We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Whale Bar & Fish House

100 N Pennsylvania Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1835
609-492-0025
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 72 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    74
    52
    28
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

Casual friendly place with great food and a great staff. Worth the wait which was supposed to be 45 minutes was less than 20.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jerseychic63, Owner at Black Whale Bar & Fish House, responded to this review

thank you for the review! We look forward to serving you again!! More

Colts Neck, New Jersey
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 NEW via mobile

We recently spent a week on LBI and was fortunate to dine at the Black Whale twice... We were warn that this popular spot usually has a wait but with a full bar and a porch life could be worse... Our first visit was late Sunday night & we went with a bunch of appetizers.We had this amazing Maryland chowder;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jerseychic63, Owner at Black Whale Bar & Fish House, responded to this review

thank you for the review! We look forward to seeing you again in the future! More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is hands down the best fish and seafood in the area. The large salad that comes with the meal and the 2 homemade dressing are amazing and add to the whole excitement of the meal. It is always super crowded (a sign that the food is good) and kind of loud. It's a place to get a great meal,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jerseychic63, Owner at Black Whale Bar & Fish House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again soon! More

Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I can't speak to this place as a restaurant, but their bar Happy Hour is just fine. Drinks are half-price and most of the bar food is also less expensive. The oysters are fresh, cold and good. The steamed clams, and mussels in a white wine and garlic butter sauce, are delicious. Go...have a few beers with friends...and ignore the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jerseychic63, Owner at Black Whale Bar & Fish House, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write a review! We love our happy hour but you should definitely not ignore the rest. Everything is hand made on premise and specials are carefully thought out by our chef. You are missing out!! More

Greenport, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We called twice the same day for a reservation. I finally walked over to the restaurant to try to make a reservation in person. The hostess was at her stand, I explained to her that I keep getting the voicemail and she suddenly noticed the phone lines were lit up. She then told me that she has taken all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jerseychic63, Owner at Black Whale Bar & Fish House, responded to this review

Dear Christinebella, We are sorry that you had a less than pleasurable experience at the Black whale. We assure you that we strive to bring the best quality food to the table in a comfortable & enjoying atmosphere. We take a very limited number of reservations-yes only about 6 and they are on a first come first serve basis as... More

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I was very disappointed with this place. After visiting LBI numerous times and not being able to get a table here I can't understand why. This place is over crowded, not pretty, and the food it just ok. The service was terrible the place is dark and croweded. On arrival you are given these very hard bread balls which can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jerseychic63, Owner at Black Whale Bar & Fish House, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a less than pleasurable experience in your visit to the Black Whale. During June, July, and August the wait can be very long as we are a small family run restaurant. We have decorated with local artists and photography and the booths and other wood work are hand made. The "hard bread balls" you are... More

Simsbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

It is hard to find a good restaurant in Beach Haven after Sandy and this was a family favorite but no longer. This was our second visit this season both times we were very disappointed. Dinner with 1 cocktail each for 4 was over 200$. Unfortunately this is now typical on LBI and wouldn't be an issue if the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Millburn, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

to the crab-cakes!!!! Also, the Ipswich Steamers are amazing. Oysters on the half shell are so good and fresh. Fish specials are also consistently good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jerseychic63, Owner at Black Whale Bar & Fish House, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! We hope to see you again soon!! More

Northport, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We recently visited for dinner on a Tuesday evening. We had reservations and waited about 10-15 minutes no problem. We sat at the bar which was noisy but most bars we've been in have been noisy. We were sat at the first table for two in from the bar which was Ok. Our food was good.. Hubby had the swordfish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Small casual restaurant. Friendly staff. Nice selection of draft beer at the bar. Best chowder I've ever had...best crab cake I've ever had...most tender octopus I've ever had. Delicious key lime pie...better than the best in Key West. If I could give this place six stars I would. We most definitely will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Black Whale Bar & Fish House also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Black Whale Bar & Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Whale Bar & Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing