We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wolfe's Tavern

90 North Main St., Wolfeboro, NH 03894
603-569-3016
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Wolfeboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
12 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    55
    48
    12
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alton Bay, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great atmosphere with the Hanging Beer Mugs that can be earned with having all of the beers listed on the extensive list there were 60+ when I earned my mug. Very good food, large portions, very friendly staff, cozy atmosphere, Two fireplaces running in winter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sharon, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We wound up taking a last minute trip to Wolfeboro to help a friend whose rental tenant called to tell her that there were several problems that needed immediate attention before the next renter arrived and decided to go to Wolfe's Tavern, a place we hadn't visited in several tears. Upon arrival at about 8 PM, we found that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Mediocre hostess. Nice enough waitress. We waited about half an hour for a table, but understood there were wedding parties. It was just my mother and I. We had not seen each other in months and were catching up. Just when we got our apps a young man, apparently from one of the wedding parties, approached our table. Him: (no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

I'm so sorry that you did not enjoy yourself here at the Tavern. The group did approach me to see if it was ok, and I informed them that not until after 10 pm when our dinner service ended and that they had to end at 11pm due to the guest rooms above. To my knowledge they held true to... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
648 reviews 648 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A beautiful location for weddings, this property has so much history it practically oozes out of the walls. The tavern is a lively place with a unique spin on competitive eating and drinking. Seasoned customer have their own tankards or martini glasses hanging from the ceiling. It's a lot of fun and the food is superb. The chef is very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We hope you enjoyed your trip to the lakes region and hopefully you can make it back this way soon. More

Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My mom, children and I went to Wolfe' Tavern for lunch. The waitress that seated us said that someone would be right with us. Didn't ask if she could take a drink order. Offered nothing. 20 min later the same woman came back and said that she would be our waitress. We ordered everything so that we would not have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had a bad experience with us in May. I can assure you that this is not the typical experience here at the Tavern. I'd like to find out more about your experience so i can address the issues with the appropriate individuals and also be able to ascertain why this may have happened. Please feel free to... More

Newbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a great time after the rehearsal dinner in the tavern and after the wedding the following night. It was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

We enjoyed being a part of your special day. Thank you for your comments. More

Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I had the most bizarre restaurant experience here yesterday. I know it was a holiday but it was pretty unacceptable particularly since they weren't very busy. Hostess told us there would be a wait for a server but we asked to be seated anyways. She sat us but without menus and never brought us even water. We later requested water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had frustrating experiences here at the Tavern. I think your comments reflect a situation where an employee who was trying to fulfill a request, violated one of our standards and it cost us. Let me explain. Typically when restaurants fall behind due to demand they will go on a wait at the door, which means the only... More

Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We're guests at the Inn and have had one breakfast and two dinners in the Tavern so far. Breakfast was delicious and we really like the deck. Dinner was very good too; we especially liked the live music on Tuesday night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review. Tiki Tuesday with Ron Drolet is a good time and has been for years. I hope you are able to come back and experience some more of our offerings like Thirsty Thursday on the Winnipesaukee Belle or our new Sunday Sunset Cruise on the Winnipesaukee Belle (starting July 20th). Cheers! More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were guests at the wolfboro inn. We went downstairs for dinner. The atmosphere is rustic and quite charming and the food smells delicious. However I couldn't tell you how it tastes as we never made it to a table. We were told the wait was 15 minutes although there were plenty of empty tables. After patiently waiting for 15... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

I'm very sorry you did not get an opportunity to dine with us. I remember the night you reference and we were very busy that night. We had a lot of reservations coming in which would've accounted for the empty tables, it would also be why they were sat so quickly. We do try and communicate as effectively as we... More

Buckeye Country
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had a group of five on a Sunday afternoon for a late lunch. We arrived after the brunch buffet. We were seated immediately and everyone was very friendly. Everything we ordered (nachos, burgers, fries, chicken tenders, salad with grilled shrimp) had generous portions and tasted very good. I would visit on a return visit. We had great friendly service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your afternoon with us at our Tavern. Now that we have such great weather here in Wolfeboro, people tend to spend their time out in the sun and on the water; which could be why we weren't too busy on the Sunday afternoon you visited. Maybe next time you visit you could join us for our... More

Travelers who viewed Wolfe's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Wolfe's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolfe's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing