We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stillwater Fish House

2635 Highway 93 West, Whitefish, MT 59937
+1 406-730-1230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 68 restaurants in Whitefish
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Recently voted by the community as the "Best New Restaurant" in Whitefish as well as the "Best New Restaurant in the Flathead Valley. Featuring fresh flown in and an incredible seafood selection and Oyster Bar in the region. 20 Wines by the glass and hand selected 10 craft beers on Tap. Located 3 miles north of Whitefish on Hwy 93 West. Open from 5:00pm to 11:00pm daily. Foodie, Canadian and Family friendly!
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    57
    19
    9
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I am all about good salmon and tend to be somewhat particular. The salmon at Stillwater Fish House was cooked to perfection (not even close to being too done) and the sides were all very tasty. Our waitress was terrific and very helpful. Worth the drive out of downtown to dine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Granby, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Really? We came in at 6:20 on last night. I live here so I get that without a reservation that is tricky. Here is what is not tricky, make sure your hostess "gets it". In other words that is the first impression of your restaurant and last night was not a good one for us. We were told flat out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StillwaterFishHouse, Owner at Stillwater Fish House, responded to this review

Sorry we weren't able to accommodate you last night we were fully booked until 8:30pm. Since you live so close and are here in the valley. I'm sure you understand that the summer is busy enough to warrant a reservation. It is always our goal to give excellent service and a dining experience and we will not sacrifice service to... More

Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had heard so many of our friends rave about the Stillwater Fish House. We were very disappointed in both the food and the service. The vegetables were extremely bland, the soup was bland and the fish was oily and bland. Most of the food was fried or over oiled and then grilled. Many of the salads had candied fruit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StillwaterFishHouse, Owner at Stillwater Fish House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on dining with us. First and foremost I would like to extend an apology for your experience not living up to our reputation. We strive to create flavorful dishes and never substitute quality. From your review I'm guessing you had the Fish and Chips or the whole trout appetizer since these are the only fish... More

Cuba, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Ahh, this is another great kept secret in Whitefish Montana. We were recommended to try it by our Host where we were staying, so glad she did. It was our 25th wedding anniversary celebration and were not disappointed. Super service, with the Manager even coming out and chatting with you, he was genuinely concerned of your likes or dislikes. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aiea, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This place was recommended by one of the hotel staff where we stayed and we were totally blown away! The menu selection is perfect and is not overwhelming. We had the ahi poke appetizer at the recommendation of our server Marco. The fish was not the freshest, but the seasoning was excellent. For main courses, we had the miso butterfish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmond, Oklahoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is a short drive west of town and worth it. Food was excellent and service was even better. Very friendly and attentive sever. The oysters were very good. They had live jazz players which added to the atmosphere. Reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kalispell, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Amazing food. Amazing service. These folks care about you. They went the extra distance to prepare an item that I had previously that is no longer on the menu. The owner is very nice (as are all of his staff) and is personally concerned that your dining experience was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were blown away by the service, atmosphere, and quality of the food at this restaurant! It was unbelievable. Absolutely everything we had was top notch and the staff knew their menu inside and out. Wish we lived closer to go back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Convinced my partner to try a new spot after reading an article in Flathead Living magazine. We are early diners so no trouble getting a seat. We liked the bright airy atmosphere. I opened with a Stillwater shoytster. loved it! We went light on the meals and order the "'small plates". Coconut shrimp and fried oysters, both were very fresh... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Whitefish, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The food, atmosphere and staff are all excellent. I have had dinner here several times and never been disappointed. The crab legs are the best I have ever had and grilled halibut was delightful. The lobster blossoms are a must to try! Our server Sara is always friendly and has made the best wine suggestions from their thoughtful and well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Stillwater Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stillwater Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing