We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wolfe's Tavern

90 North Main St., Wolfeboro, NH 03894
603-569-3016
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 34 restaurants in Wolfeboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
12 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    55
    46
    12
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
637 reviews 637 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A beautiful location for weddings, this property has so much history it practically oozes out of the walls. The tavern is a lively place with a unique spin on competitive eating and drinking. Seasoned customer have their own tankards or martini glasses hanging from the ceiling. It's a lot of fun and the food is superb. The chef is very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We hope you enjoyed your trip to the lakes region and hopefully you can make it back this way soon. More

Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My mom, children and I went to Wolfe' Tavern for lunch. The waitress that seated us said that someone would be right with us. Didn't ask if she could take a drink order. Offered nothing. 20 min later the same woman came back and said that she would be our waitress. We ordered everything so that we would not have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had a bad experience with us in May. I can assure you that this is not the typical experience here at the Tavern. I'd like to find out more about your experience so i can address the issues with the appropriate individuals and also be able to ascertain why this may have happened. Please feel free to... More

Newbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a great time after the rehearsal dinner in the tavern and after the wedding the following night. It was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

We enjoyed being a part of your special day. Thank you for your comments. More

Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I had the most bizarre restaurant experience here yesterday. I know it was a holiday but it was pretty unacceptable particularly since they weren't very busy. Hostess told us there would be a wait for a server but we asked to be seated anyways. She sat us but without menus and never brought us even water. We later requested water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had frustrating experiences here at the Tavern. I think your comments reflect a situation where an employee who was trying to fulfill a request, violated one of our standards and it cost us. Let me explain. Typically when restaurants fall behind due to demand they will go on a wait at the door, which means the only... More

Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We're guests at the Inn and have had one breakfast and two dinners in the Tavern so far. Breakfast was delicious and we really like the deck. Dinner was very good too; we especially liked the live music on Tuesday night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review. Tiki Tuesday with Ron Drolet is a good time and has been for years. I hope you are able to come back and experience some more of our offerings like Thirsty Thursday on the Winnipesaukee Belle or our new Sunday Sunset Cruise on the Winnipesaukee Belle (starting July 20th). Cheers! More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were guests at the wolfboro inn. We went downstairs for dinner. The atmosphere is rustic and quite charming and the food smells delicious. However I couldn't tell you how it tastes as we never made it to a table. We were told the wait was 15 minutes although there were plenty of empty tables. After patiently waiting for 15... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

I'm very sorry you did not get an opportunity to dine with us. I remember the night you reference and we were very busy that night. We had a lot of reservations coming in which would've accounted for the empty tables, it would also be why they were sat so quickly. We do try and communicate as effectively as we... More

Buckeye Country
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had a group of five on a Sunday afternoon for a late lunch. We arrived after the brunch buffet. We were seated immediately and everyone was very friendly. Everything we ordered (nachos, burgers, fries, chicken tenders, salad with grilled shrimp) had generous portions and tasted very good. I would visit on a return visit. We had great friendly service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your afternoon with us at our Tavern. Now that we have such great weather here in Wolfeboro, people tend to spend their time out in the sun and on the water; which could be why we weren't too busy on the Sunday afternoon you visited. Maybe next time you visit you could join us for our... More

Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn and enjoyed excellent breakfasts on both mornings we were there. Great variety and good value. Gluten-free toast was even available which was a plus. The service was superb as well. In addition, we enjoyed great cocktails at the tavern in the evening and found the bartenders to be very engaging and proficient. Only had the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

The pleasure was all ours! We are delighted you enjoyed our new breakfast menu. For future visits please know most of our menu accommodates a gluten free diet. Our chefs take extra care and time preparing dishes for guests with food restrictions and allergies. It is not uncommon to see our chefs in the dining room speaking with customers about... More

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We ordered the PEI mussels that were delicious. We also ordered the spinach salad that had caramelized onions, currants, nuts and a great dressing. The bread was warm and served with a selection of olive oil, butter or tomato olive oil with olives. Very good to dip into the mussels that had an incredible sauce. Our waitress Rachel was excellent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We aspire to provide unparalleled food & service to every guest. It is nice to see our efforts have paid off since your previous visits with us. I will be sure to recognize Rachel for her excellent service and pass along your comments. With the summer season approaching we do welcome... More

Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Loved the salmon wife has salmon everywhere, said it was the best ever. Service was excellent. I like the moose!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review

I am delighted to know you and your wife enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for your feedback; I will pass it along to our staff. Hearing your wife say we prepared her the best salmon she ever had is just awesome, something we always strive for. Our culinary team works very hard to provide daily specials and menu... More

Travelers who viewed Wolfe's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Wolfe's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolfe's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing