We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar

19 Jackson St, Carroll Villa, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Mad Batter at the Carroll Villa)
609-884-5970
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 110 restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $15 - $30
Hours:
Sun 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Mon - Sat 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Cuisines: American, Continental, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lafayette Street
Description: A Cape May tradition for over 30 years! The nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant is located at the Carroll Villa Hotel in the heart of the historic district. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, desserts and cocktails are served on the European-style front porch, garden terrace, and sky-lit dining room. Breakfast offerings include fresh squeezed juices, homemade fruit breads, and entrees such as crab benedict, oatmeal pancakes, or orange & almond french toast. Lunch entrees include the Maryland crab cake sandwich, fish & chips, and Waldorf chicken, as well as an assortment of salads. Dinner options are always inventive and the seafood is extraordinary. Entrees include award-winning jumbo lump crab cakes, juicy steaks, chicken and fresh fish specials daily. A sumptuous selection of desserts is made daily. The Mad Batter Bar features Happy Hour, eight beers on tap, a reasonably priced wine list, and a martini list sure to please. Live music and special events are planned throughout the year.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    442
    263
    123
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 NEW

Only had a 10-15 minute wait for breakfast which was a good start. Seated on patio which was a little tight but food was delicious and the staff was very friendly. Really liked the location and quaintness of the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 NEW

Great experience. From our waitress Meghan G. To our food. Hubby had a bowl of claim chowder to start, said it was the best he had ever tasted. He was wondering how it would be over linguini with fresh claims, Meghan told the chef and she said if we come back next night she will make it for him special... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 NEW

The breakfast was very good. I had 2 poached eggs with bacon. The poached eggs were perfectly made. The others at my table had similar breakfast and there were no complaints. We ate dinner one night and it was only average. I ordered a burger on a pretzel bun. The bun wasn't really the pretzel type bun and the hamburger... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Demarest NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

The last time I visited the Mad Batter I was very disappointed. This summer ended up eating twice with friends who wanted to try it and the meals were both delicious. Thoroughly enjoyed the food, the drinks and the service was extremely attentive. My previous review must have been on an off night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Dear Bluehen72, Thank you for writing a review about us. We are very sorry that you had a bad experience last time you were here We are glad that you decided to try us again and enjoyed everything! . We hope to see you soon! More

Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

Staying at the Carrol Villa Inn affords you vouchers for breakfast each morning. French toast the first day and a fluffy 3-egg omelet the second were great choices. Sitting street side was lovely with cool morning breezes. Get there by 8:30-9am on the weekends otherwise you most likely will have a wait on your hands. Wish they had better coffee.....didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

Great place for breakfast. The menu is a mix of familiar and new items with something for everyone. Breakfast cocktails are tastey and the staff is friendly and attentive. Say hi to Tom, he's a delightful and entertaining server with charm and wit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

We have been eating brunch here for years. When I took a friend there for lunch during the week after raving about "Mad Batter", we were disappointed. When we arrived no one was at the hostess stand for several minutes. We were seated on the porch right away. My friend got the crab cake sandwich and said it tasted "fishy".... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yardley
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 NEW

The service was great. The food was horrible. My girl friend got the crab cake; which was cold, flopped on a roll with tomato and lettuce, and had no sauce or boost to it- overall bland and mushy. I got the lobster ravioli with shrimp and scallop for $33. It came with 3 shrimp, 3 scallops, and 3 raviolis. "Tomato... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Dear JoeWPrince, We apologize that you were disappointed with your meal. We always want our customers to leave happy. We wish you would of mentioned it while you were dining with us, because we would of taken care of it and replaced it without something else. Maybe you can come try us again another time. More

White Haven, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 NEW

Stayed here for a short ladies overnight trip and got a fantastic deal that enticed us to have dinner and breakfast here. I normally dont order steak and stick to seafood but my surf and turf was amazing! Next time we come to cape may, I wouldn't think twice before staying here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 NEW

We had gone to visit Cape May for a stroll around town in the morning so, we stopped here for brunch at 11:30am. There was a long line outside so, we thought we'd have to put our name on a list. Surprisingly, NO wait, the line ahead of us moved in to tables and we were brought to a nice,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing