We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wentworth

Certificate of Excellence
$$
American, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Carter Notch Road, Jackson, NH 03846 (16A & 16B)
603-383-9700
Website
Improve this listing
Today
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
7:30 am - 11:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Fri 7:30 am - 10:00 am
Fri - Sat 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sat - Sun 7:30 am - 11:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for: Romantic
Description: The Wentworth Dining Room prides itself on using only the freshest seasonal...
The Wentworth Dining Room prides itself on using only the freshest seasonal ingredients provided by local and regional farms. We work closely with the New Hampshire Institute of Agriculture and Forestry. We also use many vegetables from organic New Hampshire farms. Our meat, poultry and seafood is sourced regionally and delivered regularly to guarantee freshness.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 177 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 111
    Excellent
  • 37
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Christmas tradition

This has become a tradition for my wife and I. We come up to Jackson for the holiday and have our Christmas Day dinner at the Wentworth. It is superb! The food, the wine, the service is always 5 star rated. This Christmas the weather was so mild there was no ice skating but inside having dinner we... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
Richard03824
,
Durham, New Hampshire
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This has become a tradition for my wife and I. We come up to Jackson for the holiday and have our Christmas Day dinner at the Wentworth. It is superb! The food, the wine, the service is always 5 star rated. This Christmas the weather was so mild there was no ice skating but inside having dinner we enjoyed the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard03824
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend trip. Our room was perfect. Large room with fireplace and 2 person jacuzzi. It was very affordable for a "deluxe" room. They staff are lovely. The ambiance is that of a great historic inn with modern amenities. It is close to skiing and offers a spa for those sore muscles. We did not eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here for my honeymoon in 2012, stayed in a room with a private Jacuzzi. Bed was amazing, breakfast was incredible. If it weren't so expensive we would most definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank ValerieDodge
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We ate dinner in the dining room at the Wentworth on Christmas Eve and on Christmas Day. On Christmas Eve the food was delicious and the service was impeccable despite the demands of an extremely busy dining room. On Christmas Day the food was okay, the service was poor and the ambience of the restaurant was impacted by a large... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
EllieKoeppel, Owner at Wentworth, responded to this review

Thank you so much for joining us for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and we appreciate so much your feedback. I was pleased that you enjoyed your first dinner with us and I apologize for your disappointment on Christmas Day. Generally we do get a lot of large parties on Christmas Day and it is one of the busiest evenings... More 

Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

I learned a valuable lesson at this restaurant. If my server annoys me on first encounter with snotty words and careless body language, I should ask management for a replacement. My Christmas Day visit in 2014 was a memorable experience, in the worst possible way. The food ordered was well-prepared and presented, but portions were small and overpriced. The wine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
EllieKoeppel, Owner at Wentworth, responded to this review

Thank you for expressing your opinion and I am sorry to read that Christmas 2014 was such a disappointment at our restaurant. All of our servers have been with us for many years and I feel that we have a great team in there - however if someone rubbed you the wrong way, as you say there is no reason... More 

Eliot, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

Boyfriend and I both opted for the 3 courses for 40 dollars. The inn is beautiful and a lovely spot for a romantic dinner. We were placed right by the window with the fireplace off to our left. They have menus that light up which I thought was awesome especially for those who have visual impairments. The amuse Bouche was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fallon1989
EllieKoeppel, Owner at Wentworth, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review and we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your evening dinner with us. To take the time to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Sincerely Ellie Koeppel Owner and Manager More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

Food excellent, portions modest. Service and atmosphere are exceptional, but not enough to justify the prices. Nice wine list but upcharge excessive. Seems to attract obnoxious diners with little regard for others hoping to enjoy their dining experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank rueren
EllieKoeppel, Owner at Wentworth, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to our restaurant and for taking the time to express your opinions for the readers of TripAdvisor. We appreciate the compliments on our food and atmosphere but I would have to disagree on your comment that we attract obnoxious diners. We appreciate each and every guests that chooses to visit us and we feel... More 

Harwich Port Ma
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

Revisited this hotel after 12 years and it is still as good s it was then. The evening meal was excellent as always. I had lobster tail and petite filet. Both delicious. The serice was also perfect. Jo Jo was an excellent waitress! Had two breakfasts there as well which were great! Again service very good.

Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
EllieKoeppel, Owner at Wentworth, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting us again after such a long time and we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your dinner. I will be certain to share your nice comment with Jo Jo in the dining room so that she may be recognized for her efforts. She will be celebrating eleven years of employment at the... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

When our children were growing up and taking ski lessons at Nashoba Valley, we started going up to the White Mountains (New Hampshire) area for skiing every Christmas. Touring around North Conway we discover Jackson and the Wentworth Inn and we never stayed in any other place. To us is very special, not only because of the magnificent Inn and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TavoD
EllieKoeppel, Owner at Wentworth, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to our hotel which we so much appreciate. It is always a pleasure to see you and your family and be a part of many special events in your lives. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely Ellie Koeppel Owner and Manager More 

New York City
Level Contributor
90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

The setting is lovely but outdated dress codes, distracted wait staff and just ok food adds up to three stars for us. There are only a handful of restaurants in NYC where jeans with a classic blazer aren't appropriate. But at Wentworth, it's an issue! If you dine here or stay here, be aware of possible noise from weddings, banquets... More 

Helpful?
Thank JanetA-RayMNYC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at Wentworth, responded to this review

Thank you so much for providing us with this feedback on your recent experience in our dining room. I apologize that someone made an issue about the dress code with you - the dress code is classified as nice casual, jeans are fine in our restaurant but we do request no torn jeans and jackets or blazers are not required.... More 

Travelers who viewed Wentworth also viewed

 
Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Been to Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1 Carter Notch Road, Jackson, NH 03846
    (16A & 16B)
  • Location: United States  >  New Hampshire (NH)  >  White Mountains  >  Jackson
  • Phone Number: 603-383-9700

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 30
  • Cuisine: American, Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Elegant
  • Good for: Romantic

Description

The Wentworth Dining Room prides itself on using only the freshest seasonal ingredients provided by local and regional farms. We work closely with the New Hampshire Institute of Agriculture and Forestry. We also use many vegetables from organic New Hampshire farms. Our meat, poultry and seafood is sourced regionally and delivered regularly to guarantee freshness.
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
7:30 am - 11:00 am
Monday
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
7:30 am - 10:00 am
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
7:30 am - 10:00 am
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
7:30 am - 10:00 am
Thursday
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
7:30 am - 10:00 am
Friday
7:30 am - 10:00 am
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
7:30 am - 11:00 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Wentworth and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wentworth staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?