We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2,549 Saint Louis Restaurants

Broadway Oyster Bar

736 S Broadway, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1602 (Downtown)
314-621-8811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 2,549 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 3:00 am
Neighborhood: Downtown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    118
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

This joint is an indoor/outdoor place depending on the season or time of year because I remember coming to this same spot 20 years ago and it was actually a place that played jazz 🎺. That explains the weather protecter screen door like entrance. That was OK except that it was hard getting through the front door when you've got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for the very fine review and feedback. The Alligator Sausage and Shrimp Cheesecake you refer to is a huge hit with nearly everyone. Glad you really enjoyed it. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the Gumbo. Gumbo is difficult since it can be made in an unlimited number of ways and everyone has their favorite... More 

Naples, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 NEW

I do everything I can to avoid a noisy restaurant so two of us went to a noon lunch at the Oyster Bar before there was any music. It was a warm day in December and we could have eaten in the outside section but chose to eat in one of inside areas. The food was absolutely delicious. I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for the outstanding review. We are so glad you ventured in over the River and were rewarded with a good meal. Good call on coming for lunch if you like it quiet as we can get noisy at night, especially on weekends. Thanks again and we hope to see you often in the future. John More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

This place is filthy dirty and service was horrible. Take your $ and time somewhere else. Waited almost 2 hours while the the staff allowed most people to occupy huge tables to drink at. Was told a 25 minute wait and after 1.5 hours just gave up. Place is dirty and not clean. Can't imagine what the kitchen looks like.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Very sorry about your bad experience at BOB. The building we are housed in is very old, having been built in the 1840's, and does have that "divey, French Quarter" look about it but we feel that it is more old and divey than dirty. Our kitchen, on the other hand, is brand new and state of the art. Our... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

I went here for lunch and had the oyster medley and salad. The food was good, will have go again to see what dinner is like.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. Good food is sometimes hard to find these days so we are very happy that you had a good experience with us. We do recommend that you come back for dinner sometime and try the dinner specials. They are out of sight. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again at lunch... More 

Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Great little place if you love fresh seafood and some good live entertainment. I recommend the fresh shucked oysters and the lobster po-boy. Very good and not too expensive!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are very proud of the freshness of our seafood, especially our oysters which come in almost daily. Many others such as yourself speak highly of the Lobster Po Boy and we think it is a bargain at $14.99. Thanks for your review and we hope to see you in the future. John More 

Chesapeake Beach, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Well, we expected a fancier place, but the atmosphere was perfect for us. A lot of fun with friendly staff and customers. I had a lobster and pasta dish which was awesome. My husband was a little disappointed with hi BBQ shrimp. Not as good as New Orleans, and the mussels were average. Overall we had a good time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Fancy we are not! However, we are extremely happy that you did find us to be both fun and friendly. That is more our style. Thanks for the kind words on the lobster pasta, a new but very popular menu item. We could make the BBQ shrimp a little more "New Orleans style" if we can convince guests here in... More 

Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

If you have a taste for Cajun cooking, this is the place. Although in a questionable neighborhood near the Ball Park, go during the early evening hours. Call before you go to find the best times as there can be a long wait. Lunch is also available, but evening also includes a band. Ask the wait staff for recommendations as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and for taking the time to write. We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. Guests should always be aware of their surroundings in any downtown in America but statistically, where we are located in Downtown St. Louis is one of the safest areas around. Feel safe, enjoy your visit but... More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

The Broadway Oyster Bar jumps out at you. It's like going to an out of the way hang out in the Louisiana Bayou but it's right in the thick of things near Bush Stadium in St Louis. The food is great! The menu is authentic and if you like a little heat in your meal, this is the place. Fish,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for the outstanding review. It is always very rewarding to us when guests from the Coasts visit us here in the Midwest and find seafood to be up to the standards they are used to near home where seafood is much easier to procure. We really appreciate your kind words and just taking the time to write a... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Ive read great things about this place and it did not disappoint. There was a wait, which is always a good sign so we went to the bar and i ordered a hurricane. It was large, strong, and in a souvenir glass for only six dollars! . We ordered the bbq oysters for an appetizer and my husband doesn't even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for the incredible review. It makes us sound like heaven with "cheap drinks, delicious food and great service". We sound like my kind of place! We are extremely glad you sought us out and that we did not disappoint you. Thanks again and we hope to see you again if you are ever back in the area. John More 

Jamestown, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

When you walk in to this little funky restaurant, you are immediately struck by the eclectic furnishing and decorations. It's like "here we go..this is going to be a party". Decidedly creole/cajun in style and cuisine. I lived 10 years in Baton Rouge and can say this was some of the best creole food I've had north of Shreveport. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Broadway Oyster Bar, responded to this review

"Here we go...this is going to be a party." Sounds like you DID spend some time in Louisiana! We like your style. Thanks for the awesome review. Your thoughts and observations are spot on. We love bringing a little taste of Louisiana to the Midwest. Glad you enjoyed it and we look forward to your return trip. John More 

Travelers who viewed Broadway Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Broadway Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Oyster Bar

Address: 736 S Broadway, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1602
Phone Number: 314-621-8811
Location: United States  >  Missouri (MO)  >  Saint Louis>  > Downtown
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 am
Monday 11:00 am - 3:00 am
Tuesday 11:00 am - 3:00 am
Wednesday 11:00 am - 3:00 am
Thursday 11:00 am - 3:00 am
Friday 11:00 am - 3:00 am
Saturday 11:00 am - 3:00 am
Average Prices: USD 0 - 20
Cuisine: American, Cajun & Creole

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Broadway Oyster Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?