We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harry's Ocean Bar & Grille

$$
American, Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1025 Beach Ave, The Montreal Inn, Cape May, NJ 08204
+1 609-884-2779
Website
Improve this listing
Today
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Harry's is a casual restaurant with fantastic menu. Indoor and outdoor...
Harry's is a casual restaurant with fantastic menu. Indoor and outdoor seating plus a poolside bar. Great selection of food, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food can be delivered to your room in adjacent Montreal Inn or to the beach right in front of the restaurant. You're gonna like Harry's. Everybody does! We make the best Bloody Mary in Cape May. Live music most weekends.
read more
Good for:
Bar scene
Local cuisine
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 215 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 78
    Excellent
  • 72
    Very good
  • 35
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Delicious meal with an ocean view!

We were staying at the Montreal, so we just walked down to Harry's for dinner. The food was delicious and moderately priced. My husband had the coconut crusted shrimp, which he said were the best he has ever had! And I selected the vegetable lasagne, also very good! The restaurant is small... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed September 24, 2014
jlizsmith
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Local cuisine
  • Outdoor seating
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

The food is great there. I love that you get to see the ocean. I was disappointed in some of the staff. My waitress was slow. She came over to welcome us and I asked if we could place our food order the same time as our drink order. We had been there the night before and we knew what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keyport, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

We were actually taking a drive to check out beaches along the bay and found Harry's. It was easy to get to and had a very easy going vibe. There is plenty of outdoor deck space under cover or inside by the bar. A guitarist was setting up for music. It was right across from beach access and had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan H, General Manager at Harry's Ocean Bar & Grille, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with a great review.Our goal is to create an awesome dining and drinking experience. It is not only the food and drink, but the atmosphere and the ambiance/vibe. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to serving you again. More 

Fairfield County, CT
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

And I still have not, because I am too nice BUT I had the worst meal at Harry's the last week of Sept. I ordered crab cakes. I was served two of the most overdone crab cakes that resembled prepackaged frozen crab cakes. The outdoor bar was nice... but I will never go back. Sorry. Maybe it was off season,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan H, General Manager at Harry's Ocean Bar & Grille, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about you dining experience. I can promise you that our crab cakes are not frozen. We are located next to one the best fishing ports in the county and it would be a travesty if we didn't take advantage of it. We do hope that you give us another opportunity and leave you a different... More 

Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We were staying at the Montreal, so we just walked down to Harry's for dinner. The food was delicious and moderately priced. My husband had the coconut crusted shrimp, which he said were the best he has ever had! And I selected the vegetable lasagne, also very good! The restaurant is small, but there is outdoor seating, weather permitting, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan H, General Manager at Harry's Ocean Bar & Grille, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear about your dining experience at Harry's. We try to have something for everyone, whether you want to sit in a quieter setting inside or a lively, breezy outdoor patio. If you want a quick snack or a full dinner, or even a light breakfast. We try to accommodate to most, if not all tastes. Thank... More 

Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

My wife ordered a wrap for lunch that boasted hummus which could not be found and I ordered a BLT which arrived without the world famous New Jersey tomatos

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan H, General Manager at Harry's Ocean Bar & Grille, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are saddened to hear about your dining experience with us. I wish we were aware of the mistake while you were dining with us, for it would have been an easy situation to fix. We understand mistakes can be made, but we wish our guests would make... More 

Morrisville, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Two out of four dinners were almost inedible. Third was so so. Too many other places in cape may to choose from to ever revisit Harry's.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan H, General Manager at Harry's Ocean Bar & Grille, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your experience. We would appreciate if you contacted us at harryscapemay@gmail.com to discuss your experience in more detail. We don't like our guests to leave with a sour taste in their mouths and we hope to get the opportunity to resolve any issues. Thank you for letting us know about your time at Harry's. More 

Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This was really a great find with the beach only a couple hundred feet away, a wonderful outdoor seating area and really friendly waitstaff. The food was excellent but I don't know that it was worth the arm and leg we paid for it. Very over-priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan H, General Manager at Harry's Ocean Bar & Grille, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback about your experience at Harry's. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Harry's from the food to the service. We try to make our pricing as reasonable as possible, however with a seasonal business that deals with mostly seasonal distributors, our costs fluctuate throughout... More 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile

Food was unremarkable, maybe even yucky, very bland. Wait staff was upbeat and friendly but took a very, very long time to bring our bill. Overall a disappointment, especially considering pricing is very comparable to some other, much better eateries.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jonathan H, General Manager at Harry's Ocean Bar & Grille, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about your experience at Harry's. We will make sure that our kitchen staff is aware of the situation to eventually find a resolution to your comments. We do wish that we had the opportunity to resolve the issue before you left. We never want any of our guests to leave unsatisfied or at least try our best... More 

new york
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We had all but 2 breakfasts while we spent our 5 days in Cape May at Harry's. The breakfast menu is varied and the prices the most reasonable of the restaurants we looked at. The spinach and cheddar omelet was superb. What was funny was that for the 3 days we ate there, the breakfast potatoes were done totally differently... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan H, General Manager at Harry's Ocean Bar & Grille, responded to this review

Thank for making Harry's a multiple visit stop during your vacation. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast. With most breakfast entrees you can choose between home fries and tater tots, but I am happy to hear that the changes kept you coming back. Thank you for your loyal patronage and positive feedback. More 

Hartwick
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We arrived early and did not have to wait. Food was ok, but seem to be expensive. We were seated near the bar and there was a lot of noise. There is also outside seating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jonathan H, General Manager at Harry's Ocean Bar & Grille, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We wish you let us know about the loudness. We would have tried our best to seat you in a quieter area. We never want our guests to be unhappy and try our best to provide them with a more than adequate dining experience. We hope that you dine... More 

Travelers who viewed Harry's Ocean Bar & Grille also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Harry's Ocean Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1025 Beach Ave, The Montreal Inn, Cape May, NJ 08204
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Jersey Shore  >  Cape May
  • Phone Number: +1 609-884-2779

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 20
  • Cuisine: American, Bar

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating

Description

Harry's is a casual restaurant with fantastic menu. Indoor and outdoor seating plus a poolside bar. Great selection of food, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food can be delivered to your room in adjacent Montreal Inn or to the beach right in front of the restaurant. You're gonna like Harry's. Everybody does! We make the best Bloody Mary in Cape May. Live music most weekends.
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harry's Ocean Bar & Grille staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?