We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
90 North Main St., Wolfeboro, NH 03894
603-569-3016
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 35 Restaurants in Wolfeboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    56
    18
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015 NEW

Every time I’ve visited the Tavern, I’ve had a great experience. My favorite thing on the menu is the ravioli with steak tips. I like that their menu changes frequently, and that they run different specials every night. The chefs are so creative, and also very accommodating if you have a dietary restriction, or even just a special request. There’s... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 NEW

Wolfe's Tavern, is an original building from the founding of this country, and is a part of a very modern and majestic old world Inn located perfectly on the lake in downtown Wolfeboro NH. The Tavern provides an extraordinary array of fine dinning from $4.00 up to $30.00 dinning choices. The executive chef is on the website, and moves around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 NEW

Wolfes Tavern is a part of the Wolfeboro Inn. The building dates back to pre revolution 1700's. With that being said, it is a rustic environment that does not contain the modern restaurants free flowing abilities to serve quickly. The service is excellent. The food is a NY chef with years of experience and it shows and they have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I have eaten at Wolfe's Tavern numerous times and 5 out of 10 times, the food is great. The other 5 times it is always sadly disappointing. The menu does change but they seem to take off my favorite dishes each time they change it. The service is very slow 9 out of 10 times. Restaurant choices are slim in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Although I was quite happy with a lunch I had at the Wolfeboro Tavern about a year ago, I was not as impressed by dinner. Personally, as a picky eater, I found the menu limited -- most dishes were just a bit too adventurous for my taste. Shepherd's pie, for example, was quite different from the customary dish -- although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We found the dinner menu to be minimal but interesting. We tried 5 different dinners and found them to be good. Appetizers were ok. The clam chowder was not as thick as I like it but had good flavor and ingredients. Our waitress was super. I believe it was Rebecca. She did a great job taking care of us. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Tavern. We appreciate any and all feedback from our guests. I'm sorry to read that you felt our menu to be minimal. Due to being attached to the Inn we find that we must offer a wide variety of items, which include soups, salads plus a salad bar,... More 

Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We keep trying this in hopes that it will be good, but... Our most recent visit was for lunch with friends. It was not great. My sandwich was passable, but the Ruben ordered by one of our friends was awful. The bottom slice of bread was totally soaked and the meat couldn't be cut or chewed. The staff didn't apologize... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry we have let you down. I'd be curious to know more about your experience here. I've shared your comments with the team here and we are looking into what happened. We do make a lot of our items in house including the Corned Beef, because we feel we... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

We had dinner twice at the restaurant, and were happy with the quality of the food at a reasonable price point. The bar area was a little loud.. The first time it took a while to get seated; there were plenty of spare tables, but not enough waitstaff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed it here. Yes the tavern can get quite busy and loud at times, but that lends to the atmosphere of this 200 year old building. We hope to see you again soon and have a safe and happy holiday season. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

I have eaten at the Wolfe's Tavern on several occasions and have been disappointed every time. The waitstaff is nice enough, but the atmosphere is loud. Each time I have eaten here my order has been incorrect or my food cold when it finally arrives at the table. It seems as though the plate the food without any consideration of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

I'm very sorry for our failure to serve you. Our goal is to serve great food and provide great service. I will admit that our Tavern can get quite noisy at times, especially if the Pat's or Bruins are playing. It also depends on the make up of the guests, we seem to get a very diverse group of people... More 

Seabrook, New Hampshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Have been here many times, really enjoy the food and the atmosphere, but the service is so slow that it is painful, last weekend arrived and were told it would be a half hour wait to be seated, but you could see about four empty tables in the front room, luckily we got a seat at the bar, but other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Sir I'm very sorry for your experience here at the Tavern. We strive for great food & great service, I will be sharing your comments with our staff to help motivate them further. I was here the day you mentioned and the reason for the wait despite having visibly open tables was due to the size of the parties that... More 

Travelers who viewed Wolfe's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Wolfe's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfe's Tavern

Address: 90 North Main St., Wolfeboro, NH 03894
Phone Number: 603-569-3016
Location: United States  >  New Hampshire (NH)  >  Wolfeboro
Cuisine: American, Contemporary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wolfe's Tavern staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?