We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mason Jar

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
221 Ramapo Valley Rd, Mahwah, NJ 07430-1637
+1 201-529-2302
Website
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:30 am - 12:00 am
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 2:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: When you're looking for good food with family, a drink with friends, or...
When you're looking for good food with family, a drink with friends, or even just a place to watch the game, come see what's cooking at the Mason Jar! We believe that variety is the spice of life so our menu is all about options. Choose from a crisp salad, mouth-watering BBQ, fresh seafood, and so much more! But don't forget about our famous Sunday brunch! Mason Jar also features a full bar with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday from 4-7pm. Grab a couple of co-workers and wind down after a long day with our signature cocktails and draft beers. With 8 big screen TVs, Mason Jar is the perfect place to watch the big game! Join us on Thursday nights during football season to cheer on your favorite team. We also host live music every Friday and Saturday night! Enjoy the weather out on our beautiful dog-friendly patio with your favorite pooch or a seat at our spacious bar. At Mason Jar, we want your visit to be a fun and enjoyable experience! We're committed to friendly service, delicious food, and a welcoming atmosphere. When you're in the mood for food and fun, come down to Mason Jar for a good time!
read more
Good for:
Families with children

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 166 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 43
    Excellent
  • 57
    Very good
  • 33
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 22
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Very good food but a bit pricey

Wings were good. Blue cheese dressing was yummy. Convenient to Fairfield inn and suites. Price for a burger and salad was a little more than I usually pay

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 16, 2015
paul m
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I've lived in Mahwah for 35 yrs. The Mason jar has never been a place I would recommend . Food and service is not good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel W, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this review

Well this isn't what we like to see, Lynn, nor is it feedback we typically get! Wish we had a little more to go off of here, but know we will be forwarding this along to the team to make sure every one of our guests is getting a top notch dining experience. If there's anything specific you can point... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Wings were good. Blue cheese dressing was yummy. Convenient to Fairfield inn and suites. Price for a burger and salad was a little more than I usually pay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel W, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this review

We're so happy you enjoyed the wings, and blue cheese dressing, Paul. Thanks so much for letting us know! We look forward to seeing you again. Best, Ira & Joel More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

I've never written a review before but don't want anyone else to go through what I did. My husband was served a drink that had something suspicious in it. Unfortunately he drank some of it before returning the drink. A little while later he became unresponsive and needed to be taken to the hospital. I believe he was served a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Joel W, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this review

Jacqueline, what you are saying is extremely serious and concerning. We would never put any type of drug in our drinks and hearing about this is upsetting. If you wouldn't mind giving us a call to discuss this in further detail, we'd appreciate it. (201) 529-2302 Many thanks, Ira & Joel More 

northwestern michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

This was within a dangerous walk from the Doubletree hotel. No sidewalks from one to the other so I was walking on the road precariously. the food was good and lots of it. MId range price so be prepared to drop a couple dimes for a steak or anything more than a burger but probably worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel W, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this review

Thanks so much for stopping by when you were in town! We're glad you enjoyed the food, and we definitely think the quality is worth the price. Next time you're in town, we'd love to see you again! Many thanks, Ira & Joel More 

NJ
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

I used to go to college in the area and we would sometimes stop at the Mason Jar. The food was never terrific, but I kept thinking that it was just a fluke. It always smells delicious, I thought I was just making poor choices. We've stopped in over the years and it has been the same experience. Today, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel W, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this review

It's great to hear you enjoyed the key lime pie and mashed potatoes, however we're sorry if you didn't enjoy the other items you ordered. If you ever decide to give us another shot, we'd be happy to talk to you about the items on our menu and find something that fits your tastes. Best, Ira & Joel More 

Boston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015 via mobile

1. Steak Diane ordered for $27, good piece of meat- okay but NOT steak Diane just some oddball sauce. 2. Cheese ravioli ordered with Italian sausage. Good ravioli served with diced, fried sausage bits used for pizza topping. Pfui.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel W, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this review

Thanks so much for dropping us a line, Don! We're sorry to hear you weren't impressed with the sauce that went with your steak. If you ever give us another chance, we'd love to hear more of what you think. However, we're happy to hear you enjoyed the cheese ravioli! Many thanks, Ira & Joel More 

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

If you want a nice friendly pub with good food, good prices and great service, you can't go wrong here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel W, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this review

Thanks so much! It's great to hear you think so. If there's anything we can do to really knock it out of the park the next time you come in, don't hesitate to let us know! Hoping to see you soon, Ira & Joel More 

Franklin Lakes, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I've eaten here a dozen times -- the restaurant is near the New York-New Jersey Headquarters where I volunteer -- and the food has always been at least good, sometimes splendid. Service has been unfailingly polite and attentive. The décor is a bit rough and ready, but there are some interesting items. It is very good for meetings -- there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel W, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this review

It's great to hear you enjoy the food, beer, and service here! Also, we're glad you're able to find different spots to have meetings and talk easily. We really appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you soon! Many thanks, Ira & Joel More 

Monroe, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

I have never done a negative review before, I usually prefer to say nothing at all and leave it to everyone else to have their own opinion - but this was exceptionally bad. The waiter seemed annoyed to even be there - the coffee arrived and two of them smelled like they had mixed the carafes with the regular coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joel W, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this review

Asking for something as simple as water should never be a hassle, Michael, so we're very sorry and embarrassed to hear about your experience with us. We train all of our servers to be attentive to the needs of our customers and ask questions to make sure things are okay. However, it sounds like that didn't happen, and we're very... More 

Belmont, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

we were down from nh for the holidays dec 19-22 stayed at the marriott /fairfield on ramapo road very convient the restaurant is called the mason jar after the jars your relatives or even you stored there jams veg or anything else that woulld keep for a long timed sealed the mason jar uses them for all drinks great concept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel W, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed it, Raymond, and thank you for such a detailed review. From describing the brick oven to the fire place, we really appreciate it and glad you had a nice meal with us. If you're ever in town again, we'd love to see you! Many thanks, Ira & Joel More 

Travelers who viewed Mason Jar also viewed

 

Been to Mason Jar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 221 Ramapo Valley Rd, Mahwah, NJ 07430-1637
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Mahwah
  • Phone Number: +1 201-529-2302

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 15
  • Cuisine: American

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

When you're looking for good food with family, a drink with friends, or even just a place to watch the game, come see what's cooking at the Mason Jar! We believe that variety is the spice of life so our menu is all about options. Choose from a crisp salad, mouth-watering BBQ, fresh seafood, and so much more! But don't forget about our famous Sunday brunch! Mason Jar also features a full bar with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday from 4-7pm. Grab a couple of co-workers and wind down after a long day with our signature cocktails and draft beers. With 8 big screen TVs, Mason Jar is the perfect place to watch the big game! Join us on Thursday nights during football season to cheer on your favorite team. We also host live music every Friday and Saturday night! Enjoy the weather out on our beautiful dog-friendly patio with your favorite pooch or a seat at our spacious bar. At Mason Jar, we want your visit to be a fun and enjoyable experience! We're committed to friendly service, delicious food, and a welcoming atmosphere. When you're in the mood for food and fun, come down to Mason Jar for a good time!
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 2:00 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mason Jar and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mason Jar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?