while since you left this, but I wanted to say that, although I see you're based in California, I hope you've had a chance to... More

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I eat here at least twice a week. Great food. Great deli. Wonderful daily specials. If you have to wait to be seated.....doesn't that mean that the place is in demand? Duh!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Owner at Downbeach Deli, responded to this review

We're so happy to have you as a regular, Billy! Thanks for the rave review. Stop in and visit us again soon. Best, Robert H, Owner More

Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you don't mind waiting, to be seated, to get service, to be served hot food,to be acknowledged at all, then go here. If you don't mind cardboard flavored rock hard potato latkes the size of cameos, then go here. If you don't mind under filled,overpriced, fatty and or ice cold hot meat sandwiches, then go there. Take it from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilmington,De
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stopped on the last day of our vacation looking for a "lite bite" Perfect choice A chopped liver side dish ,a potato kinish .,a hot pastrami sandwich and a chocolate egg cream made the 2 of us smile ....A little taste of "Brooklyn" in Ventnor ,NJ

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Owner at Downbeach Deli, responded to this review

I'm really happy to hear that you thought we were perfect, BARRYS! It sounds like you both enjoyed everything, and I appreciate you letting us know about it. I know it's been a year since you left this, but I hope you've had a chance to visit us again since then. If not, I hope we see you again soon!... More

Travelers who viewed Downbeach Deli also viewed

Margate City, NJ
Margate City, NJ
 

Been to Downbeach Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downbeach Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing