We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 71 Beach Haven Restaurants

The Maine Course

325 9th Street, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
6094922328
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 71 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Vegetarian, Family Fare
Restaurant details

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washingtonville, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

This was our first visit and we were not disappointed. We were walking around Bay Village and came across the restaurant. On a nice day sit outside and enjoy the food and weather. Our server Kimberly was very nice and always made sure things were going well. They have the best New England clam chowder i have ever tasted!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

The Maine Course may look like your typical tourist restaurant in the heart of Beach Haven, but this is a favorite with our family. The service is friendly (the owner, Cheryl, is especially so) and the food is outstanding. You would expect fresh fish at the Jersey shore, and this was no exception. This is the second time I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

The place looks nice and cozy from the outside but the service was poor. The mac and cheese bites were made from boxed mac and cheese, clearly, and were not served with any dipping sauce. The salad greens were wilted and each salad had very minimal toppings. I asked for more dressing and they paused, then reluctantly said "sure....". I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GucciButterfly, Owner at The Maine Course, responded to this review

It is unfortunate you did not have a good experience while eating at The Maine Course. First, let me say that the mac n cheese bites do not come out of a box. However, the more important issue is the disappointment in the service you received. We take pride in delivering excellent service and work very hard on that aspect... More

Sandy hook, ct
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

The staff was super accommodating with my son's peanut allergy. They were friendly and engaging. My wife and I had the hot lobster roll. We live in New England and these were as delicious as any we've tried back home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

The Maine was great. The service is awesome and we had 5 kids with us. The Lobster Roll was outstanding and the other meals were superb. We loved it so much we're going back again for their "Appy Hour."

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This place is famous for its lobster rolls and they are... good. Not great, but good. We had both hot and cold and they were both fine. What was great was the sweet potato fries - yummmmm! We ate outside (a better option than a very crowded, small space indoors) and enjoyed the breeze at the same time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beach Haven, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My family and I have enjoyed the food at the Maine Couse since they opened. The menu offers lots of choices and the staff treats people right. We look forward to eating there... again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Surf City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Went with 4 people, 3 ordered lobster rolls, 2 regular size and I ordered the jumbo roll which the waitress said was twice the size as the regular. She said regular is 4 inch roll and jumbo is 8 inch and double the size. When they came, the jumbo was an inch bigger than the regular and far from full,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GucciButterfly, Owner at The Maine Course, responded to this review

Please allow me to apologize for your poor experience. Any and all comments re: my servers are utilized as teaching tools to correct so folks will enjoy that all important aspect of their visit. As an fyi all lobster rolls are 6" long. Jumbo's are 8" long. The lobster meat comes from the sweetest parts' i.e. the knuckle and claw.... More

Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Honestly, a little baffled by the positive reviews after tonight. I wish I could say it must have been a bad night, but after consideration, no. Our meal was a total bust. The service staff was full of a lot of "Ummms," but not much else. Unmotivated and not cheerful, even on a bad night, they should have been more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GucciButterfly, Owner at The Maine Course, responded to this review

First and foremost let me apologize for your unpleasant experience. Wish I had caught this review sooner. I found your information re: my servers to be useful and will utilize it for training purposes. This server must have been new and fresh out of school which might explain why she didn't know where to get the closest beer. Taste and... More

Lumberton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

A delicious meal for the price. I had the famous jumbo lobster roll which was as good as I have had in Maine with a side of sweet potato fries. My son got the fried clam strips with onion rings, the clam strips were obviously fresh and very good. My husband got the fried seafood combination (flounder, shrimp and scallops).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers who viewed The Maine Course also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to The Maine Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maine Course

Address: 325 9th Street, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Phone Number: 6094922328
Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Jersey Shore  >  Long Beach Island  >  Beach Haven
Cuisine: American, Seafood, Vegetarian, Family Fare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing