We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Wolfeboro Restaurants

Wolfe's Tavern

90 North Main St., Wolfeboro, NH 03894
603-569-3016
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 34 Restaurants in Wolfeboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    48
    14
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

So I waited until my second visit to write a review. The first visit wasn't great and the second was about the same. First, I'll start out by saying the atmosphere was nice, comfortable and relaxing. The menu options are decent and the wine list is okay. It's nice to have a good selection of various wines by glass or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your reasoned, thoughtful comments. It looks as if we have failed you twice, and for this I sincerely apologize. It was inexcusable that a manager did not visit your table after this incident. I was the manager on duty that evening. I was tied up elsewhere in the building at the time, but that is... More

Deerfield, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

The bar area has a really cool tavern feeling. The beer was cold and the wait staff attentive. The pizza was a very cheesy to say the least, kind of over cheesed. If you like a lot of cheese order the pizza here. It is worth stopping here for a beer, the menu did seem like it is was priced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do get a lot of comments on our atmosphere. We have over 2000 pewter mugs on our ceiling and over 100 different beers to choose from in order to obtain one of our coveted mugs. I'm sorry you felt our pizza was over cheesed, the next time you're in make sure to mention that... More

Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Generally the food here is average. The salad bar is limited, but the beers are cold and the burgers are the best value on the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are constantly looking for areas in which we can grow and do more for our guests. With the growing cost of food, it is difficult to offer variety while trying to maintain value to the customer. We could easily sacrifice quality for price, but we feel we can do better than that. I hope... More

Alton Bay, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great atmosphere with the Hanging Beer Mugs that can be earned with having all of the beers listed on the extensive list there were 60+ when I earned my mug. Very good food, large portions, very friendly staff, cozy atmosphere, Two fireplaces running in winter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review our Tavern. Great to hear you are part of our Mug Club. The list is 100 beers total now, with over 2300 members and climbing. It is always interesting to see older beer cards people have not yet completed. Sometimes it takes many years but without fail, someone is always kissing the... More

Sharon, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We wound up taking a last minute trip to Wolfeboro to help a friend whose rental tenant called to tell her that there were several problems that needed immediate attention before the next renter arrived and decided to go to Wolfe's Tavern, a place we hadn't visited in several tears. Upon arrival at about 8 PM, we found that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We understand parking can get difficult during the summer months and we are always exploring options. Until we can find a solution, we appreciate your patience with the walk you may have. Keep in mind, soon enough snow will be falling and the town won't be as busy. Parking will become more available. Glad to... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Mediocre hostess. Nice enough waitress. We waited about half an hour for a table, but understood there were wedding parties. It was just my mother and I. We had not seen each other in months and were catching up. Just when we got our apps a young man, apparently from one of the wedding parties, approached our table. Him: (no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

I'm so sorry that you did not enjoy yourself here at the Tavern. The group did approach me to see if it was ok, and I informed them that not until after 10 pm when our dinner service ended and that they had to end at 11pm due to the guest rooms above. To my knowledge they held true to... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
752 reviews 752 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A beautiful location for weddings, this property has so much history it practically oozes out of the walls. The tavern is a lively place with a unique spin on competitive eating and drinking. Seasoned customer have their own tankards or martini glasses hanging from the ceiling. It's a lot of fun and the food is superb. The chef is very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We hope you enjoyed your trip to the lakes region and hopefully you can make it back this way soon. More

Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My mom, children and I went to Wolfe' Tavern for lunch. The waitress that seated us said that someone would be right with us. Didn't ask if she could take a drink order. Offered nothing. 20 min later the same woman came back and said that she would be our waitress. We ordered everything so that we would not have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had a bad experience with us in May. I can assure you that this is not the typical experience here at the Tavern. I'd like to find out more about your experience so i can address the issues with the appropriate individuals and also be able to ascertain why this may have happened. Please feel free to... More

Newbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a great time after the rehearsal dinner in the tavern and after the wedding the following night. It was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

We enjoyed being a part of your special day. Thank you for your comments. More

Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I had the most bizarre restaurant experience here yesterday. I know it was a holiday but it was pretty unacceptable particularly since they weren't very busy. Hostess told us there would be a wait for a server but we asked to be seated anyways. She sat us but without menus and never brought us even water. We later requested water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had frustrating experiences here at the Tavern. I think your comments reflect a situation where an employee who was trying to fulfill a request, violated one of our standards and it cost us. Let me explain. Typically when restaurants fall behind due to demand they will go on a wait at the door, which means the only... More

Travelers who viewed Wolfe's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Wolfe's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfe's Tavern

Address: 90 North Main St., Wolfeboro, NH 03894
Phone Number: 603-569-3016
Location: United States  >  New Hampshire (NH)  >  Wolfeboro
Cuisine: American, Contemporary

Do you own or manage Wolfe's Tavern?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing