We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Roundabout Diner

520 Us Highway 1 Byp, Portsmouth, NH 03801
+1 603-431-1440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 187 restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: At the Roundabout Diner and Lounge, we serve breakfast all day, great burgers and sandwiches, Phantom Gourmet award-winning BBQ, comfort food classics like meatloaf, roast turkey, and of course, local New England favorites like fish and chips, and the best lobster roll around. We also use locally sourced ingredients wherever possible, like bread baked just for us by When Pigs Fly Bakery, breakfast sausage made for us in Vermont, local cheeses, and more. And we make all our desserts right here at the Roundabout. From scratch!
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    76
    71
    33
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

This just happened to be nearest to our hotel, so we took the easy option.A typical Diner layout, full of retro images from the 50s/60s Broad, good menu .Not the quickest service and, as usual, the air con was a tad cool, but the food was fine and ,naturally, served with a big smile !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW via mobile

Stopped by with a group of 14, no reservation, no problem. Waitress was fun and attentive and efficient - including separate checks. Food is better than "diner fare", large portions. Good value for the food. Interior designed to look like a 50's diner, including old rock n roll music. We're sorry we waited until the last night of our trip... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

We went here for dinner once and breakfast once and were quite pleased with both meals. Everyone in our party enjoyed their dinner and two declared the fries the best they had ever had. Service was quite good - there was a short delay when we arrived but our waitress had been sat a large party including 5 boys sitting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

We were told the desserts were home cooked - and they absolutely were. I had the banana cream pie - splendid. My husband had the carrot cake - huge piece and so big we saved it to finish the next day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

We had a good dinner here, the lobster rolls were excellent! We also had a decent breakfast. The service was adequate but could have been more friendly. On a busy weekend I guess the staff were tired.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, Conn.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW via mobile

Frustrated by the terrible traffic and lack of parking downtown, we stopped at the Roundabout on the way to Maine. There were very few lunchtime customers but service was slow. My daughter pronounced her chicken sandwich the worst she had ever had, saying it tasted like it had been frozen and then microwaved. My salad was OK. the decor was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ste Catherine de Hatley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW

Everyone was very friendly....the breakfast was just ok. Very convenient if you're staying at the BW.

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our breakfast was good. Service when were first seated and while ordering was good. Meals were delivered in a timely manner, but once our meals arrived. Service was non existent. Had to wait a long time to get more coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were driving from Maine to Boston and stopped in for a late lunch. We were seated in the main dinning area with only one other table occupied. After sitting for over 5 minutes waiting to be served, with not so much as a hello, my son finally got up to speak to the hostess. After several more minutes our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan P, Owner at The Roundabout Diner, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that our food hit the mark for you however, we are truly sorry for your recent experience with service here at the Roundabout. Our great customer service is typically what stands out most to our guests and it is very disappointing to hear that it was not the case for you. I am looking into... More

Ipswich, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We ate at the Roundabout Diner over the 4th of July weekend during a visit to Portsmouth to see the fireworks and we were very happy with the food, the service and atmosphere -worth the trip! Stopped in while waiting for our room to be ready at the Best Western and had great Bloody Mary's with an appetizer of homemade... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan P, Owner at The Roundabout Diner, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review Maureen! We are so happy you were able to try multiple items on our menu and that you were so well taken care of by our staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Portsmouth! More

Travelers who viewed The Roundabout Diner also viewed

 
Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to The Roundabout Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roundabout Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing