We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wolfe's Tavern

American, Pub, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
90 North Main St., Wolfeboro, NH 03894
603-569-3016
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Wolfe's Tavern and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 202 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 74
    Excellent
  • 70
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
One of the nicer restaurants in Wolfboro

We ate here during Indian summer and had lunch on the deck. We first went into he bar and thought it had a nice ambience. If the weather hadn't been so nice, we would have eaten there. However, we got a great table with an umbrella. We ordered wine and beer, salads and sandwiches. Everything... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
NHjojo
,
NH
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
NH
Level Contributor
392 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here during Indian summer and had lunch on the deck. We first went into he bar and thought it had a nice ambience. If the weather hadn't been so nice, we would have eaten there. However, we got a great table with an umbrella. We ordered wine and beer, salads and sandwiches. Everything was very good, and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank NHjojo
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

The food is surprisingly good here, even though it can feel like a tourist trap. Friendly atmosphere, especially cozy in the winter and one of the few places open all year round.

Helpful?
Thank Snappy B
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for the review. We love to hear that our guests felt great and enjoyed the food during their visit to the Tavern. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

I came here to have Sunday brunch with my family to celebrate my grandmother's 70th birthday. My father called a couple days before to make sure they were doing the brunch and if they have gluten free options for my grandmother. When we arrived we were asked if we had a reservation. We replied no, no one told us on... More 

Helpful?
Thank allyg571
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we would like to apologize for the experience you had at the door. We want each of our guests to feel welcome when dining with us and this is not the experience you had. We are a bit disappointed that you felt our food was just okay, as we are one of the best establishments... More 

Watertown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

I have been going here every summer for 15 years. It took me 6 years to earn my own mug form their beer challenge. I enjoy talking to the locals that frequent the bar at lunchtime. Staff is helpful and very friendly. Food is very good as well.

Helpful?
Thank Steve L
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review; we truly appreciate your feedback. We love that we have been able to leave such a lasting impression, I will be sure to pass along your accolades. Please join us again on your next trip to Wolfeboro. More 

New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

Had a late lunch and maybe that is why my pineapple grilled salad was drowned in the ranch dressing and tasted like it had been for some time. The bits of bacon and onion were greasy. Service was OK but we will not be returning.

Helpful?
Thank Jennie018
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet expectations, the time of your visit should not affect the quality of our product. We have connected with our culinary team to flag your concern and to see if there is anything we can address in the future.... More 

DuPage County, IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

This is a 'bad news/okay-to-good news' review. We attended a weekend reception in Wolfeboro in mid-September. Fell totally in love with the town and the area, but can't say I was enamored with the 'crown jewel' of Wolfeboro. Several members of our party stayed a the Inn, but I can't personally speak for the accommodations. I can, however, tell you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Momski54
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to alert us of your experience with us. I hope you will accept our apologies, as there is absolutely no excuse for anything, but superior service when dining with us. We are disappointed to hear that there were several mistakes and errors in our service. We strive to give our guests an unforgettable dining... More 

New Durham, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

Stopped in with some friends for a couple of drinks and appetizers. The service and atmosphere was great. Food was average.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

We cannot thank you enough for your comments regarding your recent visit. We are thrilled the ambiance combined with service was able to provide a great time. Sorry to hear you considered our appetizers just average, we are updating our menu to reflect the fall season, perhaps you should give the new appetizers a try. More 

Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015 via mobile

We dined with another couple on a Friday evening. After a disappointing meal over the past Christmas holiday we decided to give it another try. Well, it was once again disappointing. Where was the prime rib? Only on Saturday evenings. Where's the fresh bread? I ordered linguini and along with the other meals no bread came to the table. Where's... More 

Helpful?
Thank SharCaff
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

SharCaff, thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at Wolfe’s Tavern. We sincerely apologize we did not meet your expectations once again. Your comments have been taken very seriously. True our prime rib has always been on Saturdays, however we do have many other offering for our guest looking for a nice steak dinner. We... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

Had some light food and some drinks one night and breakfast a couple of days. Everyone seemed to enjoy. Don't remember anything that was outstanding but everyone enjoyed their food and the service was good.

Helpful?
Thank jnet26
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the review, we hope to welcome you back to the tavern soon so you can have the outstanding experience we thrive to provide or guests with! More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015 via mobile

My husband got the all you can eat haddock special--well you couldn't eat much! Must have been frozen, mushy & fishy tasting. Cole slaw was not edible. I got steak tips pretty good but pricey & not served hot. Veggies good but not enough of them. Bread was very good but didn't come until after the meal! The manager did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marge P
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Marge P, Thank you for the review. Generally we receive great comments about our food and welcome all feedback from our guests. We have shared your comments with our Chef and his team for their consideration. We would like to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves, please contact me as it would be my pleasure to personally assist with your... More 

Travelers who viewed Wolfe's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Wolfe's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 90 North Main St., Wolfeboro, NH 03894
  • Location: United States  >  New Hampshire (NH)  >  Wolfeboro
  • Phone Number: 603-569-3016

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: American, Pub, Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wolfe's Tavern staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?