We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Maine Course

American, Seafood, Vegetarian, Family Fare
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
325 9th Street, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
6094922328
Website
Add hours for The Maine Course and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 54 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 26
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Lobster rolls in NJ

This place is famous for its lobster rolls and they are... good. Not great, but good. We had both hot and cold and they were both fine. What was great was the sweet potato fries - yummmmm! We ate outside (a better option than a very crowded, small space indoors) and enjoyed the breeze at the same... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 13, 2014
TrackerVienna_VA
,
Vienna, VA
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

Lobster roll was the BEST! Just as good or even better than the ones from Kennebunkport! Lump fresh lobster used...no fillers. The bread was also fresh. The entire wait staff was friendly. The owner was hospitable (we almost forgot we're at a restaurant)! BONUS: we found this place by accident. I called a number of places on trip advisor with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

We ordered 2 trays of lobster rolls for our rehearsal dinner in October and they were perfect for our New England style dinner. They were delicious, perfectly portioned, we had each roll cut into thirds so they were like sliders. The guests raved about them also. We felt the price was fair for what you get, they're filled with large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washingtonville, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

This was our first visit and we were not disappointed. We were walking around Bay Village and came across the restaurant. On a nice day sit outside and enjoy the food and weather. Our server Kimberly was very nice and always made sure things were going well. They have the best New England clam chowder i have ever tasted!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 via mobile

The Maine Course may look like your typical tourist restaurant in the heart of Beach Haven, but this is a favorite with our family. The service is friendly (the owner, Cheryl, is especially so) and the food is outstanding. You would expect fresh fish at the Jersey shore, and this was no exception. This is the second time I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

The place looks nice and cozy from the outside but the service was poor. The mac and cheese bites were made from boxed mac and cheese, clearly, and were not served with any dipping sauce. The salad greens were wilted and each salad had very minimal toppings. I asked for more dressing and they paused, then reluctantly said "sure....". I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GucciButterfly, Owner at The Maine Course, responded to this review

It is unfortunate you did not have a good experience while eating at The Maine Course. First, let me say that the mac n cheese bites do not come out of a box. However, the more important issue is the disappointment in the service you received. We take pride in delivering excellent service and work very hard on that aspect... More 

Sandy hook, ct
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The staff was super accommodating with my son's peanut allergy. They were friendly and engaging. My wife and I had the hot lobster roll. We live in New England and these were as delicious as any we've tried back home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The Maine was great. The service is awesome and we had 5 kids with us. The Lobster Roll was outstanding and the other meals were superb. We loved it so much we're going back again for their "Appy Hour."

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This place is famous for its lobster rolls and they are... good. Not great, but good. We had both hot and cold and they were both fine. What was great was the sweet potato fries - yummmmm! We ate outside (a better option than a very crowded, small space indoors) and enjoyed the breeze at the same time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beach Haven, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My family and I have enjoyed the food at the Maine Couse since they opened. The menu offers lots of choices and the staff treats people right. We look forward to eating there... again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Surf City
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Went with 4 people, 3 ordered lobster rolls, 2 regular size and I ordered the jumbo roll which the waitress said was twice the size as the regular. She said regular is 4 inch roll and jumbo is 8 inch and double the size. When they came, the jumbo was an inch bigger than the regular and far from full,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GucciButterfly, Owner at The Maine Course, responded to this review

Please allow me to apologize for your poor experience. Any and all comments re: my servers are utilized as teaching tools to correct so folks will enjoy that all important aspect of their visit. As an fyi all lobster rolls are 6" long. Jumbo's are 8" long. The lobster meat comes from the sweetest parts' i.e. the knuckle and claw.... More 

Travelers who viewed The Maine Course also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to The Maine Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 325 9th Street, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Jersey Shore  >  Long Beach Island  >  Beach Haven
  • Phone Number: 6094922328

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: American, Seafood, Vegetarian, Family Fare

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Maine Course staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?